We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Accommodation!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The Colonial was my second choice and what a surprise, from now it will be my first. The staff are wonderful and nothing was too much trouble, they excelled in customer service and always were smiling and helpful with any requests I challenged them with. The room I was allocated was spacious, had a large walk in robe, fully equipped kitchen, a wonderful comfortable bed, washing machine and indoor clothes line which I appreciated for my long stay. After the end of the June day it was nice to come back to a serviced, warm heated room. Room service from the restaurant was appetising and although I only tried one meal the menu should please everyone. I would recommend this Hotel to all travellers.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (854)
There are newer reviews for Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

653 - 659 of 854 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

Bob. V. Devonport.
I had to attend the hospital opposite and stayed two nights at the Colonial.
The staff were most helpful and the room comfortable and spotless.
A real homely atmosphere.
It was great to see how the historic buildings were being cared for and improvements/ refurbishment taking place,
Value for money Yes . Why go anywhere else?.
In all: exceeded expectations. A pleasure to stay at .

Room Tip: Advise the staff why you are staying.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I have been staying at the Colonial Hotel nearly once a week now for around three years. In all this time I have never had any problems with my rooms, service both reception or meals. I find that after a long day of work it is such a pleasure to walk in to reception and be greeted by the wonderful friendly staff. The meals are magnificent as I have room service for both tea and breakfast. Occasionally I eat in the restaurant when I have work colleagues staying in the hotel as well, I highly recommend this. As I stay there frequently and if there is something on the menu that I want to change with my meal the staff and chef have no problem in accommodating me. The rooms are both comfortable and roomy, with a nice big flat screen TV that offers in house movie channels as well as the normal TV stations. The amenities are always clean and in winter the heater is always turned on for me. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for business travellers, couples, families whether you are staying one night or many nights. The hotel is also close to the city centre and parks.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee-anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Whenever i travel to Launceston i always stay at the Colonial,the rooms are spacious and extremely comfortable,they make sure that when entering the room in winter the heater is already on and has warmed the room to a delightful temperature,the staff always go out of their way to accommodate any special requests,even down to the owner who offered to take me to my destination when i was unable to call a Taxi,thank you Dale.The quality of the breakfast was terrific although the coffee from the machine wasn`t a highlight.Being centrally located everything is in short walking distance.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PerthRicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I have previously stayed at the Colonial in Launceston and stayed another night recently. I am always traveling for business and there's nothing better than reaching your Hotel after a long day on the road and finding the relaxing room all made up perfect and clean and with the heater on to wecome you! The meal I had for room service was again a good size and hot upon arrival. And checking out the next day with the efficicient staff got me underway in record time. I will stay here again and again.

Room Tip: Balcony Suites are the way to go
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mick h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Even though the rooms don't look much from the outside are well appointed on the inside. Beds were yummy, warm and soft with electric blankets. Some kind soul had put my heater on so the room was warm too. The restaurant was somewhat chaotic, that needs a good manager, the food was basic but lots of it.

Room Tip: Try to get a balcony room. The others don't have good views.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PearlyOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Coming to Launceston for a footy match, Go Hawks, we were seeking a value for money, centrally located hotel with a functional gym. The Colonial Inn has it all and exceeded our expectations. Service was outstanding, new gym equipment and a short stroll from anything you could want.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jazzk79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.5 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
1,536 reviews
0.6 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
906 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#5 of 30 in Launceston
515 reviews
0.6 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
369 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston

Address: 31 Elizabeth St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Launceston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range: £67 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston is Launceston's best centrally addressed hotel. Situated in the Launceston CBD and close to all tourist attractions, sporting venues, shops, cafes and the City Park Launceston,it is an ideal base for business or leisure travellers. This Launceston hotel offers a total of 70 welcoming guest rooms, including standard hotel rooms, deluxe hotel rooms, business class hotel rooms, 1 bedroom suites & spa suites. Brand new self contained apartments are also available for those who wish to spoil themselves with some extra space & facilities. All hotel rooms offer mini bar, complimentary tea & coffee, free movie channels, free newspaper, free parking, free gym, and private en-suite. Upgrade to a Deluxe Hotel Room for extra facilities and request a private balcony. Or upgrade to our extra spacious Business Class Rooms and ask for our best value package deal which includes WIFI. Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston also has an onsite Restaurant & Bar called Three Steps on George which is popular with both hotel guests and Launceston locals alike. The restaurant's decor takes inspiration from traditional British pubs and offers everyone's favourite classic dishes but with a twist. It's a great spot for an after work drink, a romantic dinner on the mezzanine level or a bite with friends or family by the open log fire in winter or in the garden in summer. Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston also features a Function & Conferencing Centre and houses 5 function rooms catering from small groups to large cocktail parties, dinners, and weddings. With free off street parking and a special function rate for accommodation, The Colonial has got conferencing covered. A place with a stylish testament to Tasmania's rich heritage. A truly unique experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Launceston
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing