We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Place !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Hotel City Park Grand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Awesome Place !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Superb location, close to the center of town and Launceston sites, This hotel was very clean with excellent decor a real comfortable place to stay. The food was excellent and reasonably priced.
The staff all round were very helpful. We will definitely stay here again and would recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Great location great all round
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    188
    34
    10
    7
See reviews for
76
302
19
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Checked into the city park grand hotel just for the one night and wow! This hotel is beautiful, right across the road from James Boags brewery and a short stroll to the city centre, but its the quality of the rooms that really makes this place stand out. If i make it back to Launceston, will definitely stay again

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NicoleRee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed in a deluxe room in the main part of this hotel and it was superb. Large room with couch, writing desk, chair, alcove with tea and coffee facilities and fridge, plus a large bathroom. Everything was spotless and beautifully decorated. The staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful and the hotel also has a nice lounge area where you can make yourself a coffee. We dined in at the hotel restaurant and found the food and service excellent, amoung the best we have experienced anywhere in the world. it is also an easy walk from the hotel to the city mall and park. We most definately recommend this hotel if you are staying in Launceston.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms in the main hotel section are beautiful and very spacious. Also if dining in they h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank praks12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Visited twice.
Great position, 5 minutes from city centre, Boags Brewery across the road - book for tours $30. City Park and wood craft centre is just one block up.
Friendly helpful staff at reception and restaurant.
Main building rooms have character and quiet. Stables rooms have spa baths. All rooms are large with excellent furnishings and bathroom supplies including shaving kit, comb and sewing kit. Free wifi internet is fast!
Stairs are fine. Staff helped with carrying luggage up two floors.
Good value and highly recommended.
Excellent kids menu in the very good restaurant

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor if stairs are a problem. Ask for help with bags if you want help going upstair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

As a regular business traveler to Launceston, I stay at the Clarion City Park Grand on a regular basis.

The staff are professional, courteous and welcoming and the facilities are by far the best in Launceston.

The rooms are spacious, comfortable and well appointed. There are small touches which make this hotel stand out from the other local options.

The hotel is extremely well maintained and is always clean and is located in a convenient location.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
213 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

The public areas of the hotel - lounge, restaurant etc were lovely and breakfast was good. However, having to lug our cases up a steep flight of stairs was not the best experience. As in earlier reviews, the chair at the desk was simply too big for the room and made entering the room with bags more difficult than it needed to be. We were in room 25 which was quite noisy being on the corner. The room was quite big and very clean and the shower was good. Location pretty good, easy walk into town and to the City Park which was a lovely green space.

Room Tip: If you don't want to climb stairs with your luggage, make that clear when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cityparkgrand, Manager at Clarion Hotel City Park Grand, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Thank you for your review of our Hotel. We do offer porterage to our guests. We are a heritage property 160 years old and therefore do not have a lift but we do offer to carry cases to rooms for our guests at checkin and apologise if this was not offered to you. Our rooms facing the road are also double glazed. We are pleased you enjoyed your complimentary cooked breakfast given to you as compensation for your 1st night sleep being disturbed by Ambulance & Police attending an accident close to the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

I travel a lot around The Oceania for business but this hotel is one of The best in all Australia.
Very nice, good location (teche mall is very close and The Boag's factory is just in front of) and very good gym. The hotel staff is very kind.
If you want spend a very good stay this is The place to be.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank LorenzoBigRef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.4 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#4 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.4 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
3.6 mi away
Country Club Tasmania
Country Club Tasmania
#5 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel City Park Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel City Park Grand

Property: Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Address: 22 Tamar St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia (Formerly City Park Grand Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
#1 Business Hotel in Launceston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Launceston
#6 Family Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel City Park Grand 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand offers boutique accommodation in downtown Launceston. Located next to City Park, it is 10 minutes walk to Queen Victoria Museum and Art Gallery.All spacious rooms at Clarion City Park Launceston feature en suite bathroom, air conditioning and flat-screen cable TV. Some rooms also have balcony, microwave and whirlpool bathtub.Facilities include a guest laundry, free high-speed Wireless internet access and free car parking. Guests can enjoy free coffee and weekday newspapers.Larceny's Bar and Restaurant features local produce and a large wine selection. Room service is also available.Clarion Hotel City Park Grand is in the heart of the entertainment, museums and shopping districts of central Launceston. Boag’s Brewery is a 2-minute walk. Aurora Stadium is 750 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Clarion Hotel City Park Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Park Grand Launceston
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing