We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as good second time around”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra Charles Hotel
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hotel has become our first choice when staying in Launceston. It has great spacious rooms with modern tasteful furniture and very friendly staff. The location is very handy. Got an upgrade to a studio room (again) which was a bonus. When you get a good rate, it really is a no-brainer staying here. A good consistent hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Micwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,701)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,235 - 1,241 of 1,701 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Hotel Charles is a top class hotel with very modern facilities, friendly staff, great food and comfortable rooms. Breakfast is a delight with our bed and breakfast package great value. It is a lovely hotel but very modern. If you're traveling to Tasmania to soak in the heritage, I would stay in a heritage hotel or B&B. If you're young and prefer to stay in more funky places or traveling on business this is the place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wombatstew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Lovely fit out, good bathroom, clean, best bed and linen. The breakfast is very good. Good coffee.Walking distance to the Charles street restaurants. Quick walk to town and the lovely old church. In fact can walk to lots of tour sites from here. Staying there again in June

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzannePurdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Thirty plus years ago I undertook several consulting assignments here, when the site was a hospital. The conversion is a credit to the team as they have found a nice balance to let the building's hospital roots show through while adapting to a modern hotel. The hotel staff are friendly and efficient. The king-size room we had was a little cramped - there wasn't space for a table so if you chose in-room dining it would be on your knees or at the desk (but, with only one chair, I'm sorry one of you will have to sit on the floor).
The bed was quite firm but not uncomfortable. The bathroom was amply sized, nicely appointed with good quality towels, the only improvement would have been a rainhead shower. Hopefully that will come when the showerheads are next changed.
Breakfast in the restaurant was very pleasant. It was lovely to be provided with proper expresso coffees. What appeared to be local home made jams and marmalade were delicious. It was a bit disappointing that the honey on offer wasn't a local product.
Still for the price the property represents good value for money as there aren't any other hotels that I have stayed at in Launceston in the same price range that I would put in the same class.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luckywandering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This was my first visit to Hotel Charles. It cost $135 per night, room only.

Check-in was efficient. I was in the first floor with a view into offices across the driveway. Disappointing given that the hotel is on a rise. The room was small, but the bathroom (shower only, no bathtub) surprisingly big. The bed was firm and comfortable. There was a small desk with a Chair that was heavy and a pain to move – but move it was something you had to do often due to the cramped nature of the room.

The rooms was only partially serviced daily,. The floors were never cleaned during my four night stay, something I found disgusting. Had there been a vacuum cleaner in the room I would have done it for them, if they are so busy they don’t have time to do this little bit of housekeeping.

Secondly, the teabags were not replenished after use. Could have been lack of attention, or could have been miserly penny-scrimping by management.

Check-out was efficient.

I do not believe this property represents value for money, and although accommodation prices can be high in Tasmania, there are more reasonable alternatives in this particular city.

Room Tip: Don't bother with room 125.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel recently. I've stayed in made-over hospitals before, and this is by far the best. The location is great, having the wi-fi and room service was such a plus. The room was incredibly spacious, the staff friendly. My only two complaints: 1 - no block out blinds. 2 - no spare pillows in the cupboard as promised in the compendium.

I would stay here again and would recommend to others that they do, too :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toothbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Built in a former hospital and done out in bright eye-blinding reds to a generally high standard , this is a convenient slightly corporate-feeling hotel with spacious rooms and the expectation Hattie Jaques will come and turn down the beds any minute!

The bedroom was indeed a former ward but well furnished with a little kitchen and sadly (for me) no bath. Very good bed and nice posh towels and sheets etc.

Breakfast pretty good but charged as extra. Nice staff on front desk a bit like Jim Dale and Barbra Windsor in Carry On Doctor.

The town itself is sleepy in the extreme but visit the chair lift over the spectacular gorge (15 mins walk thru residential hills) , an excellent design centre on Brisbane Stand a curious little park with Edwardian band strand...and a cage of snow monkeys. There is a free 'tiger' bus to the industrial museum which has some good science stuff for kids and interesting local history and some incredible stuffed animals incl spooky wombats.

Room Tip: Nice rear rooms with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SecretSeven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
1.1 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 31 in Launceston
1,011 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#5 of 31 in Launceston
936 reviews
3.3 mi away
Country Club Tasmania
Country Club Tasmania
#4 of 31 in Launceston
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.8 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
1 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Charles Hotel

Address: 287 Charles St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Launceston
#2 Family Hotel in Launceston
#2 Business Hotel in Launceston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range: £87 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Charles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests staying at Mantra Charles Hotel can expect an unforgettable time at their Launceston accommodation when visiting the food and wine region of Tasmania. Situated on the cosmopolitan Charles Street offering a choice of several modern room types, Mantra Charles Hotel is a great option for your next trip to Tasmania. Its art deco architecture is characterised by curved windows and a white exterior, aiding in its charm and making it one of Launceston's most popular hotels. Within Mantra Charles Hotel guests will find Restaurant Esca where they can enjoy local Tasmanian cuisine. There are lounges to relax in, meeting and conference rooms available and wireless internet (WiFi) (fee) throughout the hotel. Guests arriving at this hotel in Launceston by private vehicle will find plenty of onsite parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mantra Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Charles Hotel Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing