We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Phenomenal service!!”
Review of Balmoral on York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Balmoral on York
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
2 reviews
“Phenomenal service!!”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Really lovely hotel rooms; pretty and rustic and the service was impeccable - really made our trip! Very good location and parking was really handy. Definitely stay here when in Launceston.

Breakfast was included and delicious!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roslyn676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    214
    38
    9
    3
See reviews for
46
285
41
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This great value hotel is located in the centre of Launceston. Convenient off street parking at the back of the property. My room was as quiet as a whisper even though it overlooked the street. I booked by phone after seeing an excellent special on their website. The service was great, down to the late night check in. Our room was very comfortable with a king size bed for me and a small sleeping alcove for my son. A continental breakfast was included in the cost. I would definitely stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunnygirlHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This Hotel is in an old building, however the rooms are spacious, the bathroom has been renovated and most importantly, a comfortable bed! There are cityscape views, an opening window as well as an airconditioning unit. The staff were very pleasant, and we were pleased we had taken the advice of other reviewers to stay here. The much advertised breakfast was quite basic and somewhat greasy, this being the only negative aspect we found. All in all, value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank popgreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge NZ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed 12-15th October. The room was spacious and spotless with a two seater couch and extremely comfortable bed. Although we were on the third floor and slept with the window open, there was minimal road noise. A full breakfast, including espresso coffee, etc, was included in our tariff. The original TV was faulty, and when we commented to the owner at breakfast the first morning that there was a problem, it was replaced before we had finished breakfast. The restaurant, although small and quaint, provided excellent meals at a reasonable price. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GardenerCambridgeNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

A little aged but met all the usual criteria. Clean, roomy and good value for money. Breakfast was particularly good...cooked to order and the best we had in Tassie ... Hotel is in good location , close to everything and service was commendable . Recommended

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Musray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armadale, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The entire team at the hotel where fantastic. I have not found this quality of service in a long time. While it is not a five star hotel, if you are looking for a great value hotel with great service, Balmoral on York is the place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel for one night as a couple after reading some reviews on tripadvisor. For the money the room is everything that you would expect. Also very close to the heart of Launceston.

The real highlight was the staff, probably the best service I've received at a hotel/motel by far. They went out of their way to make sure our stay was comfortable. Couldn't have asked for anything more...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krtalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.7 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Launceston
0.4 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#3 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmoral on York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral on York

Property: Balmoral on York
Address: 19 York St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Launceston
#3 Best Value Hotel in Launceston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Launceston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
#6 Business Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Balmoral on York 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Balmoral on York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Balmoral On York Hotel Launceston
Best Western Launceston
Comfort Inn Launceston
Best Western Hotel Launceston
Launceston Comfort Inn
Balmoral On York Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing