We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, much bigger and better than I thought”
Review of Seawall Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Seawall Apartments
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Glenelg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 27 August 2014

I had an overnight business trip in Adelaide and looked to stay in Glenelg as it was central to where I was meeting. Most of the places in Glenelg were quite expensive given I really only needed a place to rest my head. And many of the most popular ones had some ordinary reviews.

So we booked in to Sewall and it was brilliant. Expecting a little shoebox the place is like an old Victorian-style house and the rooms were massive - high ceilings, large mirrors etc. It's not the most modern of places but still has everything you need - new TVs, internet, spas in our rooms etc.

Very comfortable beds, very friendly staff and right on the beach - the morning after we checked in we walked around and saw dolphins - very peaceful and quiet too which I didn't expect but I guess that's Adelaide!

Will be booking in again next time we have work over here.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank alexilynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachaelOsborne, Manager at Seawall Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2014

Thanks alexilynch for taking the time to share your thoughts with the wider TripAdvisor community, we really do appreciate the effort.
We are just thrilled that you found us 'bigger and better' than you had hoped for - how rare is that these days?!!
I am so glad to hear that you saw the dolphins swimming past our little slice of paradise -it is such a magical sight!
We do hope you will stay with us again when you are next in town for work or for fun,
Kind regards,
Rachael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (806)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

506 - 512 of 807 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

Seawall Apartments was the perfect place for a weekend away of business planning with a friend. We both had large, comfy rooms that looked onto the beachfront (plenty of people and happenings to watch!), an ultra comfy lounge to plonk our bums on with laptops and deck to sit and watch the sun go down. A five minute walk got us to Jetty Road, and another couple of minutes walk, to the marina. Plenty of options for food, drink and atmosphere.
The surprise was on the inside for my friend, who awed over the styling and homely feel of the high ornate ceilings, oversized mirrors and detailings.
Our only problem was delivery… and that's not Seawalls fault. We ordered online, and they couldn't find us. Really, who would have thought the 'South Esplanade' was that hard to find. Not me.
Great place for escaping with the girls, or with the family. Awesome location. Beautiful and comfy interiors. Bbq's. And friendly, friendly staff.

Room Tip: Got a little bit of noise from the above room, but having our own deck on the ground floor apartment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heidiwho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachaelOsborne, Manager at Seawall Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2014

Dear heidiwho,
Thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay with us in The Quarter Deck. The view from the bedrooms is pretty spectacular - what a wonderful spot to laze about and read or watch the sunset.
I am glad to see that you made use of the elevated deck seaside - even though you were 'working' it is a lovely spot to be.

We can be a bit tricky to find - taxi drivers and pizza delivery drivers seem to have the most trouble- because we are located on a traffic free esplanade it presents problems to GPS/Satnavs/Google maps - but when you are here - with no traffic noise, no cars to worry about for the kids, well, then the minor annoyance of the slightly late pizza is all forgiven!

We look forward to seeing you back again soon Heidi!
Kind regards,
Rachael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Thankyou for the upgrade, very much appreciated. The friendly service, the immaculatey clean rooms, location and quality beds offered a luxury start to our "road trip". We three women, all with recent life stressors, and in need of some time out, really appreciated and highly recommend your beautiful apartments. I felt safe enough to enjoy the amazing moon in the beach at 3.30am. Thankyou.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachaelOsborne, Manager at Seawall Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2014

It was a pleasure having you and your lovely friends staying with us Margaret W and I am so glad you were able to enjoy the upgrade - I hate to see those big beautiful seafront apartments go empty and delight in seeing how happy an unexpected (and free!) upgrade makes our guests.
How wonderful to hear that you found your little stay so relaxing and rejuvenating.

All the best,
Rachael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Spend 3 loverly nights here with my wife, we stayed in the landing and it was perfect, didn't want to leave. Friendly staff amazing views and jetty rd just a short walk away to all the cafés. We have stayed in places all over Australia and the seawall apartments is one of the best

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sunbury_mick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachaelOsborne, Manager at Seawall Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2014

Ahhh The Landing - such a romantic room! I am so glad your wife and you had such a memorable stay.
Thank you so much for telling the world that you think so highly of us Sunbury_mick, we look forward to seeing you back soon,
kind regards,
Rachael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

My partner and I stayed in "the landing" for 1 night for his 50th birthday. It was exceptional value we received bottle of champagne & late checkout. Short walk to great restaurants. It is definitely a place I would revisit & recommend...can't wait for our next short getaway to seawall apartments.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weebsSouthAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachaelOsborne, Manager at Seawall Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2014

Thank you for your lovely review of The Landing weebsSouthAustralia. I think it is a lovely room for a celebration and I am glad you loved it too!
We look forward to welcoming you when next you visit Glenelg.
See you soon,
Rachael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Licatex on thd beachfront Seawall connot go wrong. Just spectacular the ocean sunsets and dazzling spa when you soak bubble and look out onto the ocean ..... Roo
Provided with no service facilities as apartments leaving your privacy intimate. Really close to walks Ana shops and great interaction possibilities with other holiday goers!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachaelOsborne, Manager at Seawall Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thanks Dean B for your review - I think auto correct or Google translate has slightly mashed your review!! - but I get it - you loved it!!! Yay!!!!!
Thanks so much for sharing your happy thoughts about your recent stay. The view from the seafront spa baths is pretty awesome!
We hope to see you again soon,
Kind regards,
Rachael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Free wifi and a bueatful double spa room combined in an old historical sea side setting. Comfortable and we'll equipped. Great location right on the beach Clean large room in a great setting. It was Terrific and We will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachaelOsborne, Manager at Seawall Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thanks Mike S for making the effort to sign up to TripAdvisor and write your first review of your stay with us.
I am glad to see that you loved our quirky, historical buildings with their fresh, clean and modern refurbishment.
We look forward to seeing you back soon,
Kind regards,
Rachael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenelg
0.3 mi away
Stamford Grand Adelaide
0.5 mi away
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
7.0 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
6.6 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 56 in Adelaide
1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seawall Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seawall Apartments

Address: 21 - 25 South Esplanade | rear access Oldham Street, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Glenelg
#1 Green Hotel in Glenelg
#1 Luxury Hotel in Glenelg
Price Range: £109 - £345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Seawall Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seawall Apartments provides boutique contemporary accommodation in original stately buildings with a touch of vintage charm on the Esplanade at Glenelg in Adelaide, South Australia. The family run hotel is located only 500m from Jetty Road, Glenelg, comprising a vast array of restaurants, boutiques, food stores and family friendly activities. There is also direct access to the city via tram. With 22 apartments available on the property, there is always something to suit. From 1 bedroom studio apartments to large 4 bedroom apartments, catering up to eight people. All apartments offer spa baths, self contained cooking facilities, air-conditioning and flat screen TV’s. The property also offers free Wifi and off-street parking, complementary to all guests. Seawall provides a home away from home, offering easy access to safe and clean Glenelg beach, open decked areas and barbecues. A convenient and quiet offering for the business or holiday traveller wanting a different hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Seawall Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seawall Apartments Hotel Glenelg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing