We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit too hospitable!”
Review of Hi George

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hi George
Ranked #6 of 31 Launceston B&B and Inns
Burnie, Australia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A bit too hospitable!”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Hi George is a small well located B and B. The rooms are spacious and clean and the bathroom is really nice too.
Breakfasts are at a shared table where you order what you want and it's cooked just for you. Very nice!
The only thing is that the hosts are just a bit too friendly, wanting to join in with the guests' conversations. As someone who lives alone I prefer a quieter start to the day.

Room Tip: If its a bit warm ask for a room with a window to the outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tassylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    37
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
77
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2014

my husband and I arrived on 19th December 2013 on our first trip to Tasmania.we were so glad that we had booked into Hi George for our 4 night stay in Launceston.David and Fiona are perfect for hospitality,the breakfast each morning was second to none cooked by lovely Fiona who has the warmest laugh,just had to hug her when we were leaving :) you don't need google when you are there as David is so knowledgeable and informative,he will help out with any questions on Tasmania you have,he is a very interesting man.it was a perfect location for all we wanted to see and sooo good having a very comfy bed to come back to after all our walking.loved how every thing was kept spotless.great team there.i hope we can get back in the not too distant future for another warm stay.

Room Tip: if you have an issue with stairs,ask for a room downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hervey bay
Level Contributor
179 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Very comfortable B & B run by a delightful "older couple". Would definitely stay again, Bedroom, small sitting room plus good sized bathroom. Owners - please leave a little space for guests to put out their things. The cupboards were filled with spare linen -also very little room for laptop and associated camera gear, There were steep stairs at the back of the rooms to the car park and on arrival the owner very obligingly suggested we bring our gear in at street level. Excellent suggestion.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebonygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed for one night on the way through Launceston. The owners are very friendly, and have worked in the B&B industry for many years. The rooms appears to be very new inside, and the sheets were very comfortable. This place is one of the reasons why we are now B&B converts.

They have a beloved Dachshund pet called Miss Poppy, who is almost one of the family.

The city is just a short walk down the hill, and there is also free parking at the rear of the property.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happy_trav7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawley Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Hi George is a welcoming and friendly retreat in Central Launceston. David and Fiona are a low key fair dinkum couple who treat you as though you are family. Loved the communal breakfast table where we sat for an hour and talked to 3 other couples about what they were doing in Tasmania.
Breakfast was individually cooked and was simple but well done. The rooms are comfortable and exuded quality ..... an old home that has been tastefully converted. The bed was great as was the ensuite.
Even had a yarn to the house maid (I think!!), and she obviously was proud of what she did and showed great allegiance to the place.
We will be back!!!;

Room Tip: We saw two rooms .....both were different but had their own qualities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Lovely B and B, hosts David and Fiona made us very welcome. En suite bedrooms comfy and well equipped and clean. Yummy breakfast freshly cooked and served around a communal table that encourages chatting to fellow guests. Free car parking at rear of Hi George. Free use of laundry - useful when touring. Close to the centre of beautiful Launceston and walkable to the gorge and cataract. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Road noise at front but not too bad at night. Bring luggage through front for rooms 1-4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pomsonwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

This was a great little find, old worldly, not much to look at on the outside, but the rooms and bathrooms were beautifully renovated and bathrooms were modern. We had everything we needed in the rooms and the hosts were adorable!

The location is great, you can walk to everything and its close to restaurants and pubs too. I even took a walk to Cataract Gorge.

I have to say, the breakfast was amazing and nothing was any trouble, the hosts were lovely, helpful and very knowledgeable.

I would definitely recommend staying as a couple or a family.

Room Tip: All rooms were similar from what we saw
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.0 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Launceston
0.2 mi away
Batman Fawkner Inn
Batman Fawkner Inn
#20 of 30 in Launceston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
0.5 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hi George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hi George

Property: Hi George
Address: 64 York St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hi George 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hi George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi George Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing