We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont make the same mistake as us...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Limestone Coast Tourist Park
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed here in January 2014 for 2 days. We never checked any reviews as we have stayed in many similar parks around SA and never had a problem with any of them. Sure, some are better than others but they all had the basics. This place was the most depressing, bleak, dirty and run down that I have ever experienced. Stayed with my wife and 2 kids. Just the look of the place from the road says it all. Don't take my word for it, look at it yourself before you stay. No need to book as they will always have rooms.
We stayed for 2 nights in a 2 bedroom unit. Some facts : the place is very old and has clearly seen better days. Maintenance seems to be limited to essential services only. The bitumen is cracked and patchy everywhere. Everything looks well used and abused and just made to function. The site situated on a steep hill. Kids can’t ride bikes or scooters or boards. No undercover parking. No air conditioning. The unit did have a heater. Dirty bathroom (ran a tissue on the floor and it was black). Cobwebs in kitchen and bedroom. Plastic chairs (the type you would use outside) inside as your dining chairs. The room had a terrible smell, it reeked of being closed for months.
I spoke with the desk person the next day and mentioned the smell and cleanliness issue and the result was a torrid of excuses about everything from the weather to the government. We paid upfront for two nights and seriously considering leaving that day and forfeiting our money as it was that bad.
The main issue here I think is that it is marketed as a holiday resort which it clearly is not. The owners should be more honest in how they present the accommodation. We paid 150 a night and this is way too much for what you receive. It needs to be advertised more as a budget, backpacker type of place as this is the type for market that it is suitable for. Trying to pass it off as anything else is asking for more reviews like this.
I’ll sum it up this way, I would not stay here again even if I was offered the accommodation for free, let alone at any price. Our holiday experience was ruined by this stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
There are newer reviews for Limestone Coast Tourist Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

We visited the Limestone caravan park over the Christmas period To our suprise it was empty which was most unusual for the xmas break. Even though all the pitches had ensuite it was quite expensive at $38 per night nothing much to do on the site.Kids not allowed to ride bikes Only 1 BBQ at $1.00 per 10 mins. This was situated not too far from the office Which was a hike if you had a cabin near the top of site No street lighting for night time
This was one of the worst site I have visited

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pickmeholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

A bit pricey at $36/night until we found out of our own bathroom unit. Very big communal kitchen with everything you could think of for cooking, and with a ping pong table inside! Reception was very friendly and gave us lots of information about the town.
Hot water was inconsistent.
Not really a very relaxing place as it is on a hill and mostly concrete floors.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank echoytx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

A little disappointed with this one. The caravan park is situated out of town on the side of a steep hill. We had a unit near the top row, may have been a good view but any view was all blocked out with the trees.
The location was a little further out of town than expected and if you wanted to cook a BBQ, you have to go to the bottom of the hill near the entrance and look forward to a fairly steep climb on the way back. A BBQ area in the Middle of the park would be a much better idea.
The bathroom ventilation is through a open window into the kitchen area (no extractor fan).
The unit was spacious and the bed comfortable.
Staff were helpful and accommodating.

Room Tip: Good if you want to cook at the unit, however if you want to go out to eat, be prepared to drive and...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OutbackPhantom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in a 2 bedroom unit. Imagine our horror to arrive in 30+c heat with a 4 1/2 month old baby to find no air conditioning. In this day and age this is a given not a luxury. So we sweltered for 2 days using to 2 fans provided. We couldn't even open the front door to help with airflow because the isn't a fly wire door and within minutes we were inundated with flies.

Also the cleanliness of the shower left a bit to be desired when a previous guests hairs are stuck to the shower walls !

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennyg4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We had a pleasant few days in Mount Gambier based in this central location just a few minutes up the road from the CBD. It is only a small park and therefore fairly quiet, except for the building works over the fence which may result in a very large Woolworths complex just next door. The manager was a little offhand but perhaps he was just busy when we arrived. The cabin is just one room of a reasonable motel size. It had just the bare minimum of necessities and very little bench space to do anything. Perhaps it's due for a makeover. However, it suited us for the three days.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LeslieFay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

We stayed at Limestone Coast Tourist Park while visiting family in Mt. Gambier. We stayed in one of the 3 bedroom family units and it was wonderful. The unit was spacious and clean. Though you are only just off the hwy, you hear very little road noise. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We'd definitely stay here again! Thank you!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sandray83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mount Gambier hotels
4.4 mi away
The Barn Accommodation
The Barn Accommodation
#2 of 17 in Mount Gambier
543 reviews
3.7 mi away
Quality Inn Presidential
Quality Inn Presidential
#15 of 17 in Mount Gambier
183 reviews
3.1 mi away
Blue Lake Holiday Park
Blue Lake Holiday Park
#2 of 10 in Mount Gambier
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Arkana Motor Inn & Terrace Apartments
2.8 mi away
The Old Mount Gambier Gaol
The Old Mount Gambier Gaol
#1 of 10 in Mount Gambier
164 reviews
1.5 mi away
Blue Lake Motel
Blue Lake Motel
#7 of 17 in Mount Gambier
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Limestone Coast Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Limestone Coast Tourist Park

Address: Corner of Princes Highway & Hawkins Road | PO Box 477, Mount Gambier, South Australia 5290, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Mount Gambier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Mount Gambier
Price Range: £44 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Limestone Coast Tourist Park 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Limestone Coast Tourist Park is located in a quiet rural setting 3km from the centre of Mount Gambier. The park is set well back off the highway and affords excellent views across Mount Gambier. Offering a wide range of accommodation from overnight en suite brick cabins to large 2 & 3 bedroom family units. The park provides a fully equipped camp kitchen (ideal for school groups, clubs, coach tours). Other facilities include a fully equipped laundry, undercover barbecues, children's playground, basketball and kiosk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Limestone Coast Tourist Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing