We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hostel experience”
Review of Arthouse Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Arthouse Hostel
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very good hostel experience”
Reviewed 25 January 2013

I attended a conference at the Tramsheds and stayed here as it's literally a 3 minute walk away! Perfect location. A very cute old building near the river with lots of bonuses.

I'd booked into a dorm as there were no single rooms available, but when I arrived I was told there was a single room that night so I gratefully took it.

The single room - good size, clean, bed was squeaky but comfy enough. Downside was it overlooked the courtyard and there was a light right outside my window which didn't go off until late.
I was later in an 8 bed female dorm which was comfortable, other than the usual person who'd be noisy or turn the light on late at night... Balcony right outside the room was a cute addition. Lots of powerpoints or extension cords.
The only thing it was lacking was a locked box - that would have been perfect.

A small kitchen upstairs and one bigger one downstairs meant options for meal prep. Thumbs down to the person who ate my leftover pizza and then left the empty box in the fridge!
There are a few options for communal areas as well, and a few options for showers (upstairs there are more showers around the corner - keep walking and you'll see them!).

Excellent customer service.
I think I saw free bike rental but check this out.
Lots of maps and brochures available A/H.
Comfy couches.
Old-style decor that matches the building.
Limited reception hours but easy to work around.
Shuttle bus from airport goes directly to and from the door.
There's a good baked potato place on the corner and an excellent Chinese restaurant walking distance away on the main road. Pub and bottle shop also in walking distance. Food places close early so make sure you stock up!

I'd stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking courtyard can be noisy and I had a light right outisde my window until late at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KickingTheBucketList
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    61
    28
    12
    8
See reviews for
7
29
56
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012 via mobile

This place would have been amazing if it was slightly closer to the city. It's only 10minutes from the bus station.
Friendly staff, great showers, can't go wrong. Also it's a lot better than the batman faunker in town. Came here after and wish I'd saved myself the bother and come here first.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cubicledodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Rooms not too bad, but found the staff unfriendly and a funny crowd there. The kitchen was just plain dirty and not really suitable for cooking. They did arrange good value car hire. A bit in the middle of nowhere.

Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank AlexMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Great place, friendly staff and people. Very central and warm inside, shower was better than my own, good kitchen facility. All round great stay :)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

(May 2011, couldn't change the date)
After an awful day getting from Hobart to Launceston (I hired a car and was wrongly charged an extra 500 dollars!!) I arrived tired and weary to the lovely Arthouse! Really easy to find too! I arrived late, so they text me the door code. There was a lovely letter and extra blankets left at reception for me. With it there were maps with highlighted routes to the supermarket and other attractions around town. I got up to my room and found it toasty warm with the heater on beside my bed.
Wonderful hot shower the next morning. Did some walking. Came back, made lunch in the nice clean kitchen and relaxed in the lovely herb garden. In the evening, myself and a few other backpackers got a few DVD's from reception and relaxed on the couches.
Heading back to Melbourne, the lovely ladies at reception organised an airport shuttle to pick me up. Arthouse made a stressful trip to Tassie so much better, thank you!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grneggsnham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Furstenfeldbruck, Germany
Level Contributor
133 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I've actually been looking forward to staying in such an old house and was not disappointed by the building. It is indeed a beautiful house. We've stayed in a double room which was clean and spaceous. Unfortunately the kitchen ruins the whole good impression. The hostel was booked out and the oven on the first floor was out of order. So there were about 60 people trying to cook on the ground floor. From the eight oven plates of the two ovens 2 were not working and some of the others not working very well. We had to wait quite a while to cook and then look hard to find a place to sit. A lot of people didn't clean up at all or not very well. The kitchen is VERY, VERY dirty and still was the next morning. It was hard to find clean plates and even harder to clean up things because there were dirty dishes everywhere and blankets lying around from people who had slept in the living room (and saved the money for the room?!). You should know that people staying in this hostel are not mainly travelling but working on farms. We were told by other backpackers that if you stay in a bigger room, you cannot sleep very long because everybody gets up very early. Well in the end we thought it was very sad that nobody seemed to care about the kitchen. Furthermore the whole place looks a bit run down. It is a nice house - but it could be a lot nicer if somebody would look after it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PufferfishMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Launceston hotels

Nottingham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Lovely hostel in a vintage building oozing character. A busy hub of backpackers a 10min walk from the city centre. Nice and clean rooms (we paid 60 for a private double with shared bathroom).

The cons - expect queues on the 2 washing machines 2 cooking hobs and limited number of showers (2 out of 3 were out of action on the 1st floor in Mar 2012).

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jezmhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.4 mi away
Batman Fawkner Inn
Batman Fawkner Inn
#19 of 30 in Launceston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.5 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quest Launceston
Quest Launceston
#8 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arthouse Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arthouse Hostel

Property: Arthouse Hostel
Address: 20 Lindsay Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 1888 heritage listed building with renovated bathrooms and fantastic staff makes this international backpacker hostel a wonderful place to stay. Situated in the 'arts district', the Queen Victoria Museum & Art Gallery is only a stroll away, yet the city centre is only a short 7 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Arthouse Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arthouse Hostel Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing