We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good service, basic accommodation”
Review of Batman Fawkner Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Batman Fawkner Inn
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Reviewed 8 March 2011

Likes: I've stayed here a couple of times now, and it's reasonable value for the price paid ($85/night). Staff were very helpful. Location is great - near to bus transit station, shops and entertainment. Has a good range of facilities, and it's non-smoking.

Dislikes: Avoid Friday and Saturday nights as the late-night noise from the pub/nightclub, and the guests' common room, will disturb all but the hardiest sleeper. WiFi was patchy at best. The ceiling dripped water when it rained.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MagmaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (554)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

519 - 525 of 554 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2011

Friendly staff & wonderful rooms.
King size room really awesome!
Free WIFI too!

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaJa-BerSiong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2011

Amazing " Backpackers Hotel" in excellent location. Very affordable. Rooms with en-suites are excellent value for money. Tea/coffee making facilities, television and fridge in room. Extremely friendly and helpful managers. Nothing was too much trouble. A great place to stay in the centre of Launceston.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarrieJMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2011

We stayed at the BFI for two nights each either end of a bushwalking trip to the Walls of Jerusalem. Stefan and Andrea, the new managers welcomed us...two kids and a massive amount of gear, with a huge smiles and ready to help in whatever way they could. The accommodation at BFI is not luxurious but it is clean, comfortable and very functional for the type if trip we were doing. The kitchen and dining room were well equipped and made eating in a very viable option, although eating out in Launceston is fabulous! On our return from our walk, we had friends with us who had a dog and were heading for s camping ground. It was here that we found out that this family friendly, gay friendly hotel is also joyously dog friendly and has rooms with timber floors for dogs to accompany their owners. So our friends and their dog got to stay too. Bonus. Without being too gushy, the BFI is a great place to stay because you are made to feel so welcome. It is reflective of this beautiful city in general and leaves you wanting to stay longer. A hint for better sleep though is to bring ear plugs because the church bells chime and chime. If you do visit Launceston and you don't have a car, don't hesitate to give Terry at Northern Taxis a call. This wonderful man was the icing on the cake for us and as well as providing excellent service was full of really useful advice and information. Thank you Stefan, Andrea and Terry for helping making our holiday so memorable!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJLAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

great location - 5 mins walk from the city centre
staff very friendly and very helpful
hotel rooms are a bit old and dated but very clean
communal kitchen is very clean and has everything you need.
if you are after a bed and the convenience to prepare your own meals
this is the place.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank larascotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

We had such a horrible stay here I had to write about it. It seems contradictory to everything else written about this place I just don’t understand it. We arrived and were given keys to the wrong room despite booking in advance and confirming the week before. Instead of the confirmed private room we booked for 3 people we were put into a dorm room with 2 extra people we didn’t know. We went back downstairs to speak to the owners and were told there were no other spare private rooms. It was Christmas day. We complained some more and were then told there was a private room, but it had no sheets. We said we didn’t care as we had brought our own sheets and would take it. The front desk staff wanted to then charge us $100/ night for that room. They also patronised us about how much we were paying ($25 a night) saying what did we expect for that amount. We kept insisting we receive a private room, then the front desk lady said it was managements decision and out of her hands. So we insisted on speaking to management. She called her husband and he came down stairs, he was 'management'. We ended up getting the private room which was available the whole time and of course when we opened its door there were sheets on the bed so the front desk lady lied to us.

We were forced to move rooms the second night. The room was filthy, the shower was covered in pubic hair (walls and floor). The lady made us wait in the hallway first with our luggage while she 'cleaned' it. Cleaning - she didn’t change the beds - ran over the bathroom - but pubic hair was still everywhere so not really sure what she did.

Even now, we were put in this new room with a random man, despite insisting on our private room. When we complained again the front desk staff then removed his belongings while he was out and about and put them in another person’s room. He would have returned not knowing where his stuff was and still having the key to our room. He probably would have thought we stole his stuff, poor guy.

We never ended up getting what we originally booked and confirmed. This all added to our disappointment about our rooms only having half a curtain and being right across from a bell tower it’s hard to sleep through hourly chimes. The ‘bunks’ were single beds screwed one on top of the other to make a bunk bed, no ladder, not even screwed to the wall, so dangerous.

The place is cheap and well located but I think the change of management here has been for the worse. When we originally booked over the phone Andy sounded so lovely and friendly but he was nowhere to be seen. Needless to say we won’t be going back there.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karinarules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2010

Had a wonderful time over here, luckily my friend had booked for us to spend two nights here because it was really nice.

Andrea and Stefan were really nice as well and were always accommodating and genuinely wanted to know if our stay was good.

Also, they had a change in management so our booking got misplaced so they upgraded us to the hotel section of the inn. Everything is very clean, I can't think of any budget accommodation that's so clean considering the location was right in the city centre. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.2 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#4 of 30 in Launceston
519 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quest Launceston
Quest Launceston
#8 of 30 in Launceston
803 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.7 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Batman Fawkner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Batman Fawkner Inn

Address: 35-39 Cameron Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Launceston
Price Range: £39 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Batman Fawkner Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Batman Fawkner Inn is a place full of history. This lovely historical building was built back in 1824 and was where a meeting was held which resulted in the settlement of Melbourne. The Batman Fawkner Inn boasts a range of 40 rooms including Family, King, Queen, Double, Twin, and Backpacker all with private in-room bathrooms. All rooms (excluding backpacker) have in-room Reverse cycle Air Conditioners, Digital TV, Tea/Coffee Making Facilities & Fridges. Backpacker rooms have in-room heating, ensuites bathrooms and are bunk style accommodation. Situated in the centre of Launceston's CBD, we are only 5 minutes from City Park, 10 minutes to Cataract Gorge/Tamar River and close to shopping centre's and malls. We are also only 10 minutes walk from Aurora Stadium, Tasmania's home of AFL Football. The hotel has undergone extensive renovations in 2014 with some major upgrades and we are proud to announce that we are under new management as of November 2014. We offer free Wi-Fi internet (limits apply and additional can be purchase) in all areas of the hotel which includes in all rooms. On-Site Laundry Facilities are also available. We have a large Common Room/Lounge which has a kitchen (Oven, Stove, Microwave, Fridge & Preparation Area), lounge & wide-screen TV, 8-Ball table, large dining table and vending machines. Management and Staff look forward to having you stay next time you visit Launceston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Batman Fawkner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Batman Fawkner Inn Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing