We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Renovations happening” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Atherton, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Renovations happening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed in 2 different 1 bedroom apartments during our recent stay in Tasmania. We found both very good. 1 had been newly painted with new curtains and both had new carpet. Both beds were comfy and bed linen was new. There is a full kitchen and laundry but the bathroom was very small. If you are arriving later get the safe code for the key as we found the night manager wasn't home and we were lucky that the dining room people were able to help us out. It's only 5 minutes to the city but nice and peaceful. I would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    29
    15
    12
    13
See reviews for
25
28
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

I have utilsed Alanvale Apartments since 2000.

The one bedroom accommodation where I usually stay is very comfortable, well appointed, and clean. A laundry comprising a sink, washing machine, dryer, iron, ironing board, and clothes horse, provides a valuable in house convenience.

The kitchenette is equipped with an electric cooker, microwave refrigerator, toaster and kettle, and adequate utensils and crockery to prepare and serve meals if required.

The living room is fitted with a flat screen television , dining table and chairs ; also a comfortable lounge suite.

A queen size orthopedic bed is positioned in the bedroom. It is most comfortable, and gives full support for a good nights rest. If it did not, I would not be returning to stay again, and again, over the past 14 years. The bedroom is also equipped with a television

Alanvale Apartments is nicely positioned just out of town, but near to the suburbs of Mowbray, Newnham, and the University of Tasmania [ also AMC ] Getting into town is very easy on the Northern Outlet road and takes only 3 -4 minutes, by car, to get into central Launceston.

The gardens are unique. There are wide expanses of lawn, rose beds, flowers a plenty, and the spreading elm trees, with a canopy of floating green foliage overhead in summer time..The character of the buildings is a reproduction of the English Elizabethan era, which is far more appealing than plane brick accommodation blocks marketed in other areas.

The early morning bird song welcomes the new day, and the staff are friendly and helpful.

An on site licensed restaurant, at Archers Manor,provides evening meals and is part of the Alanvale Apartments complex.

Room Tip: There are Motel style rooms, also one / two / and three bedroom units to meet your needs. Ask the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane Aust
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

With trepidation we rang and voiced our concerns about poor reviews. We were told that we would find it clean and comfortable. We found it more than met our expectations. To our surprise everything was in very good condition and well presented.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanD24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed here in Feb 2013 for a couple of nights after having stayed at St Ives Apartments for a week. St Ives Apartments were beautiful.

Thank god the nights of stay weren't the other way around.

This place stunk of mould, the front door was half jammed, staircase was gloomy and hadn't seen a cleaner's brush for many a year, the carpet was putrid in the stairwell and there were spider webs everywhere.

The apartment was only marginally better - stunk of mould, tried to open a window for ventilation and the frame nearly fell out, the curtain felt like it was going to disintegrate on touch.

I am suspicious of the few really good reviews about this place - maybe there is one apartment that is up to scratch, and maybe the good reviews are false. Can't say for sure, but this is one place that's not worth gambling on getting the good rooms.

We will never stay here again - we drove past this place last week and gagged at the memory of it. This time we stayed at Quest Apartments in the city, which were as nice as St Ives.


The apartments are self rated at 3.5 star, but I would rate the one we were in as 1 star,

Room Tip: Pick another venue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Gerhardp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_AlanvaleApts, Manager at Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for your review. It is a pity you have stayed silent for so long and also didnt give us the opportunity when you stayed, for us to deal with your concerns at the time. 12 Months is a long time to stay silent. I am a bit perplexed regarding the comment ( window frame that nearly fell out as this is a serious structural problem). As for the good reports being false, we take all reports as being good bad or indifferent. It is a fact that on this site we do not know which reports are false and which are true.
We have a good percentage of our clients are return business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Launceston hotels

Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

For the self-caterers, Archers Manor/Alanvale Apartments are great value. There is everything you need for a comfortable stay - I have been staying at Alanvale Apartments for many years - the staff are very helpful and friendly. It is especially close to the University of Tasmania and TasTAFE's Alanvale campus, good also as a starting point for attractions around Launceston.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DiW888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_AlanvaleApts, Manager at Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thanks for the review DiW888, We are glad you enjoy our hospitality and proximity to facilities and attractions. We hope to see you again soon!

Cheers
Julie and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Reasonably easy to find - great location only 5 minutes to the middle of Launceston. Beds were comfortable although the sofa bed downstairs has seen better days! Could improve by including an undercover outside area attached to the villas - makes it easier on rainy days..

Staff were extremely friendly and helpful and check in and booking was a breeze.

Only negative was waking up to the unsavory neighbours (not in the complex) swearing at the top of their lungs at the native birds.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pensta12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_AlanvaleApts, Manager at Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thanks for the feedback!
Hopefully you will see some updated furniture on your next visit. Sorry about the noisy native fauna!

Cheers
Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Bed is old with springs coming through. Dust bunnies everywhere, cold bathroom, inadequate heating. I could not sleep in the double bed as I had a spring in my back so slept on the single. Got home on the second day and the single bed had not been made, not happy. I have seen better kennel accommodation for my dogs. Left on 2nd of a 3 day stay. Got a great deal at other accommodation.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before you accept the keys
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mootie6219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_AlanvaleApts, Manager at Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
HI Mootie6219 from Adelaide and thanks for the feedback.

Feel free to read our comments below regarding servicing of apartments as their seems to be some confusion as to the services we offer.

Our beds and mattresses are re-newed on a regular basis and unfortunately we do not know which one you are referring to. Hopefully we find it before another guest loses any sleep because of it.

All the best

Julie and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
1.9 mi away
Tamar River Villas
Tamar River Villas
#1 of 2 in Riverside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Coach House
Comfort Inn Coach House
#13 of 30 in Launceston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
2.8 mi away
Batman Fawkner Inn
Batman Fawkner Inn
#19 of 30 in Launceston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Star Bar Cafe & Hotel
Star Bar Cafe & Hotel
#30 of 30 in Launceston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
3.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
2.7 mi away
Elphin Villas, Motel & Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn

Property: Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn
Address: 15 - 17 Alanvale Road, Launceston, Tasmania 7248, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OLD TUDOR ELEGANCE with English charm best describes ALANVALE APARTMENTS AND MOTOR INN. Superbly located on the Archers Manor site, Newnham. Alanvale Apartments provide a turn of the century English experience while pampering the guests with amenities of today, such as dial up Internet access in each room, for both corporate and family use. At Alanvale Apartments you will find friendly staff, helpful management and an atmosphere that is second to none. Whilst at Alanvale Apartments you have a choice of staying in either a comfortable Motel suite with a tranquil rural aspect, or in one of our spacious 1, 2, bedroom self contained apartments. In a variety of configurations, all with full kitchen and laundry facilities. (Some have two bathrooms.) The buildings are set in the tranquil and elegant style of a Tudor village with its own village green. Located just a 5 minute drive, i.e. about 4 kilometers, from the city centre of Launceston, adjacent to the Maritime College and the University. Ideally situated for the Tamar Valley, Northern Tasmania and city tours, and to a number of spectacular attractions, including heritage sites such as The Grove, Franklin House, Entally House and Clarendon House, wineries, the lavender farm, Seahorse farm, Beaconsfield gold mine & Museum, Launceston’s Cataract Gorge, Low Head Pilot Station and many more. Other experiences available include forest appreciation and wildlife tours, with Tamar river cruises a must. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing