We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very quaint place .”
Review of The Old Bakery Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Old Bakery Inn
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Brisbane Region, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very quaint place .”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed the old style hotel very different and interesting . Walking distance to everything we needed . Room was clean and comfortable but quite cramped . Off street parking was barely available once guests started to check in late in the afternoon .

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emj52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    106
    27
    11
    23
See reviews for
35
123
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
88 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Our charming apartment had direct access to the green courtyard across from the breakfast restaurant and lobby. The owner/receptionist gave us a warm welcome as well as competent advice about dining and sightseeing. The room was cosily furbished and left the 3 of us enough space. The bathroom was spacious and meticously clean.
Over all we were very pleased with our choice.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ventus_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

What a lovely little bit of history in the heart of Launceston. Nice rooms but a fair few stairs when carrying your suitcases. Parking was also pretty difficult but it was made up for with polite staff and a beautiful period hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tenneluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stayed one night at this hotel as suggested by travel agent. We were given a noisy room, right off the lounge and front desk with the window besides parking- could hear guests chatting till late evening, and early morning front desk start up (before 7am). The bed was not comfortable, and also made us very itchy, scratched almost whole night (not sure if was the chemicals they used). The room size is decent and things are neatly organized.

Room Tip: Room 11- though the room size is good, but since the window is right next to parking, and it's r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nutri305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight on our way south. Had mixed reviews from friends who have stayed here previously....so were wary but think overall its good for $100. Positives: Parking provided...opportunity for book swap...good water pressure...Location walking distance to where we wanted to go in cbd.
Negatives: Dirty teacups...very very flat old pillows (I cringe to think how dirty they would be...pillows are not forever!)...lumpy bed....awkward, distant male owner.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JacSTARRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We were a couple and stayed in one of the Loft apartments, which had another two beds available. We quite liked being up there, it was comfortable and had a fairly well equipped kitchenette, table and chairs etc. We had parking off street which was good and they allowed us to leave the car there while we went into town the next morning. The tariff did not include any breakfast which was disappointing and the cost of one in their Dining room seemed too high so we ate elsewhere, so can't comment on the quality provided.. The man on Reception was polite but not really welcoming, as other reviewers have found. The place is central and handy for town.

Room Tip: The loft was quiet and self contained.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Disillusioned82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Stayed a while ago in winter and had total power fail at 2am. Shivered in a freezing room all night then showered in pitch black (internal bathroom) in the morning. Had to do make up for morning meeting in the lobby mirror. Explained to reception and got no apologies, no offer of slightest recompense except - 'oh we thought it was only one room'.
Totally disinterested staff. Will never stay again.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MinkyAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.6 mi away
Batman Fawkner Inn
Batman Fawkner Inn
#20 of 30 in Launceston
542 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
359 reviews
0.6 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
497 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Bakery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Bakery Inn

Property: The Old Bakery Inn
Address: 270 York St | Cnr York & Margaret Streets, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Old Bakery Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Old Bakery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Bakery Hotel
The Old Bakery Inn Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing