We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultimate Practicality”
Review of Balmoral on York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Balmoral on York
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Ultimate Practicality”
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Several factors made our stay at the Balmoral the success it was. First we had the reasonable pricing; then the staff going out of their way to help us out (we arrived way before our check-in time and they guided us through everything open in the area around Christmas); add the free parking.
Then there was the room itself, which comfortably offered all the facilities we could ask for (sans a safe) and featured a renovated bathroom. And last, there's the free wifi with absolutely no hassles.
Seriously, we couldn't ask for anything more right at the centre of Launceston.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Metal_Detect0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    216
    38
    9
    3
See reviews for
46
289
42
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
182 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

This property is situated conveniently within the centre of Launceston, only a block or two from the main shopping mall. The room was spacious, clean, quiet and comfortable and the manager, Trevor Donaldson, was very helpful and obliging, as were all the staff we dealt with. There was an efficient air conditioning system in the room, making for a comfortable nights sleep. We ate dinner in the dining room and selected from a comprehensive food and wine menu, which supports local wine makers. Breakfast is served in the dining room, whilst lunch is available Monday to Friday by room service.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

stayed here for a week. service was excellent. we were greeted with a smile every morning and got great advice on which attractions to see. the hot breakfast in the morning was absolutely delicious! would definitely stay here next time!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cp-foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Needed a place to stay for 2 nights while we toured surrounding areas. This place is a nice choice if you are after a comfortable space to shower and sleep. Don't expect anything luxurious, but our room was very clean and quiet, and the reception staff is lovely. The housekeeping standard is very professional in contrast to the buildings rather drab appearance. Highly recommended for a reasonably priced stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

Don't be fooled by the drab exterior - Balmoral on York is first rate! The rooms are comfortable and nicely appointed, the staff is excellent and the amenities/location are hard to beat. Great value too. The restaurant is really good. When visiting Launceston, the Balmoral is an outstanding choice.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TheHazes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geeveston, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Balmoral on York provides a great hotel which is reasonably priced. The rooms are clean and well appointed. The staff are very welcoming. Great position. Good menu with fresh local food.

Highly recommend.

Room Tip: A city view room has great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShannonPCox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
534 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

My hubbie and son stayed here prior to starting The Overland Track as the bus picks you up at the door. Wow!! Rave rave rave!!!This is above and beyond all expectations. The service from Trevor and Sharon was very personalised and so professional, from checking up on room requirements to accommodating the late arrival with no fuss.
The room was spacious, modernised, quiet and all you need. The location is central and fantastic, walk to everything.
Breakfast was fantastic with the best poached eggs they have eaten ever!!!!
Although the hotel was full Trevor treated them like royalty for the wonderful overnight stay.
Just brilliant!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.7 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Launceston
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
0.6 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmoral on York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral on York

Property: Balmoral on York
Address: 19 York St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Launceston
#3 Best Value Hotel in Launceston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Launceston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
#6 Business Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Balmoral on York 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Balmoral on York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Balmoral On York Hotel Launceston
Best Western Launceston
Comfort Inn Launceston
Best Western Hotel Launceston
Launceston Comfort Inn
Balmoral On York Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing