We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Plus Launceston(Launceston)(Great Value!)
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Sebel Launceston(Launceston)(Great Value!)
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Apartments At York Mansions(Launceston)(Great Value!)
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Commodore Regent(Launceston)
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balmoral on York(Launceston)(Great Value!)
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand(Launceston)(Great Value!)
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Village Family Motor Inn(Launceston)(Great Value!)
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Batman Fawkner Inn(Launceston)
US$57
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$51
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Quest Launceston(Launceston)
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveller rating
19
34
18
13
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
34
18
13
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbathroom upstairsequipped apartmentwell equipped kitchenfull kitchenroom was cleanmain roadstayed for two nightsself containedgreat value for moneyeasy accessnight staymowbrayunittasmanialaundrycrockeryvilla
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 98 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Bed is old with springs coming through. Dust bunnies everywhere, cold bathroom, inadequate heating. I could not sleep in the double bed as I had a spring in my back so slept on the single. Got home on the second day and the single bed had not been made, not happy. I have seen better kennel accommodation for my dogs. Left on 2nd of a 3 day stay. Got a great deal at other accommodation.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before you accept the keys
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mootie6219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_AlanvaleApts, Manager at Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

HI Mootie6219 from Adelaide and thanks for the feedback.

Feel free to read our comments below regarding servicing of apartments as their seems to be some confusion as to the services we offer.

Our beds and mattresses are re-newed on a regular basis and unfortunately we do not know which one you are referring to. Hopefully we find it before another guest loses any sleep because of it.

All the best

Julie and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed for 2 weeks and location is very good as its only 5 minutes from Launceston CBD.
Mowbray is 2 mins by car for Woolworths, Safeway, Aust Post and other amenities
The accommodation was clean and also full kitchen facilities (not just a cooktop). Heating was excellent as we were in a one bedroom apartment.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
Highly recommend.
Will stay again when we come back to Launceston!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GPSVIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_AlanvaleApts, Manager at Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Hi GPSVIC

Thank you for the feedback; we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. Come again soon!

Cheers
Julie and Staff

PS Another close facility is the University of Tasmania.....we are next door!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed for 1 night. (Thank God). It was freezing even though we had the heater on nearly all night. The heater is located up the wrong end of the unit & in the corner of the room. The place was clean though. The unit we stayed in had a musty smell in it, probably hadn't been used or aired for a while. The lady at the front desk was very helpful on check in. This place needs to have a major upgrade. Won't be recommending this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unclebuckMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_AlanvaleApts, Manager at Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Hi UnclebuckMelbourne and thanks for the feedback.

We agree that Launceston can be a very cold place in July, and we have extra heaters available to guests for those cold winter nights. We endeavour to turn heaters on some hours before guests arrive.

Keeping decor up to date is a major concern for all accommodation providers and we do our best within the budgetary constraints dictated by difficult economic times. At 3.5 stars we aim to cater for the middle of the market and are priced accordingly.

All the best
Julie and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Not very good at all... It's not actually IN Launceston, but a fair drive away. Staff not interested. Bare minimum stuff not provided - no towels?!

Minimalist says it all really - no staff, no towels, no cleaning, no kitchen utensils, No bedside lamps, No tissues, No elevator, No safe access, very noisy, very dirty, very badly maintained.

PESTS everywhere - Spiders, ants, scorpions and silverfish and cobwebs all throughout our apartment covering every surface of the highly unattractive concrete bagged walls, discoloured ceiling and ancient kitchen.

Fundamental lack of professionalism. Bed is old. Everything is old.

The carpet was badly stained and hadn’t been properly vacuumed. The bathroom was dirty. The toilet was stained. The kitchen wasn't clean.

Worth $5 a night really.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alittle_pinewine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_AlanvaleApts, Manager at Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

We thank the reviewer for their feedback but question the authenticity especially considering the long delay between the purported stay and the posting of the review.

We concede that problems will occur in a 50 room establishment when occupancy is at a low level especially over winter months. Despite this, Alanvale Apartments and Motor Inn maintain staff levels throughout the year and provide towels, kitchen utensils, crockery and cooking wear, tissues, hairdryers, and toilet paper. Complimentary tea, coffee, sugar and milk are provided in all rooms, including self contained apartments. Motel rooms are tidied daily, whereas ‘self contained’ apartments are tidied at the guest’s request. We are not a ‘serviced apartments’ facility.

The accommodation was built only 15 years ago to an old English tudor village theme. Guests appreciate the rustic charm and uniqueness which blends with the neighbouring convention centre and bistro (not part of our business).

Alanvale Apartments and Motor Inn sell up to 10,000 room nights per annum with just a handful of genuine grievances which we do our utmost to satisfy. We offer a free night to anyone feeling genuinely aggrieved and our desire is for all guests to leave happy with our hospitality and service.

Julie (Site Manager) and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We paid for 2 nights in a 3 bed apartment for our family of 5. The centre knew we were a familly and even asked their ages when we booked. We paid in advance but soo poor was the apartment we could only stay one. It was the absolute low light of our stay in Tasmania.

It was not the best value in or around Launceston we have experienced in the past.
The apartment was functional to our needs,nothing flash, but did the job.

Our apartment was just off a road and for most of the night (until about 3am) it was like Targa Tasmania, Phillip island moto GP and truck racing all rolled into one.

Drunk people walking past the apartment at all ours was not nice either. Plenty of colourful language. Just what you want your kids hearing.

The apartment was in no way adequately sound proofed for it's location. At least needed double glazed windows.

There were bed bugs in our bed and the wife and I got bitten.

We raised our issues with the reception lady when we checked out early. To the ladies credit she showed empathy but had to pass it on to management. We [provided email and phone contact numbers. We have heard nothing from them and it's a week since we were there.

There you have it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_AlanvaleApts, Manager at Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Hi Tim W

We apologise for the anti-social behaviour; this is certainly not the norm in what is usually a quiet part of Launceston. Your comments re sound proofing etc are duly noted.

All the best
Julie and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews