We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Highbury Apartments
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Clean and convenient”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We found ourselves needing accommodation in Lonnie at fairly short notice, during what must have been a busy weekend, as there was not a lot on offer.
We didn't expect much from Highbury, which was one of the few places to have any rooms left at all. So we were pleasantly surprised to find it clean and convenient and quite reasonable.
It is an older building, but didn't feel neglected. Somebody has taken a lot of care with the garden.
We also found that the windows had been opened prior to our arrival, which meant our first impressions were of a fresh, light and airy place.
The wooden stairs and balcony left me feeling just a little shaky (I suspect they will ne re-doing in the not-too-distant future) but the views were amazing.
There is nothing flash about this place, but it was in a great location (close to the aquatic centre, parks and the CBD) and comes with free wi-fi and parking.
We have no complaints. The only reason it gets a score of 3/5 is so that we don't give people the impression that it offers anything fancy. If your expectation is something like a motel, but with less of a 'chain' feel to it and more character, then it would get 5/5.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M0dernDayExpl0rer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We booked 5 nights & stayed in cosy Apartment 5. A roomy 2 bedrooms complete with fully equipped kitchen & washing machine & drier in bathroom. With mornings around 1C the heating was good. We could open the curtains in the mornings to watch the fog roll down the Tamar - beautiful views! Kate the owner was very friendly & when we had a slight hiccup with the hot water service, it was quickly fixed. There were 3 of us traveling & this apartment could comfortably accommodate 4 if you didn't mind sharing the bathroom. I look forward to returning to Highbury & Launceston!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WinemakerGlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Stayed there for 2 nights. The apartment no 5 was roomy and comfortable. Kate made us feel very welcome and it has good veiws of launceston and is a quick walk to the city centre. The only issues we had was the wireless was erratic and had to move around to get connectivity. The TV was just OK with only standard channels. Overall it is a clean, comfortable well positioned apartment and would recommened.

Room Tip: upstairs rooms best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkymarkSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Spent four nights in Apartment 6 (upstairs with 2 double bedrooms) Was pleasantly surprised with the amenities and location. Only drawback was the heatwave in March, which the apartment does not cater for (no fans and very heavy bedding for 30 degree+ temperatures) Kate was very helpful during the booking process and organising key pickup.

Room Tip: Apartment 6 is fine if you are prepared for the quite steep stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We stayed in the downstairs 2 bedroom apartment for 1 week and we would happily stay there again.

The host (Kate) was friendly and very helpful with anything we needed from directions to extra bin liners. I was worried about being cold as it was July and I live in the subtropics. I'm happy to say the heating worked well (even with the 14ft ceilings!)

We liked having a small welcome kit for our first days breakfast.

The apartment was very clean and lacked nothing.

We did walk home from town once. It's not a long way but it is steep, and decided at the end of that walk that: a) we were not very fit, b) it would be way too cold to do it at night, c) we would be using the car from then on!

Thank you Kate for a very enjoyable stay

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happy_sigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Stayed in one of the upstairs apartments which is accessed via two flights of external stairs, but is worth it for the nice views over the city.
Very clean and cosy with all the usual appliances and kitchen utensils one would expect in a fully furnished apartment, including some unexpected bonuses such as electric heated blankets and WiFi.
Easy walking distance to restaurants (although walking back to the apartment after dinner wasn't so much fun as it's located on quite a steep hill).

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank hondo533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

This place is great. Could do with a lick of paint but if you want value for money, in a central location with views to die for then book in to the Highbury Apartments
97 Arthur Street, Launceston, Tasmania. We had apartment 6. Two bedrooms, open plan living and dining with a gorgeous deck with view across the city, down the river and on a clear day out towards the coast down the valley. The place is also full of character with some original fixings in place. To top it off, flat screen TV, washing machine and drier and a fully kitted out kitchen with china mugs. Nice one Highbury Apartments!

Room Tip: Apartment 6 - at the front with your own huge balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.5 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
1,377 reviews
0.7 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
846 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.6 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#3 of 30 in Launceston
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highbury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highbury Apartments

Property: Highbury Apartments
Address: 97 Arthur St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Highbury Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Highbury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highbury Apartments Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing