We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classy contemporary hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mantra Charles Hotel
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Penola, SA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Classy contemporary hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed in a deluxe one bedroom apartment with was spacious, clean and very modern. The spa in the window sill was very cool. Plenty of room, huge and comfortable bed, well equipped (apart from a few minor things- see suggestions) and friendly and prompt staff. The way the ruins of the hospital have been turned into a top hotel is remarkable. Highly recommend.
I do have a few suggestions/ slight whinges. We had a self contained apartment with cooking facilities yet the fridge was tiny and hovered at about 6-8C. The freezer didn't even freeze water. If you are going to have an apartment, least make the refrigeration (food safety??) workable!! The internet speed is slow, just workable. Had to reprogram room keys twice- a little annoying when we were the furthest room down the long corridor!
Minor things, otherwise a great place at a very reasonable rate-,even the minibar prices were very reasonable!

Room Tip: Probably the higher the better-we were first floor and a very romantic view of the car park!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pharmer75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    632
    472
    106
    26
    14
See reviews for
182
548
61
313
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

We recently stayed at Hotel Charles - we have very high expectations when it comes to hotels and this certainly delivered. Well appointed rooms, spotless, quiet and friendly staff. We stayed in an adjoining room and it still afforded privacy. Hotel Charles has a great location, close to nice little restaurants and a reasonable, but not too far walk into the city centre.We really enjoyed our stay here, definitely recommended and value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Erica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest of Dean
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

This is the most disappointing and critical Review I have written.
Maybe partly my fault as seeing the picture of the building with its panoramic glass panels I assumed that it gave a taste of what to expect. OK every hotel has a back as well as a front.
Problem 1. We had a suite on the first floor overlooking the delivery entrance and two 2 foot diameter extraction pipes for the fumes from the kitchen!
Problem 2. As we had pre-booked for 2 nights on querying this outlook with the duty manager he did not even give us the option of leaving it. Although reception staff had some politeness there was a most dismissive attitude by the senior man on duty.
Problem 3 . I learnt from some staff that the as the building has been converted from a hospital many (most?) of the panoramic front looking rooms are let out to other other organisations and I could not book one if I tried.
Problem 4. On checking out I was waiting to see if the hotel would offer some concession on this premium wrongly priced suite. None was forthcoming so I made a point blank request. The answer was " we telephoned your room yesterday afternoon to offer you a smaller room on the front" - as tourists we were out but no message was left or contact when we came in.
I asked to speak to the Manager and how to make a formal complaint and was given an a general "info@" email address.

Good point was that the rooms were spacious, very clean and well equipped. General staff were cheerful and friendly.
I would not not recommend this hotel to anyone - if you have to stay here avoid suite 113 or maybe it was 123

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank wyedean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed in Hotel Charles recently for three nights on our trip around Tasmania. This was my favourite hotel, friendly staff, free parking, nice breakfast, good value, clean, modern and included free wi-fi which all hotels should do in this day and age but unfortunately many don't, this sealed the deal for me. Special thank you to the lovely man on reception who came to our room when we had a query about the TV. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our few days spent at the Charles. We found the staff to be very efficient and helpful both during check-in and check-out and when we had questions and required assistance during our stay.
The rooms are well sized, with a large wardrobe/shelving, small kitchenette (fridge, kettle, hot-plates) and a large and comfy bed. There is an electric alarm clock which doubles as an iPod doc and a safe big enough for a small laptop and travel papers. The bathroom is also large with walk-in shower, basin and toilet.
A small complaint about the room is the noise. The fridge is very noisy and generates a lot of heat - the heat sets the air-conditioning off - and that too is noisy - this needs a little attention as it is not conducive to a good night's sleep which is a pity given the quality of the bedding, pillows, etc.
We eat both breakfast and dinner in the restaurant and found both to be excellent. There is a good choice of fruit, yogurts and breads at breakfast as well as all the cooked items - if you can get the $20 deal for breakfast that will save $5 per person on the bill! Dinner also has a good range of meals and it is worth asking about the $28 special which comes with a glass of house red or white. My only complaint about dinner is that they seem to book based on seating capacity rather than the capacity of the kitchen to produce meals so if the restaurant is busy it can be a wait for food - the trick is to order the soda bread - which is excellent - and makes the wait for the main seem to slip by.
The location of the hotel is excellent - its 5 - 15 minutes walk to cafes and shops and about 30 to the starting point of the river cruises.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yhi904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zeehan, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

It is a rare pleasure nowadays to enter a hotel at this tariff level and be immediately struck by the spaciousness, the cleanliness, and the quality of the fittings. The rooms are generously sized, with high ceilings ...... the hotel cleverly capitalises on it's refurbishment program by, for example, promoting their premium mattresses in the guest literature. Soft furnishings, tapware, cabinetry, door fittings, kitchen appliances, ...... all are of a high standard. Guest service is impeccable. Their restaurant seems to be the only weak link .... the breakfast menu could do with some inspiration, and although the other menus are of interest, the dining facility seems to lack profile; ......some signage would be a start, with better promotion of afternoon coffees, and meal specials perhaps. The Hotel is nicely placed for quick access to the Tamar , Midlands or the north coast regions, and is close to a range of city attractions. Overall, a very comfortable tourist base .......

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnAshford255367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed 2 nights here on holiday. King room is compact with no balcony but loved the modern furnishings, spotlessly clean. Initially concerned there may be noise problem because our room was on level 1 overlooking the car park but no issue here. Our air con was very noisy though and the client service manager promptly inspected when we called. He called technician who could come the next day. In the meantime he offered to give us credit for full breakfast during our stay. We cooled our room whilst out for dinner and managed to sleep comfortably without AC. Appreciated gesture of free breakfast very much. Would stay here again and request a room on a higher floor for better outlook and balcony for fresh air.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chlotoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
1.0 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
1.0 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#3 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
2.8 mi away
Country Club Tasmania
Country Club Tasmania
#5 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
0.6 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Charles Hotel

Property: Mantra Charles Hotel
Address: 287 Charles St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Launceston
#2 Business Hotel in Launceston
#2 Family Hotel in Launceston
#4 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Charles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests staying at Mantra Charles Hotel can expect an unforgettable time at their Launceston accommodation when visiting the food and wine region of Tasmania. Situated on the cosmopolitan Charles Street offering a choice of several modern room types, Mantra Charles Hotel is a great option for your next trip to Tasmania. Its art deco architecture is characterised by curved windows and a white exterior, aiding in its charm and making it one of Launceston's most popular hotels. Within Mantra Charles Hotel guests will find Restaurant Esca where they can enjoy local Tasmanian cuisine. There are lounges to relax in, meeting and conference rooms available and wireless internet (WiFi) (fee) throughout the hotel. Guests arriving at this hotel in Launceston by private vehicle will find plenty of onsite parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Mantra Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Charles Hotel Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing