We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart, Sophisticated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra Charles Hotel
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I've always experienced excellent meals and service at the restaurant in the Hotel Charles which is in the café district Charles Street in Launceston. Professional service is offered at all times. The atmosphere is smart, relaxing and sophisticated but certainly not stuffy.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Matthews T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,578)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,142 - 1,148 of 1,578 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

The food here is so ordinary, I actually skipped the breakfast and went down the road and got my own. Possibly worst I've eaten in a long time.

Came for the footy, thought I'd look for a nice new place to rent for a few nights - hotel interior is nice, although you need to take your own bags up to your room. The TV's are old and crackle.

Checked out and I paid for my room, friend paid for his - an extra $200 charged to my CC, without a phone call, email or any permission! When I called and asked to have them explain this charge I was told basically they can do this even though it was their mistake. The front office manager Cheryl went on to basically scream at me over the phone, not taking any responsibility - lying that they had called me and didn't have the numbers of other parties which she later admitted to having.

Terrible experience for what was quite a nice place initially, i'll be going back to where we used to stay next time.

Also beware the places listed on their website to go eat at are owned by the owner of the Hotel ie. Josef Chromy wineries and other place. They don't tell you this and was also very dissapointing.

Let's hope your staff learn more how to treat customers, communications isn't the strongest point of this hotel.

Was a real Faulty Towers Experience being abused by management for their errors.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobbieTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Hotel Charles lived up to the reviews on internet accommodation sites. 10-15 walk to Launceston town centre so it is close to shopping, restaurants, etc

A lovely big king bed with a large flat TV. The toilet/shower area was immaculately clean as was the remainder of the unit.

Reception check in/check out was slick and professional. Had one dinner at the in-house restaurant which was really excellent meal and the service by a trio of pleasant, happy ladies was first class.

The funky curtain system and haphazard parking are small minuses.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We had an excellent stay in an executive studio room which is well worth the extra as the space is larger than standard. It was clean and fresh with loads of storage space.

The parking to the hotel is rather confusing as a number of bays are allocated to others so beware.

The hotel is located a fair walking distance from the centre of town as it is uphill but we still walked to Cataract Gorge without using the car (approx. 45 mins to reach).

We were expecting slow service for dinner after reading some other reviews but was found to be OK. The staff were friendly. Breakfast was very good and you could order a cooked breakfast or just continental. The continental was better value at half price as we found the cooked breakfast was extremely greasy.

We found this was the only hotel in Tasmania where the room had a safe.

Room Tip: Executive studios are great for the added space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RowePCCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Only spent a night in Launceston & stayed at this hotel. Its contemporary design is refreshing. the corridor was spacious,the room is small (the bathroom was roomy, with a tiny shower cubicle - the available space not well utilized). breakfast is served in a small restaurant next to reception area - very busy in the morning..might have to wait for an empty table. cereals & fruits are served buffet style, so one can help themselves..however, we need to order the breakfast set (a huge portion - shared by 3 of us) & it took some time to prepare.
overall it was a nice stay for one night

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soochin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed for a concert a few weekends ago, the room was spacious, stylish and well appointed. The staff were very accommodating and friendly. Our breakfast the following morning was fantastic, great array of cold breakfast items and the hot breakfast place was delicious. Its a must-stay place in Launceston.

Room Tip: I saw the inside of 4 different rooms.....all exceptional
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Around 3 years old, so still has that freshness about it. Rooms still new looking, clean, furnished in a modern decor. We booked an Exec Studio which for 2 people had loads of space, almost studio apartment standard, with kitchenette and bathroom where you could actually swing a cat! You'd have to be a nark to find much wrong, even for a longer stay than our 4 nights. Didn't much use the hotel facilities but we found Reception and Housekeeping staff friendly and competent. Parking in the grounds can get tight, but seems to work itself out. This is Launceston, not London, and the Charles gets it right for a comfortable stay in a nice location on the fringe,a 10 minute walk to the hub of things. When you arrive give Robyn a call at 1842 Gallery and do a guided walk and get the low down on Launceston.

Room Tip: Stayed on Level 3, was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BDJ750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
1.1 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
930 reviews
1.0 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#3 of 30 in Launceston
897 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
3.3 mi away
Country Club Tasmania
Country Club Tasmania
#7 of 30 in Launceston
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Charles Hotel

Address: 287 Charles St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Launceston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
#2 Business Hotel in Launceston
#2 Family Hotel in Launceston
Price Range: £86 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Charles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests staying at Mantra Charles Hotel can expect an unforgettable time at their Launceston accommodation when visiting the food and wine region of Tasmania. Situated on the cosmopolitan Charles Street offering a choice of several modern room types, Mantra Charles Hotel is a great option for your next trip to Tasmania. Its art deco architecture is characterised by curved windows and a white exterior, aiding in its charm and making it one of Launceston's most popular hotels. Within Mantra Charles Hotel guests will find Restaurant Esca where they can enjoy local Tasmanian cuisine. There are lounges to relax in, meeting and conference rooms available and wireless internet (WiFi) (fee) throughout the hotel. Guests arriving at this hotel in Launceston by private vehicle will find plenty of onsite parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Charles Hotel Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing