We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of TWOFOURTWO Boutique Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
TWOFOURTWO Boutique Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013 via mobile

Only stayed one night but wished it could have been more. Stayed in terrace room that offered everything you could hope for and more. Stocked kitchen, large bedroom and bathroom and plenty of materials on where to eat. Would go back just for the accommodation!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicem99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    39
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
33
93
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
125 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

We found TWOFOURTWO here on Trip Advisor and upon booking 'The Terrace' online, received very helpful and prompt service from Katie (the owner) who confirmed our reservation, including the use of 2 bikes during our stay (complimentary) and emailed us a list of recommended, favorite local restaurants. A few months later when we arrived for our stay, we were absolutely delighted! 242 is beautifully decorated with every comfort you could want during your stay, and features stunning, timber cabinetry hand crafted by Katie's husband. With breakfast provisions in the refrigerator, and a welcome jar of fresh cookies in the kitchen, we were immediately able to make a cup of tea, sit down and relax with a snack on the terrace, and look out over Launceston. The owners have truly thought of everything, by providing so many wonderful personal touches throughout the apartment - including hand selected local toiletries, travel guides/brochures, magazines, books, DVDs, CDs, games, well supplied kitchen - they even have a "pillow menu" with the option to switch out your pillow for a different style to suit your preference! We had the pleasure of meeting Katie who is simply delightful and we would definitely choose to stay here again when we return to Launceston, and recommend highly to anyone we know visiting the area. Excellent value, convenient location, free parking and outstanding amenities. We loved it and only wish we could have stayed longer. Thanks so much Katie!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBennetts_RVLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

Agree with all the other reviewers this has got to be the best place to stay in Launceston. We stayed in the Terrace and it was just perfect, stylish, functional and comfortable. High standard of cleanliness and well maintained. Everything provided that you could possibly want including a great Tassie wine selection at very reasonable prices. The location is fantastic with shops, supermarket, restaurants all around the corner including an amazing old fashioned green grocer and deli. The spiral staircase is steep but we found it easy to manage including large luggage so not a problem. We would highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Avatarsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

This is a set of upmarket appartments within walking distance of Launceston city centre. There are 3 apartments, and my wife and I stayed in "The Terrace" one, so the following comments only apply to that one.
This is a lovely, well-appointed two storey apartment, with a gorgeous wooden, spiral staircase joining the two floors. Downstairs is a small living area with sofa, chair, TV, coffee table etc, behind this is the very well thought out kitchen area. Upstairs is the bedroom, including a large cupboard, and a fantastic bathroom complete with whirlpool bath. There are two balconies, from where you can enjoy a glass of the local pinot noir and watch the sun going down over the nearby hills. There is a small, 3-vehicle parking area which felt a bit tight, however this was probably due to the large 4x4 hire car we'd been given! :-)
Everything feels very modern and clean, without feeling cold, and there are tons of small touches and details which really make the place special, like plenty of reading material, local information (such as a folder of menus from local restaurants and cafés) and on-site laundry. The kitchen was well stocked with breakfast items when we arrived, everything you could want. There are several great restaurants within 100 yards of your front door, and a Coles supermarket within easy walking distance as well. Thoughtfully, a "maxi-bar" is also provided, containing full sized bottles of wine and beer, each marked with a very reasonable price (in fact it could be that these are "shop" prices, so very good value).
The owners are obviously very proud of their little heavenly hideaway and rightly so. Would have no hesitation in staying here again or recommending it to others.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chileman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

If you like feeling like an invited guest, that you are staying at some lovely friends inner city town house while they are some place else, with everything that you could possibly want to make your stay effortless, then this is the place to come. It is all quality with comfort, right throughout the studio apartment we rented, and abounding with a multitude of included extras. As a tourist, the included guest laundry, complete with an enormous glass bowl of washing powder was delightful, but so too was all the provisions that made our stay so easy. However, if you were not too keen on in house meals, then down the stairs, out the gate, and 20 paces to the street, and an abundance of choice for breakfast to late night, from Burgers to handmade pasta.
All within walking distance to the CBD.
We generally choose this price range for our accommodation when we are travelling, and we think this place is a stand out. There was nothing to disappoint someone looking for a home away from home.

Room Tip: We stayed in the studio, which was more than comfortable for a couple for a few days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

Launceston is a pretty town, and a sunny place apparently - and Katie who runs 242 is a sunny person. She's welcoming, friendly and helpful.

Based behind a row of shops on busy-ish (Launceston is not THAT big) Charles Street, 242 is a group of apartments squeezed in behind what is now a cafe, also run by Katie and her husband. The apartments are generously and intelligently fitted out, and make a relaxing and comfortable base for a visit to Launceston our touring in northern Tasmania.

We stayed in the Terrace apartment. I won't labour the style and facilities - they're great, which is evident from the website and previous reviews. Aside from thinking of nearly everything in terms of apartment features and comforts, there was a big bathroom and an enormous firm bed.

But my reservation was the spiral staircase, which really was steep - any steeper and it would have been a ladder. We are both mobile, but we were both hesitant and careful about using the stairs. We didn't take our big case up to the top floor for the two nights we were there - levering it up the staircase seemed just too hard. If you have small children or are not particularly mobile this accommodation is really not a good option.

I also thought 242 was on the pricey side for what is was. If I were paying these prices in a small hotel I would be expecting a pretty special breakfast. The breakfast supplies were good and reasonably generous, but not great.

But overall it's very good, and I would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tongi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northamptonshire
Level Contributor
110 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

The accommodation was very nicely presented with a great deal of thought for home comforts and in a great location for cafes and shops. The bed and bed linens were excellent. Small gripes: the room overlooked a busy road so it was noisy at night (no double glazing). Secondly, for the amount being charged, I would have expected the room to be serviced on a daily basis.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jude077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.2 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
0.8 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#4 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TWOFOURTWO Boutique Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TWOFOURTWO Boutique Apartments

Property: TWOFOURTWO Boutique Apartments
Address: Cnr Charles Street & Batten Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — TWOFOURTWO Boutique Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ultra chic, boutique, self-catering apartments showcasing Tasmanian iconic cool climate wines, art and contemporary furniture design. All apartments offer luxury king size beds, a DVD library, ipod docking stations, coffee machines, state of the art kitchens and high speed internet. TWOFOURTWO Boutique Apartments are nestled in the heart of cosmopolitan Charles Street, with cafes, restaurants, a delicatessen, fresh fruit and vegetables, specialty Tasmanian butcher, supermarket and bottle shop are 2 minutes walk from your front door. Cafe Mondello now graces the complex offering an all day breakfast menu. Yours to experience and enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your TWOFOURTWO Boutique Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
TWOFOURTWO Boutique Apartments Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing