We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (180)
Filter reviews
180 results
Traveller rating
129
44
6
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
129
44
6
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spiral staircase breakfast provisions coffee machine terrace apartment fresh loaf of bread fruit and veg shop bedroom and bathroom off street parking terrific location loved staying here two nights well stocked kitchen charles st self contained apartment coles supermarket pots and pans minute walk
Filter
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 180 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Launceston is a pretty town, and a sunny place apparently - and Katie who runs 242 is a sunny person. She's welcoming, friendly and helpful.

Based behind a row of shops on busy-ish (Launceston is not THAT big) Charles Street, 242 is a group of apartments squeezed in behind what is now a cafe, also run by Katie and her husband. The apartments are generously and intelligently fitted out, and make a relaxing and comfortable base for a visit to Launceston our touring in northern Tasmania.

We stayed in the Terrace apartment. I won't labour the style and facilities - they're great, which is evident from the website and previous reviews. Aside from thinking of nearly everything in terms of apartment features and comforts, there was a big bathroom and an enormous firm bed.

But my reservation was the spiral staircase, which really was steep - any steeper and it would have been a ladder. We are both mobile, but we were both hesitant and careful about using the stairs. We didn't take our big case up to the top floor for the two nights we were there - levering it up the staircase seemed just too hard. If you have small children or are not particularly mobile this accommodation is really not a good option.

I also thought 242 was on the pricey side for what is was. If I were paying these prices in a small hotel I would be expecting a pretty special breakfast. The breakfast supplies were good and reasonably generous, but not great.

But overall it's very good, and I would recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tongi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

The accommodation was very nicely presented with a great deal of thought for home comforts and in a great location for cafes and shops. The bed and bed linens were excellent. Small gripes: the room overlooked a busy road so it was noisy at night (no double glazing). Secondly, for the amount being charged, I would have expected the room to be serviced on a daily basis.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jude077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Love this place! We've stayed in 3 of Twofourtwo's self-contained apartments on a number of occasions & just love them. Lovely modern design & each apartment with extra special touches such as soft mohair throws, fluffy cushions, DVD's, magazines, a bag of personalized '242' boiled lollies and apples on the pillows (!) - just makes this stand out from the rest. Gorgeous outdoor area at the Bakehouse with water feature and BBQ, and lovely smaller decks also at the Terrace and Studio apartments. Not to mention the very generous breakfast provisions (included in the price) and option to purchase wine and ready-made freezer meals, there's also a funky coffee machine and yummy home-style bikkies for free. Beautiful Tasmanian-made MB bathroom products add the final perfect touch. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Love the Bakehouse - can accomodate up to 4 people so is a bit roomier than the others. Also has a gorgeous patio area.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leletia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

chose 242 based on trip advisor and was happy with apartment (terrace). large basket of breakfast provisions, coles supermarket close by as well as lots of little restaurants. full kitchen which helped with making breakfast and dinner to save some money. good base to visit cradle mountain, devonport etc. also was nice to have spa bath after a long day's walking and slip into a soft robe.

Room Tip: terrace has winding staircase
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cosmicgirl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in the Studio apartment at twoFourtwo for 5 nights in October and we loved it. The hosts Allan and Katie have thought of everything to make your self-contained apartment a home away from home. The complimentary bicycles are a nice touch. Wouldn't recommend riding them to the Cataract Gorge though unless you are a hill climbing specialist.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJH10101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews