We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and Adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn
Ranked #25 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We had all the basic necessities that we needed to survive for a week in the motel.
Room was of a nice size, comfortable for two.
The single bed however, might need some changing.
Staff were generally friendly and helpful.

TV and Wifi signal was pretty weak though.

For sure, it's a little old and dated, and balcony could do some well-deserved scrubbing,
but for such a quiet town and the price we paid for, I'd say its adequate.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zaamx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
There are newer reviews for Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2013

stayed here with 10 others on last leg of Tassie holiday....we all had our own units, they looked very quaint from outside amidst beautiful grounds which was a nice change from other options....we had a double storey unit that slept 3....whilst it "had" everything that we needed including a washing machine/dryer, the inside of the unit was very tired, and a bit grubby in places...... perhaps in need of a makeover and some paint to spruce it up....it was shockingly hot on our visit and with no air-con, just a pedestal fan which we moved from up to downstairs and reverse, it made it very stuffy.....
on the 1st night we all were happy to eat at the apartment’s restaurant, as the menu looked tasty....a booking for 7pm was made......attention when we arrived was fine, drinks, orders taken and a very friendly waiter.....thats where it finishes......once our orders were taken.KNOWONE and I stress KNOWONE came anywhere near us again for refills, offer of bread etc.....the restaurant was not busy, perhaps 5 other people......trying to find the waiter or for that matter anyone else was impossible....we were the only 12 people after 1.5hr of waiting........finally a fellow who we presumed was the manager appeared to clear a nearby table.....I asked him politely when we might expect our meals....a smart response which was never answered was received..........eventually the waiter returned with our meal which was nice - I had a fillet steak, though the accompanying veges were boring.....carrots, potato and broccoli (the same that accompanied the roast, snitzel and other selections)......I politely asked the waiter why we had been waiting so long without any offer of explanation for the delay.....he looked at me blankly.....I couldn't help myself and said it was not only rude but unacceptable in hospitality to keep customers ‘in the dark’ with no explanation.........trying to pay the bill was another challenge, we walked everywhere trying to find 'anyone' who was interested in receiving our money....again the 'manager' with a smart comment literally ran out when told we were leaving!!!!......if we had been given a reason/anything as to the delay initially, we could have perhaps made alternative arrangements, the meal was not cheap and for that I expect better service

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sterwuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We stayed for one night in January and had booked a one bedroom cottage. The accommodation is not too far from the main road and is a bit confusing to find at first, the entrance sign shows as Archers Manor with smaller wording below saying Alanvale Cottages & Motor Inn.

The reception area is located in the manor house which is a little dark, the reception staff were efficient but not overly friendly. The cottages look really pleasant from the outsid. Even though they are not to far from the main road they are very peaceful and there is plenty of free parking.

Once we opened the door to the cottage we were very disappointed, it was not as we expected it to be. The walls were painted over brick in a very cold blue colour, the entrance carpet was stained and the furnishings didn't match - it seems to have been furnished with odd bits of furniture laying around. The sofa seats were covered with a fluffy throw and I didn't want to look underneath it to see if it was hiding anything. All windows have net curtains which are in serious need of a wash or replacement and the actual curtains have a very plastic feel to them. The cottage had an upstairs and downstairs.

The kitchen had a washing machine, tumble dryer, oven, stove & microwave - the facilities were very good and the washing machine was excellent however, the general cleaniness needs improving. There were cobwebs everywhere even in the cutlery drawer and a spider in the fridge! We had to evict a number of pretty large spiders from the cottage in all rooms. It seemed as if the cottage was cleaned a few weeks ago and no one had stayed in there for a while, hence all the cobwebs.

The bedroom furniture was old and had a small old TV with an internal aerial, we could not get as many channels in the bedroom as we could in the lounge. The remote control for the upstairs TV was filthy, we covered it with a plastic bag to use it! The bed was very comfortable and the linen very clean, there were spare pillows in the wardrobe. The shower screen in the bathroom was turning black around the edges and the cover on the toilet cistern was cracked.

There was quite a lot of dust throughout the cottage and clinging to the walls. Despite the lack of cleanliness we did get a good nights sleep as it was very quiet and at no time did we feel unsafe.

Wifi is available however, we didn't connect to it as it was chargeable.

Upon checkout no conversation was made by the receptionists, if they had have at least asked "how was your stay?" I would have told them.

Should the cottages go through a deep clean then I would definitely stay here again until such time I would choose an alternative.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank y0dagreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

The Alanvale Apartments are a fantastic Tasmanian experience. Set in wonderful grounds next to the university and Australian Maritime College, they offer quirky apartments that are clean, well serviced and peaceful.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Stayed here for two nights with my family of five. Very comfortable accommodation and would stay here again. Everything supplied as indicated and close to shops. Units nice and tidy and helpful staff. Area is quiet ensuring a good night sleep.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank Happy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Stayed for 6 nights and it had everything we needed.clean and comfy rooms with washing machine and dryer.great cooking facility.lots of room,easy excess to city and shops.Staff went out of there way to help us.would recommend to all.

Room Tip: Great location & no noise
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 940marlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Alanvale Motel also has apartments and is part of Archer Manor, overlooking a university.
This place is different, castle, medievil looking. We had a grround floor unit no. 5. Clean but could do with some up dating. Room was dark but being ground floor with walkways for upstairs over hanging this cuts out the light. Everything we need for a nights stay, jug, toaster, fridge, mircowave. A great thing for me was the FREE laundry next to our unit so got all our washing upto date. Comfortable bed. Paid $90.00 a night for 2 adults so not to badly priced. Would be a car to get here which suited us, just put the address in the GPS.

Room Tip: Value for money. If you don't need to be in town this will do the job but don't expect flash...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
1.9 mi away
Tamar River Villas
Tamar River Villas
#2 of 2 in Riverside
132 reviews
2.8 mi away
Batman Fawkner Inn
Batman Fawkner Inn
#20 of 30 in Launceston
553 reviews
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Coach House
Comfort Inn Coach House
#15 of 30 in Launceston
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Commodore Regent
Commodore Regent
#16 of 30 in Launceston
215 reviews
3.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
2.7 mi away
Hotel Launceston
Hotel Launceston
#22 of 30 in Launceston
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn

Address: 15 - 17 Alanvale Rd, Launceston, Tasmania 7248, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Price Range: £49 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OLD TUDOR ELEGANCE with English charm best describes ALANVALE APARTMENTS AND MOTOR INN. Superbly located on the Archers Manor site, Newnham. Alanvale Apartments provide a turn of the century English experience while pampering the guests with amenities of today, such as dial up Internet access in each room, for both corporate and family use. At Alanvale Apartments you will find friendly staff, helpful management and an atmosphere that is second to none. Whilst at Alanvale Apartments you have a choice of staying in either a comfortable Motel suite with a tranquil rural aspect, or in one of our spacious 1, 2, bedroom self contained apartments. In a variety of configurations, all with full kitchen and laundry facilities. (Some have two bathrooms.) The buildings are set in the tranquil and elegant style of a Tudor village with its own village green. Located just a 5 minute drive, i.e. about 4 kilometers, from the city centre of Launceston, adjacent to the Maritime College and the University. Ideally situated for the Tamar Valley, Northern Tasmania and city tours, and to a number of spectacular attractions, including heritage sites such as The Grove, Franklin House, Entally House and Clarendon House, wineries, the lavender farm, Seahorse farm, Beaconsfield gold mine & Museum, Launceston’s Cataract Gorge, Low Head Pilot Station and many more. Other experiences available include forest appreciation and wildlife tours, with Tamar river cruises a must. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing