We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveller rating
127
44
6
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
127
44
6
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spiral staircase breakfast provisions coffee machine terrace apartment fresh loaf of bread small complex fruit and veg shop bedroom and bathroom off street parking terrific location loved staying here two nights self contained apartment well stocked kitchen charles st coles supermarket extra touches
Filter
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 178 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2012

chose 242 based on trip advisor and was happy with apartment (terrace). large basket of breakfast provisions, coles supermarket close by as well as lots of little restaurants. full kitchen which helped with making breakfast and dinner to save some money. good base to visit cradle mountain, devonport etc. also was nice to have spa bath after a long day's walking and slip into a soft robe.

Room Tip: terrace has winding staircase
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cosmicgirl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in the Studio apartment at twoFourtwo for 5 nights in October and we loved it. The hosts Allan and Katie have thought of everything to make your self-contained apartment a home away from home. The complimentary bicycles are a nice touch. Wouldn't recommend riding them to the Cataract Gorge though unless you are a hill climbing specialist.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJH10101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Our family recently enjoyed a weekend at Two four two in the Bakehouse apartment.
The apartment was very comfortable and welcoming after a day exploring the area. All the previous reporters have really said everything about them so all I can do is endorse their recommendations and thank our hosts for an enjoyable time and look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

If you like an individual personalised spot to stay whilst exploring, you can do a lot worse than TWOFOURTWO (The Bake House). It is great to stay somewhere nice that is not part of a huge commercial chain.

There is a lot to like about the place. It is a great spot for a couple or a family with two well behaved young children. The outside terrace with the herb pots is lovely and the design of what is essentially a small place makes it feel very light and roomy. It is the special touches that make this a unique place. Like the delicious cookies, interesting CD collection, iPod dock, culinary mags, books and also WI FI connection.

We had the opportunity to use the bikes that are available, and had lots of fun cruising around. We did not even really need a motor vehicle. It is a short and charming walk into the CBD in any case.

The only thing I found at odds with the generous nature of the place was the breakfast provisions. We stayed 3 nights and whilst there were plenty of milk, cereals and eggs, there was a slice of toast each and a small bottle of juice (maybe 350mls) to share each as an allocation for each day. Whilst there were plenty of Twinings tea bags varieties to choose from there was no loose leaf tea, which was also odd because there was a fabulous espresso machine (and pods and loose coffee) and a tea pot.

In any case, there are plenty of great cafes in close proximity so breakfasting there is not really crucial. The only table in the apartment makes a much better sideboard than dining table in any case.

So - if you take the view that breakfast is something you do away from the apartment, or perhaps chat in advance about your breakfast requirements to Katie - who is very approachable and makes herself known during your stay- you will have a perfectly fabulous time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FarflungEddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We stayed in Number 10 with our two young children for the weekend. The cottage had everything we needed and more with the special little treats such as the irresistable bikkies and cd /DVD selection! The position was perfect to explore Launceston on foot and in a nice area which offered a selection of coffee shops and nice food options. Katie was fabulous to deal with and very very helpful, thank you! Just wish we could come back again sooner!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews