We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation and hosts”
Review of Kilmarnock House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kilmarnock House
Ranked #18 of 31 Launceston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation and hosts”
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

This is a wonderful old house turned guest house, well appointed, preserved and presented. The hosts are beyond reproach and give wonderful service. Nothing is any trouble and our stay(s) ( for we returned for an extra day) was a highlight of our few days in Tasmania.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    19
    6
    6
    2
See reviews for
14
36
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

This is an excellent place to stay in Launceston - you are only 10 - 15 minutes walk from the centre where there are good shops and places to eat and drink. The rooms are traditional, clean and comfortable with some basic cooking facilities. Complimentary sherry and/or port is a nice touch. The owner was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarrieGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubbo, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Our family stayed at this beautiful B&B and absolutely loved it. Beautiful setting and great location within walking distance to the Park. The rooms re spacious and the decor within keeping of this beautiful old home.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellsie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This ws our second stay here, and it was just as nice as it was the first time. Every detail is thoughtfully presented and it feels like you are travelling back in time to a more elegant era. The whole house is absolutely beautiful, and in a great location. The only drawback is the small amount of parking.

Room Tip: Staircase is a bit narrow, so ground floor rooms have easier access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

A lovely Edwardian house turned into a bed&breakfast facility (breakfast is in the room). Poshly appointed. Extraordinarily clean and comfortable, with very nice bathroom. I give it 5 stars on an absolute scale with the caveat that it is rather expensive. During the Australian summer months of December through February, Launceston can be quite hot at times, and there is no air-con in Kilmarnock House, though our room had a fan. The house is lovely and imbued with Edwardian otherworldliness and a stay here is memorable if dear.

Rooms have a mini-fridge and nice HDTV.

I agree with other reviewers that the lady who runs the house does treat visitors like family.

My partner visited a lounge in the house for sherry and enjoyed it. The house is convenient to the centre of Launceston, and staying here is a good way to stage a visit to the Bridestowe Lavender Estate.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karmaswimswami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

When in Launceston we always stay at this wonderful B&B. Libby is always welcoming and makes us feel like family so much so that there are often tears when we have to leave.
The breakfast provided is something to look forward to and plentiful. There is a laundry if you need to do the dreaded holiday washing.
It is just a short walk to the centre of the city, the City Park, a shopping centre and bottle shop.
Parking is off street.
It truly is value for money and we look forward to returning again next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MR2TravelGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Stayed here before, on a number of occasions. The last couple, when we've booked, we've been instantly remembered, and always treated like "one of the family". Nothing is ever too much trouble for Libby. The rooms themselves (and over time I think I've been in all of them) are very comfortable, all of the little things that make a stay away from home special.

The location is very handy, easy walking distance to excellent restaurants, pubs and cafes - even a Coles that's open 18 hours every day if you want to go the self help option for a dinner.

Very reasonably priced accomodation - we've paid more and received less from other places. Whenever we head for Launceston, Kilmarnock is top of our list.

Room Tip: Staying solo, ask for Room 4, honeymooning go for Room 9 - as long as we'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
1.2 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
882 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#4 of 30 in Launceston
875 reviews
1.2 mi away
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilmarnock House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilmarnock House

Property: Kilmarnock House
Address: 66 Elphin Rd, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilmarnock House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kilmarnock House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilmarnock House Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing