We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flat No. 6, 96 On Arthur”
Review of 96 on Arthur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
96 on Arthur
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I think we had the best apartment, away from busy road, with sun filled balcony. The apartment needs a bit of TLC and a makeover. The toilet bathroom is very old and for us oldies the shower in the bath dangerous, plaster around shower falling off and mouldy. We told staff a couple of times that the light over vanity was blown and nothing was done in the 4 days we were there. The bed linen was just a couple of sheets with a double (not a queen, which was the size of the bed) doona in between, no doona cover. The cutlery was very flimsy and sparse. Needed extra wine glass, which we asked for and did not get. Some previous thoughtless guest left a big iron burn mark in the middle of the carpet. Other than all of that the apartment is in a good position, close to city, but if you are older the hills are a killer. We had inhouse movies which we enjoyed, it is a very comfortable apartment and a great place to explore from. Enjoyed the balcony over looking city in the sun, kitchen had lots of pots and pans toaster, kettle and a bit of coffee and sugar to keep you going for a couple of days, large fridge. If I owned this apartment I could do wonders to it to make it more attractive. Oh, and if you have a big car you cannot park in your appointed spot (6) as you will not fit, have to park out the front of apartment in side street, which was better anyway.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cbak748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice_HL, Manager at 96 on Arthur, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for your honest feedback on our apartment, it is a shame to hear that you have mixed feedback our our apartment - I have inspected the apartments recently after your feedback to ensure that quality is maintained and updated where needed. We do advertise that apartments are serviced weekly - which can cause some inconveniences in getting items to the apartments with such short notice - in your case the wine glass - however we do advertise that apartments are only serviced for long stays - that being said there is no excuse for the light not being repaired during your stay and this will be followed up. We do have one apartment with a walk in shower - next time you are in Launceston I would suggest requesting the apartment with a walk in shower which is also on the ground floor. Many thanks again - and we hope to see you next time you are in Launceston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2014

The title basically sums it up. If you had a city view apartment, there were very nice views over Launceston from the deck. The location was also excellent for walking into all the main attractions. Wi Fi and free phone were also nice extras.
On the negative side, the allocated carpark was next to useless. It was pretty much inaccessible and after unsuccessfully trying to get in, it took me about 15 minutes to get back out again. Ended up parking on the street. I did not have a large car, just a Camry. The kitchen equipment in the apartment was very basic and minimal, would not want to cook for a family for a week. Fortunately there are good restaurants and coffee shops close by.
As mentioned by others, check in is not smooth. I had to chase up through the managing hotel - firstly to find out how to access the room as this was not notified anywhere and secondly to chase up shortly before our flight left as we still had not received the promised text. The manager did then call and was very friendly. We were advised that the text had been sent but must have gone astray (?) . Other guests checking in had the exact same situation so this procedure really should be tightened up a bit.
Won't be rushing back.

Room Tip: Make sure you get upstairs with a city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judi-oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice_HL, Manager at 96 on Arthur, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our apartments, I am glad to hear that you found the location handy - and enjoyed the gorgeous views from the apartments. We do aim to keep the apartments well kept and clean - and we believe this is reflected in pricing. Since your stay there has been a great change in the structure of which the codes are sent for the apartments to minimalise any inconvenience towards guests - and should you stay with us in the future - I would like to offer you a free upgrade in apartment style should you book with us direct (pending availability) just to show that we do take in feedback in an attempt to improve your stay. We thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Because we stayed during the weekend that Breath Of Life was on, the nightly rate increased to $300 (as im sure other accommodations spots did too) and because your paying so much more than the usual price, you expect more. Obviously you don't actually get more, so we were a bit disappointed.
We were expecting to get a text with the code for the key lock and number of our apartment (so we knew which parking spot was our) but upon arrival at 4.30pm, hadn't received it, so we rang the number on our confirmation and was given the code. After lugging everything to the top floor, we opened the safe to discover no key. Rang again and was told they would need to contact the apartment manager. 15 minutes later they rang back to say they were unable to get anyone, so could we drive down to a nearby hotel to get the spare key. All of this was a bit annoying, (more so if we hadn't of had a car!!) as it was boiling hot, and as I mentioned, we were paying a premium.
However the lady at the Hotel was very apologetic, and did give us a bottle of wine, which was lovely and quite unexpected.
The apartment was fairly basic, but clean and the location is convenient.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hope454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice_HL, Manager at 96 on Arthur, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our apartment, it is disappointing to read that you have had these issues upon checking into the apartments. We have had a thorough update in the way that our arrivals are handled and I can ensure you that when staying next time – you won’t come across such inconveniences. I would also like to ask that next time you are seeking accommodation in Launceston – that you contact us direct on 03 6331 2055 – and I would like to offer a compensated rate to apologise for the inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

I would agree with some of the check-in comments but this didn't really cause us any bother. The location is great, the view from the top floor rooms is spectacular and the accommodation was clean, spacious and peaceful. The only thing to be aware of is the steep walk back up the hill when you return of an evening may cause some a few issues but we just felt it helped walk of dinner

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice_HL, Manager at 96 on Arthur, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review 96 on Arthur Apartments, It is very pleasing to hear that you have enjoyed the location and the view from the top of Arthur Street – the penthouse really does has some amazing panoramic views of the city skyline. I am glad you have used the hill to your advantage – being in a valley Launceston is known for sloped roads out of the city centre. We hope to see you next time you are in Launceston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I am hesitant to make complaints about what is basically very good value for money accommodation. I do not care to afford 'premium' accommodation and I think that those who offer a pleasant place to stay with a usable kitchenette at reasonable prices should be supported.

Folks - your check in routine is touted as being one of the ways you can offer better prices. Unfortunately my experiences with this procedure started our stay annoyingly. I have no issue with the theory of how it is supposed to work. However as we were standing in the street for an hour or so with our luggage unable to check in because the magic code had not arrived on our mobile, the contact phone number was not answering and the phone number redirect to a Launceston pub was unhelpful - I couldn't help but feel a little cheesed off with the actual practice. As were the family who had a similar experience the next day. There are several comments about check in problems with 96 on these reviews and I think by now the issues should have been addressed rather than still continuing.

Positives - clean enough, spacious, historical precinct, thoughtful extras, good views (but comments on the walk up the hill to enable those views are not exaggerated) , kitchenette and a mattress which didn't need chiropractic treatment in the morning.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice_HL, Manager at 96 on Arthur, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we have taken in the feedback on our check in services – and have had a thorough update in the way that our arrivals are handled through the apartments and I can ensure you that when staying next time you will experience a much smoother arrival at 96. I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at the apartments and have found this to be great value for money accommodation. We hope to accommodate you the next time you are in Launceston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This block of apartments is well equipped for a short stay and great if you want more freedom than a hotel. It is a short walk to the CBD, although it will take you longer on the way back as it's up a steep hill! This was a bit of an issue to begin with- you are usually sent a text with an entry code to get keys to the apartment. It was about 11am so we hadn't received it yet. After calling the supplied number from the airport and receiving no answer, we decided to take a cab to the sister 'Hotel Launceston' to check in. It's not that close on foot, so we then had to drag our luggage to the apartment up several hills. Reception was friendly, but we could have avoided a tough walk and some cab fare if the phone was just answered or the call returned. If you have a car this obviously won't be an issue. Otherwise the apartment was comfortable and very reasonably priced and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vantango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice_HL, Manager at 96 on Arthur, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay at 96 On Arthur - we have had a thorough upgrade in the way that our arrivals are handled through the apartments and I can ensure you that when staying next time you will experience a much smoother arrival at 96, if you do require an early arrival please ensure that reception is advised as early as possible as this is only available depending on occupancy as our apartments have a later than average check out time. I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at the apartments, and we look forward to accommodating you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We arrived very late (around 10:30 pm) but were able to access the appartment thanks to the very helpful and kind telephone assistance. The appartment had all utensils as expected, bathroom was OK, but the furniture and carpet were a bit outdated. We hesitated for a quotation between 3 and 4, but choose 3 as, due to the carpet, the smell opening the aparment was not a fresh smell. For the rest, all to standard.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
5.9 mi away
Discovery Parks - Hadspen
0.7 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel Motel
Riverside Hotel Motel
#1 of 2 in Riverside
221 reviews
2.1 mi away
Tamar River Villas
Tamar River Villas
#2 of 2 in Riverside
135 reviews
6.3 mi away
Red Feather Inn
Red Feather Inn
#1 of 1 in Hadspen
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 96 on Arthur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 96 on Arthur

Address: 96 Arthur St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Launceston
Price Range: £61 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 96 on Arthur 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your 96 on Arthur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
96 On Arthur Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing