We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of The Old Bakery Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Old Bakery Inn
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The hotel was in good location close to town centre. Friendly helpful staff. The hotel has quirky layout could easily get lost. Plenty of parking out back. The breakfast was excellent value for money,

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

160 - 166 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

Our booking was made by friends who we were meeting in Launceston.
We booked in around midday prior to going to the footy. The price was right at $98 and we felt the room was adequate and the décor interesting. Due to the location we thought we would probably make a further booking in the morning for another visit to Launceston in three weeks time.
We left our room within half an hour of getting there, were away for the rest of the day, not returning until 10pm at which time we wanted to make a coffee. Well wouldn't you know it, we couldn't get the jug to work! My husband went down stairs to see if there was anyone about, there wasn't. As it was just after 10, even though the reception closed at 9 he decide to use the phone provided and ask for another jug or something. Unfortunately we had forgotten that you had to place your key in a slot in the room to activate the appliances in the room. All the man on the phone had to say was "have you put your key in the slot". In the mean time I realised that was what was up so went looking for my husband to tell him. As I walked down the stairs the manager was coming thru the door, he started abusing my husband and saying he had been up since 6am etc etc. My husband saw red and bounced back at him verbally. Next thing we are being asked to pack our bags, get out or I will call the police. Managed to calm hubby down, apologise for forgetting to use the key etc. Made a coffee and proceeded go outside for a smoke with the coffee. We were the accused of putting butts in the gutter. Good lord we had spent all of half an hour at the place since midday. This man has no people skills, and needs anger management, certainly not a nice man and after reading other reviews on here this is not a one off. Very disappointed. When our companions booked out at 7am the man ranted and raved about my husband being drunk and abusive! He certainly wasn't drunk and while he did return the abuse, if this man had been half civilised the matter would not have escalated.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Anet49Tas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This was a very quaint little Inn, very clean, great location and very hospitable staff. If you like history this is a good place to stay. Only problem was the stairs to the room.I would recommend this accomadation to others

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed the old style hotel very different and interesting . Walking distance to everything we needed . Room was clean and comfortable but quite cramped . Off street parking was barely available once guests started to check in late in the afternoon .

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emj52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Our charming apartment had direct access to the green courtyard across from the breakfast restaurant and lobby. The owner/receptionist gave us a warm welcome as well as competent advice about dining and sightseeing. The room was cosily furbished and left the 3 of us enough space. The bathroom was spacious and meticously clean.
Over all we were very pleased with our choice.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ventus_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

What a lovely little bit of history in the heart of Launceston. Nice rooms but a fair few stairs when carrying your suitcases. Parking was also pretty difficult but it was made up for with polite staff and a beautiful period hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Tenneluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stayed one night at this hotel as suggested by travel agent. We were given a noisy room, right off the lounge and front desk with the window besides parking- could hear guests chatting till late evening, and early morning front desk start up (before 7am). The bed was not comfortable, and also made us very itchy, scratched almost whole night (not sure if was the chemicals they used). The room size is decent and things are neatly organized.

Room Tip: Room 11- though the room size is good, but since the window is right next to parking, and it's r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nutri305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.1 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
372 reviews
0.6 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#5 of 30 in Launceston
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.6 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
930 reviews
0.6 mi away
Batman Fawkner Inn
Batman Fawkner Inn
#20 of 30 in Launceston
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Bakery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Bakery Inn

Address: 270 York St | Cnr York & Margaret Streets, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Price Range: £52 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Old Bakery Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Bakery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Bakery Hotel
The Old Bakery Inn Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing