We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location and good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2013

A lovely welcome awaits you here old world charm the main building is a heritage building but the rooms in the complex are comfortable and warm there was a heater on in my room when I checked in. The staff were helpful and courteous.
For business or pleasure this ticks all the boxes.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robinHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (862)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

743 - 749 of 862 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2013

old world charm with modern conveniences, building has a lot of history, room good size, clean & comfortable good supply of teas & coffees & well stocked mini bar, walking distance to shops & easy to get to road to head off. Staff very friendly recommend this hotel to couples, good value for money & would stay again

Room Tip: we had downstairs room behind reception, not much of view, but very comfortable & easy to access
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bucketlist60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed on a 2 night deal package which was great value for money. The room was basic but clean and warm, essential on a Tassie winters night. The Three Steps restaurant and bar served delicious fresh food at good prices and the staff are friendly and welcoming. The hotel is perfectly located to walk about Launceston and has free parking. The cooked breakfasts were excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirleyann820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

I was lucky enough to be able to stay at this hotel and had a wonderful time and the best sleep in ages! It is seriously like stepping back in time, the staff were lovely and the food at breakfast and in the restaurant were really nice xx

Room Tip: the hotel room i had was very quiet, on the second floor and the bathroom was very modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

This accomadation was a last minute find after seeing a little advert for it on a local map. Fabulous location being so close to more or less everything. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. We paid $250 for a large room for two nights. The room had a balcony and a spa bath but it the room itself was kitsch but I like kitsch so that's ok. The room is very quiet and comfortable. The Three Steps Restaurant is gorgeous with middle of the road but tasty and generous portioned food, the oysters were very fresh and delicous. I have gone a tad bit nuts with oysters while in Tassie. Yum Yum Yum!!! Try and get a table near the woodfire in winter. This restaurant has more character that anyone would know what to do with!! It's interior is gorgeous.
I would stay again for its location and spaciousness, its unusual decor and quiet rooms. No boring modern characterless furniture here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BellaOlive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Colonial Laucenston. The owner Dale was a delightful man. The staff there where so lovely and very helpful. Our first cheery face was Sherry on Reception. She was very pleasant and very helpful in giving us some tips onour stay in Launceston. We dined at the restaurant that night and also met some very cheery and smiy faces. The waiter Christian share some surfing stories with us and his university path. Tiarna was our waitress as well and also a lovely gir. We also chatted with Andrew the chef there and was also very obliging to help us out with a technical problem with our Television in our room. Not to mention the best meal we had had in Launceston.

My husband and I would definitely recommend this Hotel stay to anyone travelling to Launceston as the history alone of this old Grammar School gave him goosebumps. I wish Dale and the staff a happy and prosperous year at the Colonial Launceston.

Kind Regards,
Michelle and Tom Devine
Gold Coast
Queensland

Room Tip: Any of the rooms would be suitable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

A lovely historical building in a quiet, picturesque but convenient part of town. Staff very friendly and helpful. The breakfast room was delightful and a delicious breakfast was included in our very reasonable room rate. A great start to our Tasmanian holiday. I would highly recommend this place and stay here whenever I'm in Launceston. The adjoining restaurant which is part of the complex was also very atmospheric, cosy and served a lovely meal. Well done Colonial Launceston!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francesca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.6 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
930 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#5 of 30 in Launceston
519 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.6 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
372 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston

Address: 31 Elizabeth St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Launceston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range: £74 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston is Launceston's best centrally addressed hotel. Situated in the Launceston CBD and close to all tourist attractions, sporting venues, shops, cafes and the City Park Launceston,it is an ideal base for business or leisure travellers. This Launceston hotel offers a total of 70 welcoming guest rooms, including standard hotel rooms, deluxe hotel rooms, business class hotel rooms, 1 bedroom suites & spa suites. Brand new self contained apartments are also available for those who wish to spoil themselves with some extra space & facilities. All hotel rooms offer mini bar, complimentary tea & coffee, free movie channels, free newspaper, free parking, free gym, and private en-suite. Upgrade to a Deluxe Hotel Room for extra facilities and request a private balcony. Or upgrade to our extra spacious Business Class Rooms and ask for our best value package deal which includes WIFI. Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston also has an onsite Restaurant & Bar called Three Steps on George which is popular with both hotel guests and Launceston locals alike. The restaurant's decor takes inspiration from traditional British pubs and offers everyone's favourite classic dishes but with a twist. It's a great spot for an after work drink, a romantic dinner on the mezzanine level or a bite with friends or family by the open log fire in winter or in the garden in summer. Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston also features a Function & Conferencing Centre and houses 5 function rooms catering from small groups to large cocktail parties, dinners, and weddings. With free off street parking and a special function rate for accommodation, The Colonial has got conferencing covered. A place with a stylish testament to Tasmania's rich heritage. A truly unique experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Launceston
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing