We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stopover”
Review of Commodore Regent

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Commodore Regent
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Reviewed 29 August 2014

I was only here for one night and it was great. I got this as a surprise in a secret wotif deal at a very good price so was very satisfied. I had room 21 on the lower floor which looked newly renovated and had a double and a single bed, and lounge chairs- free fast wifi, comfy bed, spacious room, large flat screen (didnt use so dont know if had satellite channels). I am not sure of the room category but it was a very nice room. You can park outside your room which I liked. The reception staff was helpful. The restaurant menu was good but limited serving hours and in the higher price range.The only drawbacks are: The shower is touchy to get temperature right. i am a light sleeper and it was quiet but there was a truck about 6am that woke me up- not sure what that was all about.
Overall an enjoyable stay and would return.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank flyfree8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
There are newer reviews for Commodore Regent
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

137 - 143 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014

This place is run down both on the inside and outside. We stayed in room 29 and the carpet is frayed at the edges. The door is flimsy and the lock barely holds it shut. The bed and bathroom are clean which makes the short stay bearable, but it should be rated 3 stars at best.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank European_vacation_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The hotel is located a short stroll into the main city centre.The view from our room was pleasant, looking over Launceston.

To get to our room we had to struggle with our luggage up a steep driveway. We also had to walk up and down that drive way to enter and exit the hotel which was not nice, this would be difficult if you had mobility problems or are not steady on your feet due to age or disability.

The room itself was fine, with a good amount of room and it was clean. Although the hotel does not do room service over the weekend unless you ask. We had to ask for extra toilet paper.

The shower head was too low for my husband (who isn't quite 6 foot) and had to duck and bend his knees to get underneath it. The hot water on one of the mornings was hit and miss. I had to wait for the water to get back to a suitable temperature to be able to have a shower, even then it wasn't as hot as I would have liked. Especially on a cold morning.

When it came to checking out on a Sunday, we asked if we could store our luggage at the hotel for a while as we had an afternoon flight. We were told that reception closes at 11am and that they couldn't help us. They person working behind the counter didn't even offer to call a taxi or give an alternative suggestion. The guy just seemed to be waiting until his shift had finished and didn't seem to care.

When we checked in we were told that even though checkout was at 10am we had until 11am. At 10.15am we had a phone call reminding us that we should have already checked out.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CraigandCorrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel with jet star flight booking which they offered a special rate. I was skeptical about booking this hotel due to mixed review so far! When I checked-in,I m glad that I have made a right choice. They have gave me a free upgrade from superior double to triple. The reception was very helpful to answer my questions. The room is spacious with very bright sunlight shining through the window. Location is walkable to cataract gorge though a bit far. However, it's fine if u fancy a walk after all. I had a lovely sleep with the warm blanket and heater. Shower is functioning well with warm water. It has everything I need for a short stay in Lauceston. I will recommend it to my fds and will not hesitate to come back again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank HappyHitomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This hotel was recommended to us by the travel centre in town and it was all that we needed. It was 5 minutes walk into the centre of town but still very quiet. The rooms were very clean and comfortable with a good bathroom. We would be happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back as it is further away from the road
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The location was across the street from the city park. It was a long walk to the riverfront and the gorge. We were given an upgrade in one of the lower level rooms with a view of the park. The room itself was very nice. There were no grounds to speak of. It was just a very average hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Momski1620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We travelled to Launceston for a wedding, and only stayed overnight. We were a family group and between our travelling party we had booked 4 rooms. On arrival it was mayhem. 2 rooms ready, 2 not, but the woman on check in had absolutely no idea what was going on. In the end all we could do was laugh. I never signed anything to say i was there or what room we were staying in, on check in or check out. There were others in the lobby with similar problems. One of our group was given a key to a room that already had someone else's belongings in it.

The room was ok, had a bit of a smell to it, but was clean enough. They use those wall mounted toiletries such as 2 in 1 in the shower, and hand soap which was completely empty next to the sink.

We ate breakfast in the restaurant and it was basic but adequate.

The driveway was a nightmare for the elderly member of our party, much too steep to not have hand rail down the whole length of it.

I wouldn't stay there again based on their complete unprofessionalism.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.9 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#5 of 30 in Launceston
513 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
1,529 reviews
0.6 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Regent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Regent

Address: 13 Brisbane St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn )
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range: £60 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Commodore Regent 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Commodore Regent is perfectly located with fantastic views overlooking the City Park, and only a 3 minute walk to the CBD with great cafes, boutiques and shops. We are also within walking distance to many great Launceston attractions. Free internet access, off street car parking and daily newspaper. The motel also features Restaurant 13 which has sweeping views of the City Park and is open for Breakfast 7 days and Dinner Tuesday - Saturday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Commodore Regent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Launceston
Regent Launceston
Launceston Comfort Inn
Launceston Regent
Commodore Regent Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing