We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The price is right.”
Review of Arthouse Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Arthouse Hostel
Reviewed 9 July 2014

But our room was very loud, and it was not really easy walking distance to any place to eat. We ended up walking about 30 minutes each way, which wasn't too bad, but we had hiked quite a bit that day and were starting the Overland Track the next day so didn't really need any extra exercise. Also was a bit hot and stuffy--air didn't circulate very well throughout the building.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank travelermara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

77 - 83 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

The staff here were great, helpful and chatty. The dorm rooms were spacious (I'd recommend those on the top floor, as well as using the bathrooms on the top floor!) The social areas are all spacious and this seems to be the hostel in Launceston where the majority of young people stay. When we visited (April 2014) there were lots of people who were working in the area and had really turned their dorm rooms into bedrooms. We were initially in one of these untidy dorms and did not think it was well organised to put holiday makers and workers in the same room - it was very awkward! Luckily we were able to change rooms the night after (it would have been better if they'd given us a new room when we'd asked though). There is free WiFi here which is great.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank birdfan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This hostel is a great place to stay in Launceston!
The staff is super friendly and helpful.
I stayed in a 8 share dorm room and it was quite big and clean. Beds are comfy and you can use your own sleeping bag.
The bathrooms and the kitchen are very clean.
The hostel often offers a free BBQ in the garden and you make friends really fast.

I would definitely recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lari-Outback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I stayed at Arthouse on 4 different occasions for a night or two at a time. I found the front desk staff welcoming and the facilities more than adequate. One time I went, the internet was down, but it was Friday night, and I went out on the town with new friends from the hostel . It's in a quiet location a 8 minute walk from downtown, but there is a liqour store and baked potato place nearby!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JordanRapley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The hostel was full of noisy and inconsiderate guests! The kitchen and dining hall were such a dirty mess and some male guests even played in the kitchen! My room was next to the wooden staircase. The noise from people running up and down was really annoying. The noise even started at 4.30am! The free wifi was down when I checked in and it was down for more than 2 days. I asked the male receptionist when the problem will be fixed, he just shrugged and said "I don't know".

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chs_1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Staff is unfriendly and the reception guy not very bright. ...internet doesn't work and kitchen and rooms were super dirty. If you don't have a sleeping bag you have to pay for one. Its not much but considering all other hostel don't charge you for one and heaters in the rooms don't really work. After telling all this to the reception guy, the answer was always the same...no one else has problems with it.
However, its close to the city and a few hiking tracks, but would not recommend staying here.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank selipru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Though it is slightly outside of Launceston, it is still only a 5 minute walk to the center of town. Everyone here was very nice, though it seemed most of the guests were here for working holiday and weren't terribly interested in exploring. The staff was friendly and helpful. The facilities were decently clean though a little worn down. 5 stars for the shower facilities which are warm, private, plentiful, and have great water pressure.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olivia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.4 mi away
Batman Fawkner Inn
Batman Fawkner Inn
#20 of 30 in Launceston
554 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
930 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
0.5 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#4 of 30 in Launceston
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arthouse Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arthouse Hostel

Address: 20 Lindsay Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Launceston
Price Range: £13 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 1888 heritage listed building with renovated bathrooms and fantastic staff makes this international backpacker hostel a wonderful place to stay. Situated in the 'arts district', the Queen Victoria Museum & Art Gallery is only a stroll away, yet the city centre is only a short 7 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Arthouse Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arthouse Hostel Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing