We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, well appointed accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra Charles Hotel
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed for two nights on our driving holiday around Tasmania. We had two adjoining rooms for the whole family. Comfortable rooms, helpful and friendly staff and all we needed to self cater breakfast and lunch in the kitchenette. The hotel was previously a hospital and it shows to some extent in the layout of the rooms and the building generally, but not in a way that detracts from the experience. It's not in the centre of town, but fairly easy walking distance to the shops and waterfront.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,634)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,227 - 1,233 of 1,634 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights for a wedding. Rooms were spacious and everything provided for. Bed great - nearly better than my bed at home. Bedside clock with ipod dock excellent. Shower was great - didn't have to run around in the shower to get wet. Nice and quiet rooms. Walking distance to shops etc. Recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimiItalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Beautiful rooms, enormous bathrooms, very clean, comfortable and quiet. Hotel staff very professional, friendly and helpful, nice restaurant with good food, onsite beauty salon. Good location, short walk to central shops. Loved our stay!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeaHMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night for our 5th wedding anniversary, and wherever you impressed! We stayed in a spa suite and it was immaculate. Tastefully decorated, with a 2 person spa in the window overlooking launceston. Just beautiful! Reception staff were also lovely. I would not hesitate to stay here again!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank fuzz_buzz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed in a deluxe one bedroom apartment with was spacious, clean and very modern. The spa in the window sill was very cool. Plenty of room, huge and comfortable bed, well equipped (apart from a few minor things- see suggestions) and friendly and prompt staff. The way the ruins of the hospital have been turned into a top hotel is remarkable. Highly recommend.
I do have a few suggestions/ slight whinges. We had a self contained apartment with cooking facilities yet the fridge was tiny and hovered at about 6-8C. The freezer didn't even freeze water. If you are going to have an apartment, least make the refrigeration (food safety??) workable!! The internet speed is slow, just workable. Had to reprogram room keys twice- a little annoying when we were the furthest room down the long corridor!
Minor things, otherwise a great place at a very reasonable rate-,even the minibar prices were very reasonable!

Room Tip: Probably the higher the better-we were first floor and a very romantic view of the car park!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pharmer75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We recently stayed at Hotel Charles - we have very high expectations when it comes to hotels and this certainly delivered. Well appointed rooms, spotless, quiet and friendly staff. We stayed in an adjoining room and it still afforded privacy. Hotel Charles has a great location, close to nice little restaurants and a reasonable, but not too far walk into the city centre.We really enjoyed our stay here, definitely recommended and value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Erica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This is the most disappointing and critical Review I have written.
Maybe partly my fault as seeing the picture of the building with its panoramic glass panels I assumed that it gave a taste of what to expect. OK every hotel has a back as well as a front.
Problem 1. We had a suite on the first floor overlooking the delivery entrance and two 2 foot diameter extraction pipes for the fumes from the kitchen!
Problem 2. As we had pre-booked for 2 nights on querying this outlook with the duty manager he did not even give us the option of leaving it. Although reception staff had some politeness there was a most dismissive attitude by the senior man on duty.
Problem 3 . I learnt from some staff that the as the building has been converted from a hospital many (most?) of the panoramic front looking rooms are let out to other other organisations and I could not book one if I tried.
Problem 4. On checking out I was waiting to see if the hotel would offer some concession on this premium wrongly priced suite. None was forthcoming so I made a point blank request. The answer was " we telephoned your room yesterday afternoon to offer you a smaller room on the front" - as tourists we were out but no message was left or contact when we came in.
I asked to speak to the Manager and how to make a formal complaint and was given an a general "info@" email address.

Good point was that the rooms were spacious, very clean and well equipped. General staff were cheerful and friendly.
I would not not recommend this hotel to anyone - if you have to stay here avoid suite 113 or maybe it was 123

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank wyedean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
1.1 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
962 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#4 of 30 in Launceston
906 reviews
1 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.8 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
3.3 mi away
Country Club Tasmania
Country Club Tasmania
#3 of 30 in Launceston
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Charles Hotel

Address: 287 Charles St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Launceston
#2 Family Hotel in Launceston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
#2 Business Hotel in Launceston
Price Range: £88 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Charles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests staying at Mantra Charles Hotel can expect an unforgettable time at their Launceston accommodation when visiting the food and wine region of Tasmania. Situated on the cosmopolitan Charles Street offering a choice of several modern room types, Mantra Charles Hotel is a great option for your next trip to Tasmania. Its art deco architecture is characterised by curved windows and a white exterior, aiding in its charm and making it one of Launceston's most popular hotels. Within Mantra Charles Hotel guests will find Restaurant Esca where they can enjoy local Tasmanian cuisine. There are lounges to relax in, meeting and conference rooms available and wireless internet (WiFi) (fee) throughout the hotel. Guests arriving at this hotel in Launceston by private vehicle will find plenty of onsite parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Charles Hotel Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing