We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Two Four Two Boutique Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed for 9 nights in the Terrace and had the most amazing stay!!

Katie the owner is so welcoming and the apartment was beautiful - clean, with lots of bright space and super comfy bed!! Katie put fresh eggs and juice in the fridge for us and a loaf of fresh bread! Such a nice gesture.

If you are staying in Launceston stay at twofourtwo!! There are loads of coffee shops right on the front doorstep, a burger joint over the road, amazing pasta place just round the corner and pub a hop skip and a jump too!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013

242 Launceston is a fantastic little boutique lodging.
The owners have gone to enormous trouble to add the extra touches that make this special.
The decor, art works, DvD library, CD library, magazines had a lot of thought put in.
Breakfast supplies were excellent and self serve wine selection was great.
Sleep quality is excellent, comfortable bed and pillow selection were wonderful, and hotel is in a quiet side street.
Room (Bakehouse, 2 bdrm) was spacious, decent kitchen and fantastic bathroom. There is also a private courtyard with BBQ.
Positioning is excellent, short walk to CBD and many great restaurants.
We visited in winter, but rooms were pleasantly warm with heaters and heat pump, already going for our arrival.
The owners, Katie and her husband were very friendly and welcoming.
Can recommend this for travellers who are looking for a small, friendly, intimate hotel.

Room Tip: Bakehouse has good space for small family, both sleeping and living areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nzdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We stayed in the Terrace for two nights and found it quite comfortable. It is smallish and they have done what they can with limited space but the shower over the bath never really does it for me. On the other hand the bed was huge and very comfy. Loved the wine from the maxi bar (but not the beer). A fairly central location within easy walking distance to some very nice restaurants. The only real downside was the car parking. If you have a large (and expensive) car there is not much room for error and you have to rely on fellow guests not to 'door' you. Overall, we enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GlennW661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We stayed in the Terrace with our bub.

The minuses:
* It sounds a bit dumb - but one main disappointment was the baked goods - out of a packet, not fresh baked which I had been looking forward to.
* The other downside was one of my pillows had a black mark on it,
* Lack of space in the lounge for us to put our own items (art magazines seemed to cover all the tables, seats etc.)
* The steep, narrow and windy stair case inside the apartment (only an issue as we had to be extra careful carrying bub up and down)

The pluses:
* Definitely the location - easy walk to cafes, coles and the city (we were even able to put bub to sleep in the pram, and wheel her out to dinner and back)
* the included provisions (with the exception of the store bought cookies)
* the umbrella in the room for use if it rained (thought this was a nice touch)
* the laundry room (convenient for longer stays) and
* comfy beds!

I expected an amazing experience given the reviews I had read of Trip Advisor, and whilst the overall stay was very good, I was a bit disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in the terrace - its got a very narrow, windy, steep staircase that leads upstairs - so it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leefs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Everything about The Studio at TwoFourTwo was top quality although the aircon struggled on occasion to keep up with the exceptionally hot autumn weather. The location is excellent with a good choice of cafes and restaurants close by. The room was very well equipped and we enjoyed the included breakfast provisions.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john_ivycottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

a work colleague and I stayed at two four two for one night on a business trip. I have stayed at this wonderful boutique apartment four years ago and it is still the same classy, comfortable, well appointed accommodation that I experienced back then. We stayed in the Bakehouse as it has two bedrooms, this is a really excellent option for business travel as the cost is significantly less than two hotel rooms, plus you get a lounge area, every possible entretainment option you could wish for, a luxurious bathroom, gorgeous comfortable beds and breakfast provisions that are generous and delicious. The Bakehouse also has a delightful courtyard complete with a bbq. I can't fault two four two it is a gem

Room Tip: if you are travelling on business and need the two beds it is worth noting the second bedroom is up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GloriaSome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Our 2 week holiday to Tassie included a few nights in Launceston before doing the Bay of Fires walk. We booked into Number 10. Everything that you could want for was there. Magazines, fresh coffee, a breakfast hamper of fresh apple juice, eggs, bread, cereals. The location is great, only about 5 blocks from the centre of Launceston, cafes and restaurants very close by, a supermarket a block away. We loved the space in Number 10, so much better than a cramped hotel room. On our return from BoF we booked into the Studio. Again, very well equipped and beautifully presented.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SophieT16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.8 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
987 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
1,676 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.7 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#4 of 30 in Launceston
927 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#10 of 30 in Launceston
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Two Four Two Boutique Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two Four Two Boutique Apartments

Address: 242 Charles St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Launceston
Price Range: £131 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Two Four Two Boutique Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Visitor Location. Ultra chic, boutique, self-catering apartments. All apartments offer luxury king size beds, a DVD library, coffee machines, state of the art kitchens and high speed wi-fi.TWOFOURTWO Boutique Apartments are nestled in the heart of cosmopolitan Charles Street, with cafes, restaurants, a delicatessen, fresh fruit and vegetables, specialty Tasmanian butcher, supermarket and bottle shop all within a 2 minute walk from your accommodation. Cafe Mondello now graces the complex offering an all day breakfast menu. Yours to experience and enjoy! Rated 5 Stars on Google Reviews ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Two Four Two Boutique Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Two Four Two Boutique Apartments Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing