We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs an update”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn
Ranked #25 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Melbourne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Needs an update”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed for 1 night. (Thank God). It was freezing even though we had the heater on nearly all night. The heater is located up the wrong end of the unit & in the corner of the room. The place was clean though. The unit we stayed in had a musty smell in it, probably hadn't been used or aired for a while. The lady at the front desk was very helpful on check in. This place needs to have a major upgrade. Won't be recommending this place to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unclebuckMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_AlanvaleApts, Manager at Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Hi UnclebuckMelbourne and thanks for the feedback.

We agree that Launceston can be a very cold place in July, and we have extra heaters available to guests for those cold winter nights. We endeavour to turn heaters on some hours before guests arrive.

Keeping decor up to date is a major concern for all accommodation providers and we do our best within the budgetary constraints dictated by difficult economic times. At 3.5 stars we aim to cater for the middle of the market and are priced accordingly.

All the best
Julie and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    30
    16
    12
    13
See reviews for
26
29
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Not very good at all... It's not actually IN Launceston, but a fair drive away. Staff not interested. Bare minimum stuff not provided - no towels?!

Minimalist says it all really - no staff, no towels, no cleaning, no kitchen utensils, No bedside lamps, No tissues, No elevator, No safe access, very noisy, very dirty, very badly maintained.

PESTS everywhere - Spiders, ants, scorpions and silverfish and cobwebs all throughout our apartment covering every surface of the highly unattractive concrete bagged walls, discoloured ceiling and ancient kitchen.

Fundamental lack of professionalism. Bed is old. Everything is old.

The carpet was badly stained and hadn’t been properly vacuumed. The bathroom was dirty. The toilet was stained. The kitchen wasn't clean.

Worth $5 a night really.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alittle_pinewine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_AlanvaleApts, Manager at Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
We thank the reviewer for their feedback but question the authenticity especially considering the long delay between the purported stay and the posting of the review.

We concede that problems will occur in a 50 room establishment when occupancy is at a low level especially over winter months. Despite this, Alanvale Apartments and Motor Inn maintain staff levels throughout the year and provide towels, kitchen utensils, crockery and cooking wear, tissues, hairdryers, and toilet paper. Complimentary tea, coffee, sugar and milk are provided in all rooms, including self contained apartments. Motel rooms are tidied daily, whereas ‘self contained’ apartments are tidied at the guest’s request. We are not a ‘serviced apartments’ facility.

The accommodation was built only 15 years ago to an old English tudor village theme. Guests appreciate the rustic charm and uniqueness which blends with the neighbouring convention centre and bistro (not part of our business).

Alanvale Apartments and Motor Inn sell up to 10,000 room nights per annum with just a handful of genuine grievances which we do our utmost to satisfy. We offer a free night to anyone feeling genuinely aggrieved and our desire is for all guests to leave happy with our hospitality and service.

Julie (Site Manager) and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Launceston hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

We paid for 2 nights in a 3 bed apartment for our family of 5. The centre knew we were a familly and even asked their ages when we booked. We paid in advance but soo poor was the apartment we could only stay one. It was the absolute low light of our stay in Tasmania.

It was not the best value in or around Launceston we have experienced in the past.
The apartment was functional to our needs,nothing flash, but did the job.

Our apartment was just off a road and for most of the night (until about 3am) it was like Targa Tasmania, Phillip island moto GP and truck racing all rolled into one.

Drunk people walking past the apartment at all ours was not nice either. Plenty of colourful language. Just what you want your kids hearing.

The apartment was in no way adequately sound proofed for it's location. At least needed double glazed windows.

There were bed bugs in our bed and the wife and I got bitten.

We raised our issues with the reception lady when we checked out early. To the ladies credit she showed empathy but had to pass it on to management. We [provided email and phone contact numbers. We have heard nothing from them and it's a week since we were there.

There you have it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_AlanvaleApts, Manager at Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Hi Tim W

We apologise for the anti-social behaviour; this is certainly not the norm in what is usually a quiet part of Launceston. Your comments re sound proofing etc are duly noted.

All the best
Julie and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
200 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

Ok I know the website said, short drive from Launceston, but you really did feel a bit far away, 8 mins down the motorway/ highway. Upon arrival the outside looked promising and inviting. Upon entering room number 1 which is next to the water heaters and the cleaner's store, I was reminded of our visit to Port Arthur and the prison cells. Dark, stark, basic, smelly, questionable cleanliness, low ceiling and bad lighting. At night a procession of large ants started their march into the room. They were stopped by placing the rug against the door to seal the gap at the bottom of the door. Unfortunately 4 ants and a spider died, before this move was employed. 100 dollars a night was the price I paid. Felt a bit cheated. Would not have minded if I had paid, say, 50 or 60 dollars. Unfortunatley, not a place to recommend for me.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colourfulcloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_AlanvaleApts, Manager at Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Hi Colourfulcloud

Sorry to hear that your stay was disappointing. We see ourselves as catering for those visiting the attractions of the Tamar Valley, the University, the industrial hub of Bell Bay and to greater Launceston. We aim to provide the best value for money in Launceston in the mid-market range of 3.5 stars

Thanks for the feedback
Julie and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnie, Australia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

It looks to be built to be vandal proof. You really are getting what you paid for. Worn and tired. Beds clean and comfortable but stained carpet and couches. Steps to upstairs inhibit anyone with disability or small children. Living area claustrophically small.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tassylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_AlanvaleApts, Manager at Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Tassylass

Hi and many thanks for the review, your comments are duly noted.
I am sure you appreciate that refurbishment is an on-going and never ending process.
We have both multi- level and single level accommodation, some designated as wheel chair and disability friendly.
We can meet with most requirements provided they are mentioned when booking or checking-in.

All the best
Julie and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

We had all the basic necessities that we needed to survive for a week in the motel.
Room was of a nice size, comfortable for two.
The single bed however, might need some changing.
Staff were generally friendly and helpful.

TV and Wifi signal was pretty weak though.

For sure, it's a little old and dated, and balcony could do some well-deserved scrubbing,
but for such a quiet town and the price we paid for, I'd say its adequate.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zaamx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
246 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

stayed here with 10 others on last leg of Tassie holiday....we all had our own units, they looked very quaint from outside amidst beautiful grounds which was a nice change from other options....we had a double storey unit that slept 3....whilst it "had" everything that we needed including a washing machine/dryer, the inside of the unit was very tired, and a bit grubby in places...... perhaps in need of a makeover and some paint to spruce it up....it was shockingly hot on our visit and with no air-con, just a pedestal fan which we moved from up to downstairs and reverse, it made it very stuffy.....
on the 1st night we all were happy to eat at the apartment’s restaurant, as the menu looked tasty....a booking for 7pm was made......attention when we arrived was fine, drinks, orders taken and a very friendly waiter.....thats where it finishes......once our orders were taken.KNOWONE and I stress KNOWONE came anywhere near us again for refills, offer of bread etc.....the restaurant was not busy, perhaps 5 other people......trying to find the waiter or for that matter anyone else was impossible....we were the only 12 people after 1.5hr of waiting........finally a fellow who we presumed was the manager appeared to clear a nearby table.....I asked him politely when we might expect our meals....a smart response which was never answered was received..........eventually the waiter returned with our meal which was nice - I had a fillet steak, though the accompanying veges were boring.....carrots, potato and broccoli (the same that accompanied the roast, snitzel and other selections)......I politely asked the waiter why we had been waiting so long without any offer of explanation for the delay.....he looked at me blankly.....I couldn't help myself and said it was not only rude but unacceptable in hospitality to keep customers ‘in the dark’ with no explanation.........trying to pay the bill was another challenge, we walked everywhere trying to find 'anyone' who was interested in receiving our money....again the 'manager' with a smart comment literally ran out when told we were leaving!!!!......if we had been given a reason/anything as to the delay initially, we could have perhaps made alternative arrangements, the meal was not cheap and for that I expect better service

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sterwuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
1.9 mi away
Tamar River Villas
Tamar River Villas
#1 of 2 in Riverside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
2.8 mi away
Batman Fawkner Inn
Batman Fawkner Inn
#18 of 30 in Launceston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Coach House
Comfort Inn Coach House
#13 of 30 in Launceston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Launceston
Hotel Launceston
#22 of 30 in Launceston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
1.8 mi away
Riverside Hotel Motel
Riverside Hotel Motel
#2 of 2 in Riverside
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn

Property: Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn
Address: 15 - 17 Alanvale Road, Launceston, Tasmania 7248, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OLD TUDOR ELEGANCE with English charm best describes ALANVALE APARTMENTS AND MOTOR INN. Superbly located on the Archers Manor site, Newnham. Alanvale Apartments provide a turn of the century English experience while pampering the guests with amenities of today, such as dial up Internet access in each room, for both corporate and family use. At Alanvale Apartments you will find friendly staff, helpful management and an atmosphere that is second to none. Whilst at Alanvale Apartments you have a choice of staying in either a comfortable Motel suite with a tranquil rural aspect, or in one of our spacious 1, 2, bedroom self contained apartments. In a variety of configurations, all with full kitchen and laundry facilities. (Some have two bathrooms.) The buildings are set in the tranquil and elegant style of a Tudor village with its own village green. Located just a 5 minute drive, i.e. about 4 kilometers, from the city centre of Launceston, adjacent to the Maritime College and the University. Ideally situated for the Tamar Valley, Northern Tasmania and city tours, and to a number of spectacular attractions, including heritage sites such as The Grove, Franklin House, Entally House and Clarendon House, wineries, the lavender farm, Seahorse farm, Beaconsfield gold mine & Museum, Launceston’s Cataract Gorge, Low Head Pilot Station and many more. Other experiences available include forest appreciation and wildlife tours, with Tamar river cruises a must. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing