We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Charles Hotel
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2014

New,modern hotel.Room is spacious with an extra comfy bed and the bathroom is huge.Just a short walk down to city centre,liked that because you are that little bit away from the city traffic.Royal Park was a great park to walk around with some good cafes.Cataract Gorge is must and not far away as is the Tamar Valley Wineries.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,683)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,255 - 1,261 of 1,684 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2014

We had one problem when we arrived into our room - the carpet clearly hadn't been vacuumed in ages and a very full rubbish bin had not been emptied. We addressed this with reception, and Rebecca handled our concerns with grace and professionalism. The Charles has no housekeeping staff on a Saturday afternoon (huh?), so after Rebecca inspected the room, she herself agreed, was most apologetic, and emptied the bin and vacuumed the carpet. We felt a bit bad - not her fault, but it had to be done. It is disappointing when hotels of this calibre are not on top of cleanliness issues such as this. The room was otherwise seemingly clean and pleasant, large and bright with a small kitchenette, very handy for longer stays. Loved the window blinds. But only one bedside table and lamp. Something we notice a lot lately. Comfy bed and nice linen. No street noise.

We liked it here even if a bit clinical, like the hospital next door. We walked into town - there are many lovely old buildings down Charles street to admire. We were supplied with a map and a great list of nearby restaurants. Coffee at Charles was good and the included breakfast the best we had in our short week in Tassie. A lovely array of slightly different offerings on the continental buffet (like poached rhubarb - yum) and a hot breakfast taken to order which is so much better than breakfast offerings that lie about getting soggy, rubbery or cold. Staff all friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyTravelsQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Staff were all great, so friendly and helpful, and the room fittings were high quality. Quietest most effective air conditioning I have ever found. Location good - just a 15 mins walk to centre of town. Great food from room service.
But, it feels rather austere - I know that it is supposed to have a minimal feel - it needs someone to spend a night in a room (Spa Suite in our case) to see what needs adding. Some examples - bathroom - no shower gel (bar of soap), one hand towel for 2, a bath mat (needs a small mat to make it feel less clinical - you can overdo the tiles!), one light switch that illuminates whole bathroom in clinical lighting and switches on a noisy fan (so if one of you gets up at night to use the loo - even with the glass door closed the light and noise will wake up your partner.
Major lack of charging points - in lounge one double outlet to run kettle/coffee/toaster. One socket for TV. So with 2 laptops and 2 phones and a camera battery carefully plugging and unplugging, and crawling around needed.
The windows have blinds that require arm extensions to operate the controls (and I am tall with long arms) and do not blackout the sun in early morning.
Great leather sofa - but needs some cushions to make it feel a little homely. It has loads of space and quality fittings - and maybe it's the very high ceilings and the view over the entrance to the local A & E entrance but something just doesn't feel right and with not a lot of effort could easily be addressed.
Despite room for improvement it is well placed for a stay in town and to visit the local area, would recommend.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank PDW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

From the time you enter The Hotel Charles, you feel welcomed and appreciated as a guest - no 'toffy airs and graces" here. Booked over the internet, my only concern was an earlier review, which complained of paper thin walls and excessive corridor noise. My husband and I found quite the reverse. Whisper quiet is how we would describe any noise; double glazed windows and recessed doorways, ensure absolute peace and tranquility.
Andrew at reception could not have been more helpful upon arrival with suggestions for places to visit and directions on how to get there. Amy the following morning was also terriffic assisting with reservations for our wedding anniversary and graciously arranging a room upgrade so that my husband could have a massage in our room.
All room appointments are modern and immaculately presented; the executive rooms are extremely spacoius with an excellent kitchenette but the Hotel King rooms are also comfortable with large bathrooms
All in all, a wonderful experience. We would definitely recommend the Hotel Charles - not only for the quality of the accommodation offered but more importantly, for the wonderful manner of all staff associated with the front desk. Well done!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maz444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprise with the space of the King Room that comes with a kitchenette and spacious bathroom. As there was a kitchenette, we bought really fresh local produce and cooked in our room on our 2nd night. The view was great too on the 3rd floor and round the corner there's coffee places where we can grab a quick breakfast or snacks. Centrally located in Launceston city too. For the price we paid, the room was a good deal!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank YannYng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Charles for a couple of nights during our Tassie Getaway. Rooms are immaculately clean and have a great homely feel to them. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment and it was MASSIVE! Bed was super comfortable, shower had great pressure and the kitchenette was fully stocked with everything you could possibly need. Staff were freindly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

I remember the Hotel Charles as the old Launceston General Hospital, so was curious to see what reminders were left in the new hotel. There is virtually nothing and the colour scheme and overall look is very modern. Parking could become tricky when the hotel is full but we did not have an issue. The rooms are the ex wards but again the look is extremely up to date. The inhouse restaurant has a cosy vibe, and the food is absolutely delicious - especially the desserts. Breakfast can be ordered to the room or can be eaten in the restaurant - there is the option of continental or hot cooked. Short stroll to the city but the walk back up Charles can be a little tiring. This hotel comes highly recommended and we would love to stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mi55y66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
1.1 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
989 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#4 of 30 in Launceston
930 reviews
1 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
3.3 mi away
Country Club Tasmania
Country Club Tasmania
#3 of 30 in Launceston
845 reviews
0.7 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#5 of 30 in Launceston
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Charles Hotel

Address: 287 Charles St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Launceston
#2 Business Hotel in Launceston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
#2 Family Hotel in Launceston
Price Range: £85 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Charles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests staying at Mantra Charles Hotel can expect an unforgettable time at their Launceston accommodation when visiting the food and wine region of Tasmania. Situated on the cosmopolitan Charles Street offering a choice of several modern room types, Mantra Charles Hotel is a great option for your next trip to Tasmania. Its art deco architecture is characterised by curved windows and a white exterior, aiding in its charm and making it one of Launceston's most popular hotels. Within Mantra Charles Hotel guests will find Restaurant Esca where they can enjoy local Tasmanian cuisine. There are lounges to relax in, meeting and conference rooms available and wireless internet (WiFi) (fee) throughout the hotel. Guests arriving at this hotel in Launceston by private vehicle will find plenty of onsite parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Charles Hotel Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing