We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and helpful hosts”
Review of Hi George

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hi George
Ranked #6 of 31 Launceston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Friendly and helpful hosts”
Reviewed 27 September 2011

My Husband and I stayed here for two nights on our way to Cradle Mountain and then again on our way back. David and Fiona are wonderful hosts. David drove us to the bus station to catch an early bus the next day and they also took a Chinese guest staying there on a day trip to the lavender fields! They even made her scrambled eggs because she didn't like them fried. It was lovely to experience good old-fashioned hospitality and warmth that hotels and even most B and Bs lack.

The rooms were very clean and so were the bathrooms. As it was summer, we can't comment on some of the other reviews about cold rooms. Would definitely go back!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJacob255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    38
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
80
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

The room itself was wonderful - very big (including a queen size double bed), with a reasonable sized bathroom (shower cubicle, no bath). The room was cold, so the heater was turned on whenever we were there - unfortunately very drying to the air. The heat lamps in the bathroom were definitely welcomed though.

The staff, David and his wife, were friendly but struggled to leave us be while eating breakfast, they enjoy chatting. The food was plentiful and tasty - bacon, eggs, tomato, toast and cereal.

The location is ideal, just outside of the city centre and not up too big a hill. The room we were in (number 1) was at the front of the property on the road and unfortunately the traffic and rain noise was very audible. The street cleaners at 5am on Sunday weren't very nice!

Overall, a pleasant enough stay with a clean and spacious room, but the noise and chit-chat were difficult to overcome.

Room Tip: Away from the front road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shakey10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, WA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Friendly and helpful host. Room good and comfy with heating. Location is central. Walking distance to town center, restaurants, cafes shops etc.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DIG077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aus
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Comfortable. spacious rooms and a generous hearty breakfast hosted by experienced members ot the hospitality industry.
Very good value.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmsoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Only 5 minutes walk to the town centre, with plenty of safe off-street parking. Large cosy quiet rooms, ,and an excllent cooked breakfast sets you up for the day. David/George Lewis isa most welcoming host. Great value for the final leg of our Western Australia Triumph Sports Owners Association tour of Tasmania. Thank you.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms at the back of the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

We were very pleased with Hi George. The owners are a lovely couple who were willing to spend plenty of time chatting, providing local recommendations and driving directions. The rooms were nice, but not over-done. The bathroom looked brand new. The location was excellent- very central in Launceston. The breakfast was large and made to order. This is where we will stay the next time we are in Launceston.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelSimone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights whilst in Launceston for a wedding in March/April 2011.
The Hi George is in a fantastic location - a very easy walk to just about anywhere in town.

The rooms were great - big and well maintained. I'd have loved a work table to sit at, but that wasn't a worry at all really.

The team at the Hi George are absolutely fantastic - really nice, friendly, and were very quick with advice on what to do, where to go. And they make a great breakfast too! Also the atmosphere at breakfast was quite nice - with everyone sitting at the one big table - a nice welcoming touch from the impersonality of hotel breakfasts.

The only minor concern for me was outside the Hi George's control - the bogans driving around in their turbo's. Nothing that couldn't be solved by a pair of earplugs though!

I really enjoyed my stay at the Hi George - I'd absolutely recommend it to any traveler looking for a place to stay in Launceston, and would most definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for one that doesn't back onto the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonny_Jager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.0 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#5 of 30 in Launceston
502 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quest Launceston
Quest Launceston
#8 of 30 in Launceston
780 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
0.5 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hi George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hi George

Property: Hi George
Address: 64 York St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hi George 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hi George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi George Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing