We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and welcoming”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Balmoral on York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Balmoral on York
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Comfortable and welcoming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

Recently we had the opportunity to travel to Tassie with friends. My Husband chose to do the bookings for us and being a thrifty person chose this hotel. We were not disappointed, it is close to the centre of town. The staff are warm and friendly, the rooms were very clean and rooms were made up every day. We were given a family suite so that we could be next to our friends. The only thing that annoyed me there was that the shower room did not have a door on the actual shower, just a small wall, so things left on the floor got wet rather quickly. You just have to be wise and hang things up. Breaky was a delight, and a continental breakfast is included in the price, for a few dollars more a cooked one is available. If you are wanting to watch TV at any time the reception is a little dodgy, the colour was rather pink and we were unable to adjust it. Parking is on sight and secure. Good value for the price.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daggs2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    210
    38
    9
    3
See reviews for
46
283
39
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

We stayed 2 nights and, for the price, it's hard to beat. Location is very convenient, the room was nothing special but clean and perfectly adequate, with a nice little balcony. The only small quibble was very fluctuating water temperature in the shower - that horrible suddenly-going-cold thing. Staff are very friendly and welcoming, and the cooked breakfast was lovely. Definitely the place for people who want something comfortable and good value.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malaytraveller48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

We only stayed one night (would happily have stayed longer but were on a tight schedule). The hotel is well located, easy to find and very good value. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and the breakfast was individually cooked to order and delicious. The room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable with a great shower. Would certainly stay here again should we return to Launceston.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 255103Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

Good sized comfortable room, showers were hot and strong, breakfast excellent (perfect poached eggs), free wi-fi, quiet and convenient location. Efficient service and at a fair price (booked online with cooked breakfast included at a preferential rate). What's not to like?

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank paulreid23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

Stayed for just one night. The room was basic but clean. A good comfortable bed with nice linen and towels. The room overlooked York Street with a lovely view. I found it just a little noisy mainly young folk around 3am and the town clock chiming every hour. It's a very quiet town so all noise carries and I am a very light sleeper. My husband heard nothing.
Trevor does go the extra mile and it is lovely to be given a little more attention and service.
The breakfast was delicious.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back if you are a very light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toone463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013 via mobile

This place would be hands down the best value for money in Launceston. Trevor ( the owner) runs it with so much passion and precision and he has the best smile ans greeting for you always. The breakfast was the best one I have tasted in a while. And the service was just awesome. Absolutely have to come back to stay here again and explore Launceston. Highly highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deekshamidha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in March 2013. Price was higher than usual, presumably due to the NAB Cup match in town, but booked in anyway on the basis of the TA reviews.

Service was very friendly, always met with a smile and felt very welcome. Room was good, nothing exciting but comfy bed and Foxtel on TV.

Breakfast was fabulous. Yummiest poached eggs I've had in ages and all served with a smile, felt more like a B&B at breakfast time than a hotel.

Only downside was the aircon in our room. It was average at best, made a lot of noise for not much result and on the second night there was a constant rattle which made it hard to sleep. If it had been that bad the first night we would have complained but by the second night it was too late. We did mention it at check out and hope the problem has been rectified for future guests.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bronners132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.7 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston
0.4 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#3 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmoral on York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral on York

Property: Balmoral on York
Address: 19 York St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Launceston
#2 Best Value Hotel in Launceston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Launceston
#6 Business Hotel in Launceston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Balmoral on York 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Balmoral on York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Balmoral On York Hotel Launceston
Best Western Launceston
Comfort Inn Launceston
Best Western Hotel Launceston
Launceston Comfort Inn
Balmoral On York Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing