We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All you need”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Charles Hotel
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“All you need”
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Good location, easy to get to from the airport or major highway. Close to CBD but with reasonable dining options very close by. No need to get a cab! Simple but reliable rooms: everything works. Good bed, shower and free wifi. What else do you need?

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank justwaytoohard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    709
    518
    120
    29
    14
See reviews for
215
594
72
355
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Shepparton, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for business in a converted hospital to hotel. The rooms are all new but there is not much room around the bed.
View from the room of temporary air conditioning plumbing and junk was not a good look.
Restaurant was reasonably priced but has a cafe feel.
Probably will not stay there again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Charles during March 2014. It is a very nice hotel and very affordable accommodation. Rooms are clean and modern, bathrooms are spacious and comfortable.

As a converted hospital, if you can get passed the fact you are sleeping in a old hospital where people may have died, its actually very nice.

Pillows and bed quality are high, free in room wifi is excellent and speed of wifi is decent. Pay tv channels including all sport, news and movies are excellent for those nights alone looking for entertainment.

In house restaurant is nice but expensive, but most are everywhere you go.

I would recommend the hotel charles, a nice hotel which is modern and clean

Room Tip: I stayed on the 1st floor, and if the budget rooms are good, the better ones will be great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Mills, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Even though I only stayed here one night, this place made a good impression on me right away. After searching for the nicer hotels in Launceston (LAWN-ses-tun), this looked to be a standout, and happily, it was!

First, the rooms: mine was a standard, with a very European feel to it - minimalist decor, clean, bright, with a small kitchenette and surprisingly well-though layout. The room had lots of color, the bed and pillows were extremely comfortable, and the slat-like shades were very cool... and functional.

Because I was famished when I arrived just after noon, I ordered their lamb burger and fries via room service. The delivery was almost instantaneous, and the server was wonderfully cheery. Because I was fighting the front end of a nasty head cold, I didn't venture out much, so I ordered a light room service dinner later in the evening and had the same nice experience.

Unfortunately, there is no fitness center on site, but they apparently have relationships with nearby fitness facilities for referral. If you have a beautician on premises (which they do according to the guest services log), you really should have a fitness center, IMO.

Launceston has a population of around 100,000 people, and to find a hotel of this caliber for a city that size was pretty impressive. Based on my short stay, I would highly recommend Hotel Charles to be among your consideration if you have a Tasmanian trip on your agenda.

Room Tip: Note that some room (mine included) was just across a narrow parking lot from a business complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheesehead7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

After having a bad experience at another hotel, I made a last minute booking at Hotel Charles, having read so many good reviews on here..
The service was fantastic and the staff were very helpful. The room was modern, clean, had a very big bathroom with a shower with plenty of pressure.
The bed was a little harder than I would like, but was certainly ok and I slept. My only criticism would be the pillows.....not really comfortable at all.
Upon check out, it was the fastest, most efficient check out I have experienced at a hotem anywhere.
I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shanemelb1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Most comfortable bed we had slept in for a week. The hotel was very well located and very close to some great restaurants. Reception was helpful and room was large and clean. Parking was a bit ad hoc but seemed to be freely available.

Room Tip: You can book 2 rooms for kids with a locking door between
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

I've always experienced excellent meals and service at the restaurant in the Hotel Charles which is in the café district Charles Street in Launceston. Professional service is offered at all times. The atmosphere is smart, relaxing and sophisticated but certainly not stuffy.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Matthews T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
1.0 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
1.1 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
852 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#3 of 30 in Launceston
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
3.3 mi away
Country Club Tasmania
Country Club Tasmania
#5 of 30 in Launceston
727 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Charles Hotel

Property: Mantra Charles Hotel
Address: 287 Charles St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Launceston
#2 Business Hotel in Launceston
#2 Family Hotel in Launceston
#4 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Charles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests staying at Mantra Charles Hotel can expect an unforgettable time at their Launceston accommodation when visiting the food and wine region of Tasmania. Situated on the cosmopolitan Charles Street offering a choice of several modern room types, Mantra Charles Hotel is a great option for your next trip to Tasmania. Its art deco architecture is characterised by curved windows and a white exterior, aiding in its charm and making it one of Launceston's most popular hotels. Within Mantra Charles Hotel guests will find Restaurant Esca where they can enjoy local Tasmanian cuisine. There are lounges to relax in, meeting and conference rooms available and wireless internet (WiFi) (fee) throughout the hotel. Guests arriving at this hotel in Launceston by private vehicle will find plenty of onsite parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Charles Hotel Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing