We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold, but comfortable room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We rented the one bed apartment and a portacot. The room was FREEZING when we got there on a very cold Tasmanian day, but after half a day of heaters on it warmed up and was extremely cosy. The big bed and linen were lovely and comfortable, and the pillows were just wonderful and soft.

The bathroom was modern and had a rain shower head that was awesome. The kitchen had a dishwasher and a clothes washer/dryer and both were modern and clean.

I booked over the phone and the staff were really helpful and nice. They made sure we were aware the room had a flight of stairs up and made sure we had a room with a separate bedroom for bub.

We also tried the room service which was good and convenient. There were severe weather warnings in Launceston while we stayed, so we had to spend alot of time in the room and we were glad we had such a nice place to stay. The windows rattled a bit in the high winds and we had to wedge some cardboard so we could sleep.

Room Tip: Our room had steps which staff warned about when we booked. Hard with a pram.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (854)
There are newer reviews for Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

631 - 637 of 854 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed for two nights in a deluxe room. Reception was straight forward and friendly, room was comfortable and quiet with excellent blockout curtains. Tap water had a metallic taste but still drinkable. They have glassed in what was an outside walkway which has helped greatly with outside noise but tends to amplify inconsiderate guests.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank PerthLib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This was such a wonderful place to stay for our first few nights holiday in Tasmania. The room was very clean and comfortable with a balcony to step out on to, and so very quiet. The staff were friendly and helpful and the included breakfast was absolutely 10 out of 10 and set up in such a beautiful historic building. Great position with cosy restaurant a few steps away and just a short stroll to the shops, parks etc. Felt very welcomed and will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: room with balcony was good
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gayle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This establishment and it's friendly staff and owners really care about making your stay everythingand more than you expect. The rooms are immaculate and the bed is unbelievably comfortable. The rain water shower head was just beautiful. We stayed for the buffet breakfast which was included in our package and we were blown away at the range of food available. Nothing was too much trouble. This is our 4th stay at this hotel and this time with our 6 year old who was well catered for. You'll also find a chatming warm cosy fireplace in the bar. This wad great value for money!

Alayna, Tony and Christian Whiteside

Room Tip: Check out the packages on offer to include breakfast highly recommended
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alayna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Recently i stayed at the colonial for work related event. I was so impressed with the staff food service and the rooms. Every thing impressed me there. The corporate rates were fantastic, looking forward to staying there for pleasure not business in near future.

Room Tip: Stay here and you cant go wrong
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Our family stay was nothing short of fantastic - lovely staff, great service and facilities. Located with such a short stroll to Launceston's city, shops and restaurants. Our experience could not be faulted. Will return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank amieec c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Lovely hotel close to the centre of Launceston I was there for 8 nights on a work trip and the staff were lovely and very helpful . The breakfast in the dining was just perfect loved the old world charm . And the fire place in the sitting room where I would sometimes have breakfast to catch up on the morning news. Lovely staff and management . Hope to see them all again soon .

Room Tip: If you dont like stairs ask for a ground floor room .
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Maddiekm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.5 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
1,536 reviews
0.6 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
906 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#5 of 30 in Launceston
515 reviews
0.6 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
369 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston

Address: 31 Elizabeth St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Launceston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range: £67 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston is Launceston's best centrally addressed hotel. Situated in the Launceston CBD and close to all tourist attractions, sporting venues, shops, cafes and the City Park Launceston,it is an ideal base for business or leisure travellers. This Launceston hotel offers a total of 70 welcoming guest rooms, including standard hotel rooms, deluxe hotel rooms, business class hotel rooms, 1 bedroom suites & spa suites. Brand new self contained apartments are also available for those who wish to spoil themselves with some extra space & facilities. All hotel rooms offer mini bar, complimentary tea & coffee, free movie channels, free newspaper, free parking, free gym, and private en-suite. Upgrade to a Deluxe Hotel Room for extra facilities and request a private balcony. Or upgrade to our extra spacious Business Class Rooms and ask for our best value package deal which includes WIFI. Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston also has an onsite Restaurant & Bar called Three Steps on George which is popular with both hotel guests and Launceston locals alike. The restaurant's decor takes inspiration from traditional British pubs and offers everyone's favourite classic dishes but with a twist. It's a great spot for an after work drink, a romantic dinner on the mezzanine level or a bite with friends or family by the open log fire in winter or in the garden in summer. Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston also features a Function & Conferencing Centre and houses 5 function rooms catering from small groups to large cocktail parties, dinners, and weddings. With free off street parking and a special function rate for accommodation, The Colonial has got conferencing covered. A place with a stylish testament to Tasmania's rich heritage. A truly unique experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Launceston
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing