We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“look elsewhere first”
Review of Commodore Regent

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Commodore Regent
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Reviewed 9 November 2009

very average accommodation. Easy walk to Launceston retail, and restaurants, however room and facilities very average. Could hear neighbours talking, showering toilet flushes, as well as upstairs.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank wolngarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

207 - 213 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2009

This was my fourth time in Launceston and my first time choosing to stay at the Commodore Regent. It is very comparable to nearby motels such as Sandor's on the Park but does boast a slightly better location. There aren't many shops in the area so a 5-10 minute walk into the CBD is required to find a decent concentration of retail outlets and restaurants. For a cheap dinner I recommend nearby Hoong Fatt Chinese Restaurant. It does a buffet for $9.90, 7 nights a week from 5 PM.

At a rate of $88 a night I was given room number 37, a room on the third floor up the back away from the main road. Traffic noise was barely noticeable and the view of Launceston was sensational. Standing outside my room and watching Launceston twinkle at night was just marvellous. The chairs offered outside on the balconies are a nice touch even if I didn't have the opportunity to enjoy them due to poor weather.

Check-in was quick and friendly. The service throughout my stay was exceptional and the only thing preventing me from handing out a five-star rating was a rather disinterested looking waiter at the restaurant during breakfast. Most of the staff were chirpy and more than happy to accommodate requests, as well as simply but warmly enquiring how I enjoyed my day.

The room itself was honest and clean but the place in general is starting to show its age. The radio beside the bed was inoperable and parts of the wallpaper had seen better days. It would have been nice if the television was a little bigger. The bathroom (no bath, shower only) was clean but the tiles and decor are dated. Water pressure of the shower was good and there was indeed plenty of hot water. The bed was comfortable and the free broadband internet was very welcome, reliable and fast. I had breakfast in the restaurant one morning and was disappointed to see the eggs and bacon overcooked. The bottom of the eggs were burnt unfortunately meaning there was not much egg to taste. Such an elementary mistake and for $16.50 I could have had a decent breakfast in town.

Overall I was pretty satisfied with my stay at the Commodore Regent. It is in need of a facelift with an exterior and decor that have seen better days but what really stood out here was the service and friendliness of the staff. It must be infectious in Launceston.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SakuraDream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2009

Commodore Inn Regent at Launceston in picturesque Tasmania is located opposite the city park and within walking distance from the city center. The location is also within a reasonable walking distance from the various attractions including the Gorge.

The reception is friendly and very helpful. Do not forget to inform the reception in advance if you intend to check in late as they close late evening. Rooms are large, clean, simple and functional but look as if they have seen better days.

We did not eat at the only restaurant in the hotel as we spent most time walking around, enjoying the beauty of this small town and its pubs, cafes and food courts.

For the facilities and location it may be bit over priced.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Narayantravelogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2009

Have stayed 3 or 4 times now over the past year and have been very pleasantly surprised with the obliging staff, decent tariffs and rooms. Have stayed at probably 90% of motels in Launceston in the past couple of years and have to say this place beats most of the others. Plenty of car parking outside rooms, we dislike using flights of stairs to get to our room so ask for a ground level room which is readily accommodated, these rooms do not give you much of a view of anything but the back tier of rooms (up stairs) certainly do. Driveway in up a rather steep slope but land is level once up at reception. Good sized rooms, bathrooms a little dated as such but clean and steadily being updated we were told. Room was warm with heater ticking over nicely when we walked on a chilly afternoon, which was much appreciated. The great hot water pressure in shower after a long day more than makes up for any cosmetic problems. Close to middle of town with only a short stroll to major shoppping streets with a lovely park opposite. Onsite eating, breakfast menu good but have not been to the other meal times to comment on. All in all a nice place t

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnnsuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2008

The rooms were a good size and most of the staff friendly and obliging. I found the traffic noise from the street somewhat distracting during the night, perhaps this would have been less so in one of the units further back from the street.
Food: Breakfast basic but satisfactory. I would have appreciated a fruit offering other than tinned peaches.Evening meals..soups were excellent, main course average, fruit salad for sweets disappointing.
Plenty of hot water in the bathroom.
We had requested twin beds..the single bed had a very poor quality matress. I did ask the manager if it was possible to change the matress on the bed as I had been unable to sleep.He simply said no..when I indicated that I felt it was unfit for anyone to sleep on , he said I'll see... but it was not changed.

Stayed: March 2008
2  Thank jeanPortMacquarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2007

This is a great place to stay when in Launceston, a very short walk into the city center, about 2 minutes, across the street from a beautiful park. Rooms are a very good size, clean and comfortable with Free internet. Staff are a delight. I have stayed here several times after some disappointing stays else where in Launceston. Good parking, even a place to give your car a wash down, most important when you've been travelling for a few days.

I consider it very good value for money.

Gary Topping
USA/ITALY

Stayed: August 2007
1  Thank gary t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.2 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#4 of 30 in Launceston
525 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Launceston
0.9 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
375 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Regent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Regent

Address: 13 Brisbane St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn )
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range: £69 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Commodore Regent 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Commodore Regent is perfectly located with fantastic views overlooking the City Park, and only a 3 minute walk to the CBD with great cafes, boutiques and shops. We are also within walking distance to many great Launceston attractions. Free internet access, off street car parking and daily newspaper. The motel also features Restaurant 13 which has sweeping views of the City Park and is open for Breakfast 7 days and Dinner Tuesday - Saturday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Commodore Regent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Launceston
Regent Launceston
Launceston Comfort Inn
Launceston Regent
Commodore Regent Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing