We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn
Ranked #25 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We stayed for one night in January and had booked a one bedroom cottage. The accommodation is not too far from the main road and is a bit confusing to find at first, the entrance sign shows as Archers Manor with smaller wording below saying Alanvale Cottages & Motor Inn.

The reception area is located in the manor house which is a little dark, the reception staff were efficient but not overly friendly. The cottages look really pleasant from the outsid. Even though they are not to far from the main road they are very peaceful and there is plenty of free parking.

Once we opened the door to the cottage we were very disappointed, it was not as we expected it to be. The walls were painted over brick in a very cold blue colour, the entrance carpet was stained and the furnishings didn't match - it seems to have been furnished with odd bits of furniture laying around. The sofa seats were covered with a fluffy throw and I didn't want to look underneath it to see if it was hiding anything. All windows have net curtains which are in serious need of a wash or replacement and the actual curtains have a very plastic feel to them. The cottage had an upstairs and downstairs.

The kitchen had a washing machine, tumble dryer, oven, stove & microwave - the facilities were very good and the washing machine was excellent however, the general cleaniness needs improving. There were cobwebs everywhere even in the cutlery drawer and a spider in the fridge! We had to evict a number of pretty large spiders from the cottage in all rooms. It seemed as if the cottage was cleaned a few weeks ago and no one had stayed in there for a while, hence all the cobwebs.

The bedroom furniture was old and had a small old TV with an internal aerial, we could not get as many channels in the bedroom as we could in the lounge. The remote control for the upstairs TV was filthy, we covered it with a plastic bag to use it! The bed was very comfortable and the linen very clean, there were spare pillows in the wardrobe. The shower screen in the bathroom was turning black around the edges and the cover on the toilet cistern was cracked.

There was quite a lot of dust throughout the cottage and clinging to the walls. Despite the lack of cleanliness we did get a good nights sleep as it was very quiet and at no time did we feel unsafe.

Wifi is available however, we didn't connect to it as it was chargeable.

Upon checkout no conversation was made by the receptionists, if they had have at least asked "how was your stay?" I would have told them.

Should the cottages go through a deep clean then I would definitely stay here again until such time I would choose an alternative.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank y0dagreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2013

The Alanvale Apartments are a fantastic Tasmanian experience. Set in wonderful grounds next to the university and Australian Maritime College, they offer quirky apartments that are clean, well serviced and peaceful.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Stayed here for two nights with my family of five. Very comfortable accommodation and would stay here again. Everything supplied as indicated and close to shops. Units nice and tidy and helpful staff. Area is quiet ensuring a good night sleep.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank Happy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Stayed for 6 nights and it had everything we needed.clean and comfy rooms with washing machine and dryer.great cooking facility.lots of room,easy excess to city and shops.Staff went out of there way to help us.would recommend to all.

Room Tip: Great location & no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 940marlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Alanvale Motel also has apartments and is part of Archer Manor, overlooking a university.
This place is different, castle, medievil looking. We had a grround floor unit no. 5. Clean but could do with some up dating. Room was dark but being ground floor with walkways for upstairs over hanging this cuts out the light. Everything we need for a nights stay, jug, toaster, fridge, mircowave. A great thing for me was the FREE laundry next to our unit so got all our washing upto date. Comfortable bed. Paid $90.00 a night for 2 adults so not to badly priced. Would be a car to get here which suited us, just put the address in the GPS.

Room Tip: Value for money. If you don't need to be in town this will do the job but don't expect flash...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We had a 3 night stay here. We loved how quiet it is, away from the noisy traffic of the highway. It is a little distance from the centre of Launceston, but hey, whats 5 mins drive these days? It was clean and comfy. The sofa could do with replacing soon and the mattress was very hard, but some would prefer that - its personal preference. The staff were very friendly and helpful, moreso than at a pricey Country Club in the same city (who wouldnt assist in checking friends in for their flights!) We had a comfortable stay and would recommend it to anyone who had a budget like us

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VicTurner_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012 via mobile

The time we were there was great,I'm in a power wheelchair and the wheelchair friendly room was very accessible for me the room was clean the staff are very friendly and its about 500m to Cole's,discount stores and other shops,if you want a reasonable priced place & a relaxing atmosphere this is it,
mey thumbs are up. Thanx

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank supatime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
2.8 mi away
Batman Fawkner Inn
Batman Fawkner Inn
#20 of 30 in Launceston
554 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tamar River Villas
Tamar River Villas
#2 of 2 in Riverside
132 reviews
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Coach House
Comfort Inn Coach House
#15 of 30 in Launceston
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
2.7 mi away
Hotel Launceston
Hotel Launceston
#22 of 30 in Launceston
464 reviews
3.3 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn

Address: 15 - 17 Alanvale Rd, Launceston, Tasmania 7248, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Price Range: £62 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OLD TUDOR ELEGANCE with English charm best describes ALANVALE APARTMENTS AND MOTOR INN. Superbly located on the Archers Manor site, Newnham. Alanvale Apartments provide a turn of the century English experience while pampering the guests with amenities of today, such as dial up Internet access in each room, for both corporate and family use. At Alanvale Apartments you will find friendly staff, helpful management and an atmosphere that is second to none. Whilst at Alanvale Apartments you have a choice of staying in either a comfortable Motel suite with a tranquil rural aspect, or in one of our spacious 1, 2, bedroom self contained apartments. In a variety of configurations, all with full kitchen and laundry facilities. (Some have two bathrooms.) The buildings are set in the tranquil and elegant style of a Tudor village with its own village green. Located just a 5 minute drive, i.e. about 4 kilometers, from the city centre of Launceston, adjacent to the Maritime College and the University. Ideally situated for the Tamar Valley, Northern Tasmania and city tours, and to a number of spectacular attractions, including heritage sites such as The Grove, Franklin House, Entally House and Clarendon House, wineries, the lavender farm, Seahorse farm, Beaconsfield gold mine & Museum, Launceston’s Cataract Gorge, Low Head Pilot Station and many more. Other experiences available include forest appreciation and wildlife tours, with Tamar river cruises a must. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing