We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just out of town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Comfort Mount Gambier
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Mount Gambier
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Older style hotel. The heated indoor pool hasn't been heated for sometime, which is why I booked this place so was disappointed. Never saw the restaurant open as only open when busy the note said. Shower was not very good. However it was clean and the bed comfy. Rooms were of a good size. The air on was very noisy and old. The next doors was on all night and you could hear it. The rooms were serviced really well. However the pool restaurant etc all havnt been going for sometime so should not be advertised as having these facilities. Reasons why you should always check trip advisor before booking.

Room Tip: Check what facilities are working.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2013

The country comfort is just out of Mt Gambier, but not a problem at all if you have a car.
The motel itself is a bit dated (90's style) but was clean and more than adequate.
We didnt use the restaurant or other facilities, so I cannot comment on that.
The staff were amazing - friendly, approachable and incredibly helpful with suggestions.

Overall, it was cheap, clean and adequate, although if you are looking for fancy or modern, this is not the place for you.

Room Tip: Not regarding the room - but be sure to head into the Umpherston sinkhole at night to feed the possu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pumba103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Decided to stay here on the strength of what I saw on the Web.. Looked like a reasonably priced place for a one night stop off on our way through Mt. Gambier. Unfortunately this was a very very poor decision. The guy at reception was friendly and helpful and that's about as good as it got. We entered the room and the musty smell was the first tell tale sign that not all was well.. The bathroom was completely covered in mould. We dare not enter without footwear as the entire floor and the shower area were covered and looked like they had not been cleaned in a long long time, then the shower itself had about 3 drops of water that was cold to warm at best. Could not go and complain as we had got in late and there was no one at reception to talk to. The bed was also a joke with broken springs and lumps throughout. On top of this the restaurant no longer operates and the "heated" pool, sauna and spa were also closed as we found out the "pump broke last year, and we haven't got round to fixing it yet"...... When we did check out in the morning, I made my concerns known to the woman at reception. I told her of the problems and all I got was a dead pan look and "ok" for everything I was telling her.. Not a concern over anything, especially the mould. Will never think of staying there again (if it survives that is), and would strongly advise everyone to AVOID this place at all cost.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CRACK32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Should have checked this site first. Stayed at this hotel as it offered heated indoor pool and onsite licenced restaurant (two things we really wanted for family holiday). Only one staff member although she was nice. Told that restaurant not open that night, but appears been closed for ages. Went to use pool which was locked. Asked about pool and was told it was very cold and we could try it but would be too cold for the little one. Room tidy but appears that it doesn't get a great clean as was old drink bottle under one of the beds, empty sanitary pad box in toilet and mouldy bath slipmat in bathroom. Also not great for little ones. Has two doors but not great security so inquisitive three year old could easily open doors and locks. Stayed two nights and didn't receive daily service, nor was told we were on economy rate. Thankfully only paid $95 a night, so you get what you pay for. Motel obviously was great years ago but now it looks almost shut down. Was very disappointed. :( Will stay somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: Rooms at back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiffany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We had looked forward to a budget stay with kids, and the pool/ spa combo was the drawcard, as were the pics.
It was an absolute ghost town. We were the only guests staying, so the bonus was the kids could run amok and we were absolutely confidence we wouldn't be bothering anyone. First we were told the pool was broken and locked. Upon insistence, it was opened and the kids managed an arctic dip. Then our room ran out of hot water. Despite us being the only guests in the facility, we were given the keys to the room next door and told to use that shower instead.
We were told the phones didn't work, the Austar didn't work, there was no internet and the restaurant was closed. Our family room didn't even have a table to eat at, or a couch to sit on. We all had to sit on our beds.
Despite all of this, the cleanliness was good, and the beds were extremely comfortable. We all remarked how quiet the stay was - there was no highway noise. The girl on reception was helpful and friendly enough; I'm sure she had heard all of these complaints before.

We did not receive any discount off the bill. We won't be going back which is a shame, because it probably was once a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

We booked this accommodation on wotif.com. Good value for $85 including breakfast. But the bed was meant to be queen and was only double, we were told there were no other rooms, but only three other people were staying here. The rooms had very dated decor and the cleanliness was poor. We had a cockroach in the bathroom and the milk supplied in fridge was 3 months out of date!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Wish I'd looked at trip advisor before booking in with this place! Lots of cars when we arrived so thought it should be okay - however turned out to be a conference! After unloading the car we did some touristy things till about 5pm around the town, went back to shower and change. Shower had dirt in it and an ant infestation. My sister in another room had the most enormous huntsman above her bed which prompted a call to reception. After that all the beds were pulled out only to find a chip packet and spilt chips, cobwebs under all beds, dead insects etc.. On top of that the windows didn't shut, there were holes around the air conditioner and under the door!
We cannot complain about the manager apart from the fact that he must have lied to us about other things ie: restaurant shut that night due to issues when in fact you can see that it hadn't been open for some time!
Car was packed in record time and we left to find somewhere else. Thankfully we did manage to find rooms at the Best Western!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueGeelong_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mount Gambier hotels
5.7 mi away
The Barn Accommodation
The Barn Accommodation
#1 of 17 in Mount Gambier
562 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Presidential
Quality Inn Presidential
#16 of 17 in Mount Gambier
195 reviews
2 mi away
Comfort Inn Silver Birch
Comfort Inn Silver Birch
#13 of 17 in Mount Gambier
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Arkana Motor Inn & Terrace Apartments
1.6 mi away
Red Carpet Motel
Red Carpet Motel
#8 of 17 in Mount Gambier
132 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Lakes Resort
The Lakes Resort
#10 of 17 in Mount Gambier
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Comfort Mount Gambier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Comfort Mount Gambier

Address: Cnr Jubilee Highway West | and Wandilo Rd, Mount Gambier, South Australia 5290, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Mount Gambier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Mount Gambier
Price Range: £45 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Comfort Mount Gambier 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be welcomed with a smile and service to compliment at the Country Comfort Mount Gambier International. The International is situated in the perfect location to ensure a quality night’s sleep, only a 5 minute drive from the city centre at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Comfort Mount Gambier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing