We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Want To LIVE Here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Two Four Two Boutique Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Kuching, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“I Want To LIVE Here!”
Reviewed 23 April 2010

TWOFOURTWO is a lovely apartment accommodation located almost in the centre of Launceston. Created by local designer Alan Livermore, he beautifully decked out the space with some of the most exquisite pieces of furniture made from Tasmanian wood - some of it built by himself. It's a small business run by a husband-and-wife team with only three units of apartments for hire. Two of them are 1-BR apartments and another is a 2-BR one.

Everything is kept extremely clean. It has everything from a mini kitchen with a coffee machine, an iPod dock, a library full of DVDs and CDs and the softest bed I have ever lied on. WiFi Internet and Guest Laundry is entirely free. Breakfast is included, but you have to wake up early and make them yourselves. No complaints - if hungry, there's always Elaia restaurant next door and a Burger With Soul restaurant just across the road.

I absolutely LOVE the bathrub with the jacuzzi and bath soaps with mint aroma.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kennysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    42
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
35
95
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2010

We stayed at “The Terrace” apartment for 2 nights in March and just loved it. This one bedroom apartment was modern, very well appointed, clean and comfortable. The hosts Katie & Alan really have thought of everything that would make their guests comfortable.

The 2-level apartment was connected by a spiral staircase. A large bedroom and a bathroom (shower/bath/spa) occupy the top floor. The king size bed was very comfortable with a pillow menu on offer. It was great to find lovely Tasmanian toiletries in the bathroom together with fluffy bathrobes. There is a small balcony with a comfy chair.

A well furnished lounge and beautifully equipped kitchen occupy the ground floor. A double door opened to the terrace which was furnished with an outdoor table/bench and a granite top BBQ. In the kitchen was a wine rack with half a dozen bottle of wine from local boutique wineries for guest consumption (on pay as you use basis). It was great to see local small producers being promoted. The included breakfast provision was generous and the King Island yogurt was heavenly!

The apartment is conveniently located in Charles Street, with several restaurants in the vicinity including a fantastic French bakery Tant pourTant serving excellent coffee and croissants (best in Australia, claimed a local).

We chose TwoFourTwo based on reviews on TA and so glad we did! It was the best place we’ve stayed during our 2 weeks driving tour of Tasmania. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmaker4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2010

I stayed at TwoFourTwo for three nights in early February in The Terrace. I booked based on the TripAdvisor reviews and absolutely loved this place - I wish I could have stayed longer.

The downstairs and the outdoor areas were great for lounging and I loved the bathroom with the jetted tub. The kitchen had all of the glassware, pots and pans,coffee maker, etc. that you could possibly need along with high quality breakfast ingredients.

The Terrace is the room with the spiral staircase as other reviews have noted. I had a large bag as I was on an extended trip and I simply left it downstairs as it would have been difficult to drag up the staircase. It made for a few extra trips up and down the stairs but was really no problem.

In addition to lots of restaurants in easy walking distance and a grocery store just a couple of blocks down the road, there is a great gourmet deli and shop just around the corner on Canning Street called Delicacy that sells wine, cheese, meats and all kinds of potential gift items - I wish I would have discovered it before my last day!

The only bit of a negative was a noisy Saturday night due to nearby bars but I think this was worsened by the fact that it was very hot when I was there so I had all of the doors and windows open which allowed more sound in. But that would not keep me from staying here again or highly recommending it to others.

Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank mkedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2010

Our original plan was to stay at Two Four Two only for 1 night as we arrived in Launceston late at night. We loved it so much we organised to stay again the night before flying out.
The owners are lovely and very friendly. They run the shop on the ground floor which had a great collection of wine and crafty things. They provided lots of helpful advice and were friendly to chat with without intruding.
This was the first night of our honeymoon and it was a great way to start our Tasmanian experience. We stayed in the 1 bedroom. The entrance stairs were challenging, but not a problem. The apartment itself was modern and really well layed out for the space with defined kitchen, lounge & bedroom areas. They had iPod docking station and a small selection of DVDs. The bedroom was spacious and the bed very comfy and clean. White sheets on the bed and white towels in the bathroom. The kitchen was fitted out perfectly with a breakfast basket, a selection of wines for purchase and a coffee machine. All pots & pans that would be needed.
The location is pretty good, although you would be a bit of a hike to the main mall. But there are shops just outside and a supermarket a block down. It's on a one way street which is a bit confusing to find if you arrive at night with no idea of Launceston, but well worth the adventure.
We honestly loved this place so much, we ended up buying the ottomans for our own home! Trust the website for this one. I will return and recommend it to all.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OutToDiscover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, WI
Level 6 Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2010

We had a wonderful stay in the Terrace at Two Four Two in Launceston. Every amenity was provided, including ingredients to cook your own breakfast (not something we find in the USA). It was like having your own apartment and all the extras were there to make your stay enjoyable, including robes, dvds, magazines, travel info, pillow choices etc. For some, the spiral staircase could be awkward to negotiate with luggage but we loved the two level unit. Also check out the restaurant next door....for lunch we had a wonderful chorizo and shrimp pizza that I am still trying to recreate at home. You'll love the neighborhood charm and the concentration of restaurants within walking distance.....best area we found in Launceston.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kabahr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2010

Two Four Two "saved" Launceston for us. Amazing apartment in a great location, more than enough in the way of provisions, in a stylish, comfortable home from home. Only criticisms - the spiral staircase is a bit challenging - I would imagine anyone with mobility issues would struggle and we felt the need to block the top of the stairs every night as they directly feed into the bedroom and we are both sleep walkers! I also found I had to spend a bit of time clearing away the numerous piles of magazines & nick nacks to make room for our travelling bits & bobs. I'm not a fan of clutter & felt it detracted from the style of the place. BUT, it was great to come home after a day of travel & walking and we loved our stay here - lovely bed, great towels & plenty of them. I also really appreciated the free laundry facilities. This place should be set up as an example to the rest of Launceston!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharkAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2009

We stayed in the bakehouse with 2 children for 2 nights. Breakfast and all the extra's priovided were amazing. A really great place to stay in Launceston which I would highly recommend it to everyone including families with young children.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Normals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.8 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
863 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#2 of 30 in Launceston
867 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
1,437 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
362 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Two Four Two Boutique Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two Four Two Boutique Apartments

Property: Two Four Two Boutique Apartments
Address: 242 Charles St., Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Two Four Two Boutique Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Visitor Location. Ultra chic, boutique, self-catering apartments. All apartments offer luxury king size beds, a DVD library, coffee machines, state of the art kitchens and high speed wi-fi.TWOFOURTWO Boutique Apartments are nestled in the heart of cosmopolitan Charles Street, with cafes, restaurants, a delicatessen, fresh fruit and vegetables, specialty Tasmanian butcher, supermarket and bottle shop all within a 2 minute walk from your accommodation. Cafe Mondello now graces the complex offering an all day breakfast menu. Yours to experience and enjoy! Rated 5 Stars on Google Reviews ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Two Four Two Boutique Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Two Four Two Boutique Apartments Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing