We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, modern and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra Charles Hotel
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Convenient location, modern and clean”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed 2 nights here on holiday. King room is compact with no balcony but loved the modern furnishings, spotlessly clean. Initially concerned there may be noise problem because our room was on level 1 overlooking the car park but no issue here. Our air con was very noisy though and the client service manager promptly inspected when we called. He called technician who could come the next day. In the meantime he offered to give us credit for full breakfast during our stay. We cooled our room whilst out for dinner and managed to sleep comfortably without AC. Appreciated gesture of free breakfast very much. Would stay here again and request a room on a higher floor for better outlook and balcony for fresh air.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chlotoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    755
    550
    127
    30
    14
See reviews for
225
620
81
387
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on a recent trip to Tasmania. After staying at the Hotel Charles' sister property in Hobart, the Hotel Collins, we had high hopes for the Charles in Launceston. It's a fairly new hotel, lovely from the outside. Staff are friendly and check in was quick. Rooms are nicely decorated and clean - apart from the enormous orange chair - way too big for the room! Now the negatives: 1) bad key cards - key card had to be replaced every day on our stay. 2) Noise levels - our room was on the second floor, close to the elevators. The hallways are quite large, so noise echoes through to the rooms. You could also hear noise from the car park. I'd suggest requesting a room on levels 4 or 5, and far away from the elevators. 3) Really uncomfortable beds. I don't usually complain about the bed in hotels, but I found this one to be exceptionally bad. 4) The hotel advertises free wi-fi. The free wi-fi signal was so bad, I was not able to use this throughout our stay.
Now for the positives: 1) We ordered room service one evening. Club sandwich and lamb burger was delicious and the service was very quick. 2) As mentioned, the decor is nice (the orange chair is just not practical!) and the service is friendly. 3) The hotel offers free parking, which is always a bonus.
Overall, an okay stay. Not sure if I"ll give this hotel another go - I might book here again if the price is right.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Trippin007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We were very happy with our stay, the rooms are new and quite. Breakfast cost us $37 for two people which I thought was cheap for the volume of food. If I was to visit again I would stay here with no hesitation.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Heath B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This was a lovely introduction to Launceston! The hotel was once a hospital but it has been excellently refurbished. There are a couple of giveaways of the former use - the foyers outside each bedroom and the sometimes awkward room configuration. But the decor is fantastic. Great storage space, excellent kitchen area, very nice bathroom (although unfortunately no bath), comfy bed. There is also a balcony but it's a bit difficult to get to with a reading chair placed in front of the door. The chair is very nice but the room isn't quite configured correctly to accommodate it.

We had no problems at all with parking (open air carpark) and found the location to be absolutely excellent. Supermarket just a few minutes down the street, and wonderful cafes just a stone's throw away. Charles St is a great part of Launceston.

Service was good. Nice little touches like an apple bowl was good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerKRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel is new (it's actually the old hospital but has been completely renovated so you wouldn't know). The rooms are nice, everything is modern and clean and it is a pretty good location on Charles St at one end of the cafe strip. The staff are all very friendly and overall I really like this hotel. One criticisms, the food from the hotel restaurant is pretty ordinary.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dr8k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself was nice, clean and comfortable but we ordered room service and were severely disappointed. We ordered dinner which cost $40 per main plus sides and wine and when it arrived we were shocked at the tiny portions. It tasted ok but the meals were so tiny that we were still hungry afterwards (we are both thin, normal eaters). Hotel is ok but do not bother to eat here because you will go hungry! Originally we were going to eat at the restaurant downstairs but they were full so we had to order room service. you would expect that it would be cheaper as they are not serving you al la carte but the room service menu was exactly the same price as the restaurant which seems unreasonable considering you are not receiving the same service.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank chiko85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Whilst the hospital origins of this hotel are apparent in the accommodation section, the contemporary decor, comfortable quality furnishings, excellent floor plan and spacious rooms make Hotel Charles an excellent place to stay.
We requested and received a quiet room(room 216) and thoroughly enjoyed our three night stay.
The hotel is well located on the CBD fringe, close to restaurants and provides ample on-site parking. Staff, particularly housekeeping, are attentive and obliging.
The only minor criticism was that hot breakfast and beverage service was rather slow on two or our three mornings in the dining room. A self serve beverage facility would partly over come this matter

Room Tip: Our room at the back (away from adjacent streets) was quiet and avoided any traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
1.1 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
880 reviews
1.0 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.9 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#2 of 30 in Launceston
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
3.3 mi away
Country Club Tasmania
Country Club Tasmania
#7 of 30 in Launceston
736 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Charles Hotel

Property: Mantra Charles Hotel
Address: 287 Charles St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Launceston
#2 Family Hotel in Launceston
#2 Business Hotel in Launceston
#4 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Charles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests staying at Mantra Charles Hotel can expect an unforgettable time at their Launceston accommodation when visiting the food and wine region of Tasmania. Situated on the cosmopolitan Charles Street offering a choice of several modern room types, Mantra Charles Hotel is a great option for your next trip to Tasmania. Its art deco architecture is characterised by curved windows and a white exterior, aiding in its charm and making it one of Launceston's most popular hotels. Within Mantra Charles Hotel guests will find Restaurant Esca where they can enjoy local Tasmanian cuisine. There are lounges to relax in, meeting and conference rooms available and wireless internet (WiFi) (fee) throughout the hotel. Guests arriving at this hotel in Launceston by private vehicle will find plenty of onsite parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Charles Hotel Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing