We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like staying with friends”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Two Four Two Boutique Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 December 2012

If you like feeling like an invited guest, that you are staying at some lovely friends inner city town house while they are some place else, with everything that you could possibly want to make your stay effortless, then this is the place to come. It is all quality with comfort, right throughout the studio apartment we rented, and abounding with a multitude of included extras. As a tourist, the included guest laundry, complete with an enormous glass bowl of washing powder was delightful, but so too was all the provisions that made our stay so easy. However, if you were not too keen on in house meals, then down the stairs, out the gate, and 20 paces to the street, and an abundance of choice for breakfast to late night, from Burgers to handmade pasta.
All within walking distance to the CBD.
We generally choose this price range for our accommodation when we are travelling, and we think this place is a stand out. There was nothing to disappoint someone looking for a home away from home.

Room Tip: We stayed in the studio, which was more than comfortable for a couple for a few days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2012

Launceston is a pretty town, and a sunny place apparently - and Katie who runs 242 is a sunny person. She's welcoming, friendly and helpful.

Based behind a row of shops on busy-ish (Launceston is not THAT big) Charles Street, 242 is a group of apartments squeezed in behind what is now a cafe, also run by Katie and her husband. The apartments are generously and intelligently fitted out, and make a relaxing and comfortable base for a visit to Launceston our touring in northern Tasmania.

We stayed in the Terrace apartment. I won't labour the style and facilities - they're great, which is evident from the website and previous reviews. Aside from thinking of nearly everything in terms of apartment features and comforts, there was a big bathroom and an enormous firm bed.

But my reservation was the spiral staircase, which really was steep - any steeper and it would have been a ladder. We are both mobile, but we were both hesitant and careful about using the stairs. We didn't take our big case up to the top floor for the two nights we were there - levering it up the staircase seemed just too hard. If you have small children or are not particularly mobile this accommodation is really not a good option.

I also thought 242 was on the pricey side for what is was. If I were paying these prices in a small hotel I would be expecting a pretty special breakfast. The breakfast supplies were good and reasonably generous, but not great.

But overall it's very good, and I would recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tongi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

The accommodation was very nicely presented with a great deal of thought for home comforts and in a great location for cafes and shops. The bed and bed linens were excellent. Small gripes: the room overlooked a busy road so it was noisy at night (no double glazing). Secondly, for the amount being charged, I would have expected the room to be serviced on a daily basis.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jude077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Love this place! We've stayed in 3 of Twofourtwo's self-contained apartments on a number of occasions & just love them. Lovely modern design & each apartment with extra special touches such as soft mohair throws, fluffy cushions, DVD's, magazines, a bag of personalized '242' boiled lollies and apples on the pillows (!) - just makes this stand out from the rest. Gorgeous outdoor area at the Bakehouse with water feature and BBQ, and lovely smaller decks also at the Terrace and Studio apartments. Not to mention the very generous breakfast provisions (included in the price) and option to purchase wine and ready-made freezer meals, there's also a funky coffee machine and yummy home-style bikkies for free. Beautiful Tasmanian-made MB bathroom products add the final perfect touch. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Love the Bakehouse - can accomodate up to 4 people so is a bit roomier than the others. Also has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leletia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

chose 242 based on trip advisor and was happy with apartment (terrace). large basket of breakfast provisions, coles supermarket close by as well as lots of little restaurants. full kitchen which helped with making breakfast and dinner to save some money. good base to visit cradle mountain, devonport etc. also was nice to have spa bath after a long day's walking and slip into a soft robe.

Room Tip: terrace has winding staircase
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cosmicgirl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in the Studio apartment at twoFourtwo for 5 nights in October and we loved it. The hosts Allan and Katie have thought of everything to make your self-contained apartment a home away from home. The complimentary bicycles are a nice touch. Wouldn't recommend riding them to the Cataract Gorge though unless you are a hill climbing specialist.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJH10101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Our family recently enjoyed a weekend at Two four two in the Bakehouse apartment.
The apartment was very comfortable and welcoming after a day exploring the area. All the previous reporters have really said everything about them so all I can do is endorse their recommendations and thank our hosts for an enjoyable time and look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.8 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
969 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.4 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
1,638 reviews
0.5 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#4 of 30 in Launceston
527 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Two Four Two Boutique Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two Four Two Boutique Apartments

Address: 242 Charles St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Launceston
Price Range: £112 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Two Four Two Boutique Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Visitor Location. Ultra chic, boutique, self-catering apartments. All apartments offer luxury king size beds, a DVD library, coffee machines, state of the art kitchens and high speed wi-fi.TWOFOURTWO Boutique Apartments are nestled in the heart of cosmopolitan Charles Street, with cafes, restaurants, a delicatessen, fresh fruit and vegetables, specialty Tasmanian butcher, supermarket and bottle shop all within a 2 minute walk from your accommodation. Cafe Mondello now graces the complex offering an all day breakfast menu. Yours to experience and enjoy! Rated 5 Stars on Google Reviews ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Two Four Two Boutique Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Two Four Two Boutique Apartments Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing