We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Left Full” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Simply Sushi

Simply Sushi
Ranked #27 of 155 Restaurants in Glenelg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$4
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Blacktown, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Left Full”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Thought we would give it a try.
Good selection of Sushi being delivered by the train. I opted for Sushi.
My companion went for the Tempura and Udon, which they thoroughly enjoyed.
My only concern would be some of the extra sauces added to the sushi are not for everybody's taste.
I was able to order plates directly from the waitresses, which was good.
Drinks were not overpriced.
Nice friendly staff and not overbearing.
Great night for out of towners.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stigsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    24
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, good sushi.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

I was on my way to cardones ( next door) and decided for something a bit quicker ( mostly because I had popped into the wine store next door and bought a big belter of a red and couldn't wait to get home to try it)
Friendly staff, good choce of sushi and was fresh. I Also ordered the gyoza which were a bit oily and over fried. Left feeling full and spent less than $30

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank mingomagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Been going for so long, I know no other!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

I first started going to Simply Sushi not long after it first opened.

Years later, whenever I'm in the mood for Sushi, it's my go-to place.
It may not be super cheap, but the staff are wonderful, the food is fantastic and varied, while the location is easy to get to.

It's perfect for lunch or dinner, either by yourself of with family and friends.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emilie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fresh and delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

The sushi here is always fresh and tasty. I am a regular diner here. I usually get my sushi made to order but I have had the sushi straight from the train too. I love their green tea it is not too bitter I usually have several cups and it is free!!! The staff are very friendly helpful and polite qualities I like from people in the service industry.
I would highly recommend you dine here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cruzn_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Open till 9:30 but shut at 8:00!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We went to have dinner and arrived at 8pm.Closed sign on the door.I knocked and was let in to be told,"oh yes,we should change our web site hours","we have 4 items on the (train/belt) you can take away.Fish/crab mayonnaise salad (no seaweed wrap),just a pile),eel,cucumber and an old looking dessert.I have nothing more to say otherthan,they were sweeping around customers whilst still eating.Lack of sushi Restarants in Glenelg make this ok,iam guessing???

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Simply Sushi also viewed

Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Simply Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing