We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed a while ago but can't stay silent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn
Ranked #25 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stayed a while ago but can't stay silent”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed here in Feb 2013 for a couple of nights after having stayed at St Ives Apartments for a week. St Ives Apartments were beautiful.

Thank god the nights of stay weren't the other way around.

This place stunk of mould, the front door was half jammed, staircase was gloomy and hadn't seen a cleaner's brush for many a year, the carpet was putrid in the stairwell and there were spider webs everywhere.

The apartment was only marginally better - stunk of mould, tried to open a window for ventilation and the frame nearly fell out, the curtain felt like it was going to disintegrate on touch.

I am suspicious of the few really good reviews about this place - maybe there is one apartment that is up to scratch, and maybe the good reviews are false. Can't say for sure, but this is one place that's not worth gambling on getting the good rooms.

We will never stay here again - we drove past this place last week and gagged at the memory of it. This time we stayed at Quest Apartments in the city, which were as nice as St Ives.


The apartments are self rated at 3.5 star, but I would rate the one we were in as 1 star,

Room Tip: Pick another venue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Gerhardp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_AlanvaleApts, Manager at Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for your review. It is a pity you have stayed silent for so long and also didnt give us the opportunity when you stayed, for us to deal with your concerns at the time. 12 Months is a long time to stay silent. I am a bit perplexed regarding the comment ( window frame that nearly fell out as this is a serious structural problem). As for the good reports being false, we take all reports as being good bad or indifferent. It is a fact that on this site we do not know which reports are false and which are true.
We have a good percentage of our clients are return business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    30
    17
    12
    13
See reviews for
26
31
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2013

For the self-caterers, Archers Manor/Alanvale Apartments are great value. There is everything you need for a comfortable stay - I have been staying at Alanvale Apartments for many years - the staff are very helpful and friendly. It is especially close to the University of Tasmania and TasTAFE's Alanvale campus, good also as a starting point for attractions around Launceston.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiW888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_AlanvaleApts, Manager at Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thanks for the review DiW888, We are glad you enjoy our hospitality and proximity to facilities and attractions. We hope to see you again soon!

Cheers
Julie and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Reasonably easy to find - great location only 5 minutes to the middle of Launceston. Beds were comfortable although the sofa bed downstairs has seen better days! Could improve by including an undercover outside area attached to the villas - makes it easier on rainy days..

Staff were extremely friendly and helpful and check in and booking was a breeze.

Only negative was waking up to the unsavory neighbours (not in the complex) swearing at the top of their lungs at the native birds.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pensta12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_AlanvaleApts, Manager at Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thanks for the feedback!
Hopefully you will see some updated furniture on your next visit. Sorry about the noisy native fauna!

Cheers
Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Bed is old with springs coming through. Dust bunnies everywhere, cold bathroom, inadequate heating. I could not sleep in the double bed as I had a spring in my back so slept on the single. Got home on the second day and the single bed had not been made, not happy. I have seen better kennel accommodation for my dogs. Left on 2nd of a 3 day stay. Got a great deal at other accommodation.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before you accept the keys
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mootie6219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_AlanvaleApts, Manager at Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
HI Mootie6219 from Adelaide and thanks for the feedback.

Feel free to read our comments below regarding servicing of apartments as their seems to be some confusion as to the services we offer.

Our beds and mattresses are re-newed on a regular basis and unfortunately we do not know which one you are referring to. Hopefully we find it before another guest loses any sleep because of it.

All the best

Julie and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Launceston hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed for 2 weeks and location is very good as its only 5 minutes from Launceston CBD.
Mowbray is 2 mins by car for Woolworths, Safeway, Aust Post and other amenities
The accommodation was clean and also full kitchen facilities (not just a cooktop). Heating was excellent as we were in a one bedroom apartment.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
Highly recommend.
Will stay again when we come back to Launceston!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GPSVIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_AlanvaleApts, Manager at Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Hi GPSVIC

Thank you for the feedback; we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. Come again soon!

Cheers
Julie and Staff

PS Another close facility is the University of Tasmania.....we are next door!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed for 1 night. (Thank God). It was freezing even though we had the heater on nearly all night. The heater is located up the wrong end of the unit & in the corner of the room. The place was clean though. The unit we stayed in had a musty smell in it, probably hadn't been used or aired for a while. The lady at the front desk was very helpful on check in. This place needs to have a major upgrade. Won't be recommending this place to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unclebuckMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_AlanvaleApts, Manager at Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Hi UnclebuckMelbourne and thanks for the feedback.

We agree that Launceston can be a very cold place in July, and we have extra heaters available to guests for those cold winter nights. We endeavour to turn heaters on some hours before guests arrive.

Keeping decor up to date is a major concern for all accommodation providers and we do our best within the budgetary constraints dictated by difficult economic times. At 3.5 stars we aim to cater for the middle of the market and are priced accordingly.

All the best
Julie and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Not very good at all... It's not actually IN Launceston, but a fair drive away. Staff not interested. Bare minimum stuff not provided - no towels?!

Minimalist says it all really - no staff, no towels, no cleaning, no kitchen utensils, No bedside lamps, No tissues, No elevator, No safe access, very noisy, very dirty, very badly maintained.

PESTS everywhere - Spiders, ants, scorpions and silverfish and cobwebs all throughout our apartment covering every surface of the highly unattractive concrete bagged walls, discoloured ceiling and ancient kitchen.

Fundamental lack of professionalism. Bed is old. Everything is old.

The carpet was badly stained and hadn’t been properly vacuumed. The bathroom was dirty. The toilet was stained. The kitchen wasn't clean.

Worth $5 a night really.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alittle_pinewine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_AlanvaleApts, Manager at Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
We thank the reviewer for their feedback but question the authenticity especially considering the long delay between the purported stay and the posting of the review.

We concede that problems will occur in a 50 room establishment when occupancy is at a low level especially over winter months. Despite this, Alanvale Apartments and Motor Inn maintain staff levels throughout the year and provide towels, kitchen utensils, crockery and cooking wear, tissues, hairdryers, and toilet paper. Complimentary tea, coffee, sugar and milk are provided in all rooms, including self contained apartments. Motel rooms are tidied daily, whereas ‘self contained’ apartments are tidied at the guest’s request. We are not a ‘serviced apartments’ facility.

The accommodation was built only 15 years ago to an old English tudor village theme. Guests appreciate the rustic charm and uniqueness which blends with the neighbouring convention centre and bistro (not part of our business).

Alanvale Apartments and Motor Inn sell up to 10,000 room nights per annum with just a handful of genuine grievances which we do our utmost to satisfy. We offer a free night to anyone feeling genuinely aggrieved and our desire is for all guests to leave happy with our hospitality and service.

Julie (Site Manager) and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
2.7 mi away
Hotel Launceston
Hotel Launceston
#22 of 30 in Launceston
454 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tamar River Villas
Tamar River Villas
#2 of 2 in Riverside
126 reviews
2.8 mi away
Batman Fawkner Inn
Batman Fawkner Inn
#20 of 30 in Launceston
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
2.7 mi away
Mercure Launceston
Mercure Launceston
#24 of 30 in Launceston
27 reviews
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Coach House
Comfort Inn Coach House
#15 of 30 in Launceston
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn

Property: Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn
Address: 15 - 17 Alanvale Rd, Launceston, Tasmania 7248, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OLD TUDOR ELEGANCE with English charm best describes ALANVALE APARTMENTS AND MOTOR INN. Superbly located on the Archers Manor site, Newnham. Alanvale Apartments provide a turn of the century English experience while pampering the guests with amenities of today, such as dial up Internet access in each room, for both corporate and family use. At Alanvale Apartments you will find friendly staff, helpful management and an atmosphere that is second to none. Whilst at Alanvale Apartments you have a choice of staying in either a comfortable Motel suite with a tranquil rural aspect, or in one of our spacious 1, 2, bedroom self contained apartments. In a variety of configurations, all with full kitchen and laundry facilities. (Some have two bathrooms.) The buildings are set in the tranquil and elegant style of a Tudor village with its own village green. Located just a 5 minute drive, i.e. about 4 kilometers, from the city centre of Launceston, adjacent to the Maritime College and the University. Ideally situated for the Tamar Valley, Northern Tasmania and city tours, and to a number of spectacular attractions, including heritage sites such as The Grove, Franklin House, Entally House and Clarendon House, wineries, the lavender farm, Seahorse farm, Beaconsfield gold mine & Museum, Launceston’s Cataract Gorge, Low Head Pilot Station and many more. Other experiences available include forest appreciation and wildlife tours, with Tamar river cruises a must. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing