We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff& friendly atmosphere!”
Review of Batman Fawkner Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Batman Fawkner Inn
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely staff& friendly atmosphere!”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Beautiful historic building, friendly helpful staff. cleaned to 5star standards. Girl on reception very helpful and informative. We checked in at 11pm after hours and was greeted with a smile and felt welcome from the moment we walked in the doors. Will recommend!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashleigh b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    217
    105
    40
    46
See reviews for
79
170
111
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The Batman Fawkner Inn was a real dissapointment. The bed linen smelled musty and probably hadn't been laundered for ages. Ours also had chewing gum stuck to it. The rooms were hot and stuffy and the common kitchen area was stocked with rancid rotting food.
Moreover the booking confirmation on the website said check in was at 1:00 pm. We got there 10 mins ahead of time only to be told the check in was at 2:00 pm. We were made to wait till 2:00 pm despite having a print out of the booking confirmation!
The only advantage of staying at the Batman Fawkner Inn is it's central location to the Launceston CBD area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Archana718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Launceston hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Launceston And Tamar Valley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I was lucky I had a 2 share room by myself. For $30 it was fantastic.The room was neat, clean and the building is lovely with wooden polished floors. I love the economic value of the room and I would suggest anyone to stay there. I couldn't find the kitchen the next morning, even though I looked and looked so maybe a sign with an arrow would be good as there was no one to ask.Great stay for me.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Helpful?
1 Thank Mardy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I stayed in a room with an ensuite and while the furniture and fittings are dated, they are perfectly adequate for a 3 day stay to see Launceston and surrounds. The Inn is close to shops and restaurants but there is also a large kitchen and eating area with cooking facilities and cutlery/crockery if you wish to eat in and save some money. My room had a tv but otherwise there is a separate tv room. While there is no elevator, there is a luggage lift to take your bags upstairs, a laundry and an iron provided cheerfully when requested. I found it the perfect place to stay as there are shops/restaurants around the corner, the Transit Centre bus terminal nearby, 10 minute walk to the Art Gallery,15 min walk to Cataract Gorge (spectacular!) and my bus to Cradle Mountain collected me at the door. Good, cheap place to stay on a quiet street.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

great stay for a great price ,great free wifi , tv room , awesome kitchen and eating room ,lost of old history and charm very safe and clean . Free Parking at side rear of INN for guest and very close to everything, shops ,food eating etc etc .Thankyou Batman Inn.

Room Tip: great for pairs or couples in twin rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We had to leave urgently to return to Sydney due to bushfires. Was only there for 1 hour n they refused to refund.
Wld never recommend the place to anyone, no lifts n 3 flights of stairs.
On crutches n no offer of assistance.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula35678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

SERIOUSLY RENT THE SHEETS??? For 4$ each????
Or the hostel thinks the costumers are idiots or the owner is an idiot!
Of course I would need linen on my bed!!! More than ever if u show me a really dirty mattress and pillow!!!
The girl on the reception helpful like a ice machine in the South Pole, tell me that is for cleaning expensive ( they must have the most expensive wash machine ever!!!Or a laundry that wash a sheet a time??) and it is in the website!!Liar!!! It is not,why is not? Coz is stupid!! It's like I go to the restaurant and they make me pay an extra 2$ coz they need to wash the dishes and other 2$ for RENTING THE CUTLERY ???
Of course it is on the price!!! Or the 70$ I gave then is for the 1meter X 2 meter amazing room with not room for 2 people standing!! Should I pay more for the stains on the cousins and mattress the dust and the stunk??

But ohhh they offer free wifi!!!!!!

Give me the sheet and I'll pay my Internet If I need it... I think the linen are really more essential!!!

Do not stay here if you want to be asked a stupid question as DO YOU NEED LINEN ON YOUR BED!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bobbylee70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.2 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
502 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
0.7 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
366 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Batman Fawkner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Batman Fawkner Inn

Property: Batman Fawkner Inn
Address: 35-39 Cameron Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Batman Fawkner Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Batman Fawkner Inn is a place full of history. This lovely historical building was built back in 1824 and was where a meeting was held which resulted in the settlement of Melbourne. The Batman Fawkner Inn boasts a range of 40 rooms including Family, King, Queen, Double, Twin, and Backpacker all with private in-room bathrooms. All rooms (excluding backpacker) have in-room Reverse cycle Air Conditioners, Digital TV, Tea/Coffee Making Facilities & Fridges. Backpacker rooms have in-room heating, ensuites bathrooms and are bunk style accommodation. Situated in the centre of Launceston's CBD, we are only 5 minutes from City Park, 10 minutes to Cataract Gorge/Tamar River and close to shopping centre's and malls. We are also only 10 minutes walk from Aurora Stadium, Tasmania's home of AFL Football. The hotel has undergone extensive renovations in 2014 with some major upgrades and we are proud to announce that we are under new management as of November 2014. We offer free Wi-Fi internet (limits apply and additional can be purchase) in all areas of the hotel which includes in all rooms. On-Site Laundry Facilities are also available. We have a large Common Room/Lounge which has a kitchen (Oven, Stove, Microwave, Fridge & Preparation Area), lounge & wide-screen TV, 8-Ball table, large dining table and vending machines. Management and Staff look forward to having you stay next time you visit Launceston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Batman Fawkner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Batman Fawkner Inn Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing