We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,983)
Filter reviews
1,983 results
Traveller rating
1,038
721
164
38
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,038
721
164
38
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews launceston general hospital converted hospital king studio modern hotel room service small kitchenette free wifi business trip city centre hotel restaurant fresh air reception staff comfortable bed good size convenient location great room a great place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
1,515 - 1,520 of 1,983 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Hotel Charles is a top class hotel with very modern facilities, friendly staff, great food and comfortable rooms. Breakfast is a delight with our bed and breakfast package great value. It is a lovely hotel but very modern. If you're traveling to Tasmania to soak in the heritage, I would stay in a heritage hotel or B&B. If you're young and prefer to stay in more funky places or traveling on business this is the place.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wombatstew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Lovely fit out, good bathroom, clean, best bed and linen. The breakfast is very good. Good coffee.Walking distance to the Charles street restaurants. Quick walk to town and the lovely old church. In fact can walk to lots of tour sites from here. Staying there again in June

Date of stay: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzannePurdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Thirty plus years ago I undertook several consulting assignments here, when the site was a hospital. The conversion is a credit to the team as they have found a nice balance to let the building's hospital roots show through while adapting to a modern hotel. The hotel staff are friendly and efficient. The king-size room we had was a little cramped - there wasn't space for a table so if you chose in-room dining it would be on your knees or at the desk (but, with only one chair, I'm sorry one of you will have to sit on the floor).
The bed was quite firm but not uncomfortable. The bathroom was amply sized, nicely appointed with good quality towels, the only improvement would have been a rainhead shower. Hopefully that will come when the showerheads are next changed.
Breakfast in the restaurant was very pleasant. It was lovely to be provided with proper expresso coffees. What appeared to be local home made jams and marmalade were delicious. It was a bit disappointing that the honey on offer wasn't a local product.
Still for the price the property represents good value for money as there aren't any other hotels that I have stayed at in Launceston in the same price range that I would put in the same class.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luckywandering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This was my first visit to Hotel Charles. It cost $135 per night, room only.

Check-in was efficient. I was in the first floor with a view into offices across the driveway. Disappointing given that the hotel is on a rise. The room was small, but the bathroom (shower only, no bathtub) surprisingly big. The bed was firm and comfortable. There was a small desk with a Chair that was heavy and a pain to move – but move it was something you had to do often due to the cramped nature of the room.

The rooms was only partially serviced daily,. The floors were never cleaned during my four night stay, something I found disgusting. Had there been a vacuum cleaner in the room I would have done it for them, if they are so busy they don’t have time to do this little bit of housekeeping.

Secondly, the teabags were not replenished after use. Could have been lack of attention, or could have been miserly penny-scrimping by management.

Check-out was efficient.

I do not believe this property represents value for money, and although accommodation prices can be high in Tasmania, there are more reasonable alternatives in this particular city.

Room tip: Don't bother with room 125.
Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stevekyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel recently. I've stayed in made-over hospitals before, and this is by far the best. The location is great, having the wi-fi and room service was such a plus. The room was incredibly spacious, the staff friendly. My only two complaints: 1 - no block out blinds. 2 - no spare pillows in the cupboard as promised in the compendium.

I would stay here again and would recommend to others that they do, too :)

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toothbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews