We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent can't wait to come again”
Review of Balmoral on York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Balmoral on York
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent can't wait to come again”
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a weds night after a 400km trip. We couldn't have hoped for more!!Staff very friendly and efficient, couldn't ask for more in a room, slept very well, didn't even notice a whole coach party was in the hotel with us! Excellent location and the breakfast was great! Recommend it it anyone and will stay there again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemwilko81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    216
    38
    9
    3
See reviews for
47
290
43
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Stayed here for the night of 21/10/13 whilst travelling around Tasmania. Not hard to find. Motel appears aged on the exterior but rooms are comfortable and clean. The elevator is showing it's age and played up a little bit and I got the impression this is a regular occurrence. It is within walking distance of the CBD. Meals were standard for Tasmania. Staff were probably the best feature. Very friendly and helpful. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: At rear oif hotel to avoid road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steveqld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We were very pleased with our choice to stay at the Balmoral on Kent which was based purely on tripadvisor reviews. The hotel was well located, the rooms were clean and well appointed. The breakfast was excellent but what really sets this hotel apart from the rest is the friendly service. If you are a light sleeper consider a room towards the back of the hotel. The street noise was in no way excessive but a particularly light sleeper may benefit from a room towards the back. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahKFitzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grafton, New South Wales, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

As three couples we booked into the Balmoral on York and were very pleased with our rooms, the location of the hotel and the included breakfast. Rooms were roomy, clean, modern and quiet.
Good beds. The owner and all other staff were exceptional and went out of their way to assist us with directions and things to do. Breakfast was really lovely and you could have a hot breakfast for a little extra cost. I could not recommend highly enough.

Room Tip: The street numbers are a little tricky as there is a park mid way down the road that is not included...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devonport, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This is a good review of a good place to stay when visiting Launceston. Because of one possible negative, let's get it out of the way for a start. The carpark is relatively steep and the parking bays narrow so a lot of trust is placed on the car parked in the next bay up not to do the wrong thing! In four nights there, that was the case - everyone was careful!

Reception was exceptional. Indeed, everyone concerned (owners, receptionist, waiting staff, chef - commended her for her efforts - housekeepers) provided the kind of service expected but so rarely found. Everyone smiled, everyone made eye contact, everyone spoke, everyone wanted to do more; top marks, guys and gals.

Access to the accommodation floors is by an elevator from reception. The rooms are comfortable, clean, well furnished and welcoming. Beds are great and ensure a good night's sleep. Although the whole building seems to be climate controlled (didn't ask; simply assume that is so), there are RC aircon units in the rooms so you can readjust temperature to suit. A restaurant is located on the ground floor. It has a simple but delicious menu. The food is both beautifully cooked and well presented. Breakfast - our continental start to the day was included in our tariff - provides a good variety of juices, yoghurts, cereals, breads for toast, plus coffee and a number of teas for varying tastes. Reasonably priced cooked lines are also available.

This is a motel that provides service, comfort and a high level of convenience, located only one block from Launceston City shopping and one block from the Princess Theatre. Staying in Launie? Give the Balmoral on York a try. You will be pleased you did.

Room Tip: Room 45 (which can sleep three) has a great outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarragindi, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Delicious breakfast included made this hotel great value for money. The accommodation was simple but warm, clean and very comfortable (especially the beds) - what more can you ask for? Excellent location within easy walking distance of good restaurants. We had a couple of misunderstandings with our booking but the staff went out of their way to sort things out for us, and we would stay here again in future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TarragindiTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Really lovely hotel rooms; pretty and rustic and the service was impeccable - really made our trip! Very good location and parking was really handy. Definitely stay here when in Launceston.

Breakfast was included and delicious!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roslyn676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.7 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
863 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#3 of 30 in Launceston
867 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmoral on York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral on York

Property: Balmoral on York
Address: 19 York St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Launceston
#3 Best Value Hotel in Launceston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Launceston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
#6 Business Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Balmoral on York 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Balmoral on York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Balmoral On York Hotel Launceston
Best Western Launceston
Comfort Inn Launceston
Best Western Hotel Launceston
Launceston Comfort Inn
Balmoral On York Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing