We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great renovation of an old hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great renovation of an old hotel”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The outside may look a bit old, but don't let that fool you. This is one of Launcestons best featured hotels. The renovations and attention to detail in the rooms is exceptional for a hotel of this size and price. I stayed in a Spa Suite and was very impressed with the size and quality of fittings in the room. No need to head out for a meal, Larceny restaurant is a great place to eat for dinner and breakfast. We stay in Launceston quite often and will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Free internet, Free parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjw2763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    195
    34
    10
    7
See reviews for
77
313
20
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Even though we live in Launceston, occasionally we like to treat ourselves to a night away from home.
We have stayed at the Clarion several times for this. The hotel is charming (though the staircase needs your full attention when climbing!) and the staff (especailly Reception) are competent and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annieb75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed one night in this lovely hotel. We were supposed to be in the "old" stables but received a complementary upgrade to the HRH room upstairs in the main hotel. We think this was because of a wedding party in the hotel. Our room was huge and recently renovated. The bed was large & comfortable and there was a small kitchenette in the corner of the room. The renovated bathroom had a large shower and twin basins. Our only complaint about the room was the road noise that came through the bathroom window. The hotel is within walking distance of many Launceston attractions and restaurants. It is next to the James Boag Brewery. We will stay here again when in Launceston.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TriciaB623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

What a wonderful hotel. It is a great location with easy walking distance to the CBD and Cataract Gorge. The staff are very friendly and helpful. It is an older hotel made modern and is one not to miss in Launceston

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed overnight on our way between Cradle Mountain and Hobart and could not have been happier. The exterior was a bit of a surprise as it looks a bit basic but don’t be fooled by the “cover of this book” so to say! The hotel is beautifully renovated and walking up a flight of stairs is no problem for us (we live in a terrace!).
The reception staff were extremely professional, efficient and pleasant. We loved our room. Our ensuite bathroom was beautiful with good quality bathroom fittings and the best toiletry products I have seen in a long while! The room was tastefully furnished and comfortable. Our accommodation was very smart and well maintained. It was all excellent value for a very inexpensive tariff which included free WiFi and onsite free parking. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annagram09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

The title says it all really. We stayed in a reasonable large room, it was clean, but perhaps a little old fashioned by today's standard. The hotel had a power cut which meant we went out for dinner. Other places near by did not seem to be affected by the power cut.

The hotel,is very well located. Close to the Boag brewery, easy to walk around. There is also parking which is good

The continental breakfast is ok.

We would look at other options if we were to return to Launceston.

Overall we expected a little bit better for a hotel that is ranked 2 on trip advisor.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stayed for one night on our way to the Cradle Mountains. Could not have made a better choice. Room was modern, well equiped and spa bath a treat. Yes, there are no lifts but it is a heritage building after all.

Had dinner in the restaurant and compliments to the chef. Food was on par with any top end restaurant in Sydney. Best of all, a 1 minute walk and you're at the historic James Boag's brewery.

Room Tip: Pick the spa suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johan_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.4 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
880 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
1,476 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#2 of 30 in Launceston
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.3 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
502 reviews
4.0 mi away
Country Club Tasmania
Country Club Tasmania
#7 of 30 in Launceston
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel City Park Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel City Park Grand

Property: Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Address: 22 Tamar St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia (Formerly City Park Grand Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Launceston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Launceston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
#6 Family Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel City Park Grand 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand offers boutique accommodation in downtown Launceston. Located next to City Park, it is 10 minutes walk to Queen Victoria Museum and Art Gallery.All spacious rooms at Clarion City Park Launceston feature en suite bathroom, air conditioning and flat-screen cable TV. Some rooms also have balcony, microwave and whirlpool bathtub.Facilities include a guest laundry, free high-speed Wireless internet access and free car parking. Guests can enjoy free coffee and weekday newspapers.Larceny's Bar and Restaurant features local produce and a large wine selection. Room service is also available.Clarion Hotel City Park Grand is in the heart of the entertainment, museums and shopping districts of central Launceston. Boag’s Brewery is a 2-minute walk. Aurora Stadium is 750 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Hotel City Park Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Park Grand Launceston
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing