We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Perfect Wedding Venue"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014

After having an awesome ride at Kookaburra Ridge Quad Bike Tours, Bridport
I headed to Launceston looking for accommodation and some R & R.
I came across the Quality Hotel Colonial and it ticked all the boxes.
Beautiful hotel and gardens. Close to the CBD.
My room was divine- clean, warm and cosy, I was very comfortable.
The staff were lovely and friendly. Dale is a top bloke who was most helpful.
Highly recommended. Will definitely be back next time I'm in Tassie!
Thumbs up from me.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJ T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (862)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

634 - 640 of 862 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights over a long weekend to see the football. Excellent location for restaurants, cafes and bars, all within very short walking distance. Very clean and warm rooms. Stayed in balcony room and although it was overlooking the carpark it was very quiet. About a 20 minute walk to Aurora Stadium. Would highly recommend staying here and would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ang2402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed here for one night in a room that had a king size bed. On arrival staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were well equipped for a motel and very clean and plenty of room. Everything had been well refurbished. We wanted to try their restaurant because the menu looked good, but unfortunately we were a bit late booking and missed out. We had a continental breakfast at a discounted rate which had everything you need for a light meal. Would definitely return and stay a couple of nights.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

A Great central location with great service & friendly staff! Family atmosphere but still private. nice and close to shops, restaurants and local attractions, most within walking distance. highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Susie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Central location, friendly helpfull staff and Amazing food!
I am a sales rep and constantly staying away. This is my favorite hotel now. I have been staying here the last two year's now when I vist tassie from victoria. The rooms are clean, tidy and warm. I always stay in a room with a balcony which is beautiful. The food is amazing! Great location I like to go for a walk to wind down after a long day they also have a small gym so I use the treadmill in winter. Lots of parking, friendly and helpfull and good rates too! Highly recommend to anybody! Also as I travel on my own always feel safe here too! Nicole

Room Tip: Choose the balcony rooms facing reception they are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We rented the one bed apartment and a portacot. The room was FREEZING when we got there on a very cold Tasmanian day, but after half a day of heaters on it warmed up and was extremely cosy. The big bed and linen were lovely and comfortable, and the pillows were just wonderful and soft.

The bathroom was modern and had a rain shower head that was awesome. The kitchen had a dishwasher and a clothes washer/dryer and both were modern and clean.

I booked over the phone and the staff were really helpful and nice. They made sure we were aware the room had a flight of stairs up and made sure we had a room with a separate bedroom for bub.

We also tried the room service which was good and convenient. There were severe weather warnings in Launceston while we stayed, so we had to spend alot of time in the room and we were glad we had such a nice place to stay. The windows rattled a bit in the high winds and we had to wedge some cardboard so we could sleep.

Room Tip: Our room had steps which staff warned about when we booked. Hard with a pram.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed for two nights in a deluxe room. Reception was straight forward and friendly, room was comfortable and quiet with excellent blockout curtains. Tap water had a metallic taste but still drinkable. They have glassed in what was an outside walkway which has helped greatly with outside noise but tends to amplify inconsiderate guests.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank PerthLib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.6 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
930 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#4 of 30 in Launceston
519 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.6 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
372 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston

Address: 31 Elizabeth St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Launceston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range: £74 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston is Launceston's best centrally addressed hotel. Situated in the Launceston CBD and close to all tourist attractions, sporting venues, shops, cafes and the City Park Launceston,it is an ideal base for business or leisure travellers. This Launceston hotel offers a total of 70 welcoming guest rooms, including standard hotel rooms, deluxe hotel rooms, business class hotel rooms, 1 bedroom suites & spa suites. Brand new self contained apartments are also available for those who wish to spoil themselves with some extra space & facilities. All hotel rooms offer mini bar, complimentary tea & coffee, free movie channels, free newspaper, free parking, free gym, and private en-suite. Upgrade to a Deluxe Hotel Room for extra facilities and request a private balcony. Or upgrade to our extra spacious Business Class Rooms and ask for our best value package deal which includes WIFI. Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston also has an onsite Restaurant & Bar called Three Steps on George which is popular with both hotel guests and Launceston locals alike. The restaurant's decor takes inspiration from traditional British pubs and offers everyone's favourite classic dishes but with a twist. It's a great spot for an after work drink, a romantic dinner on the mezzanine level or a bite with friends or family by the open log fire in winter or in the garden in summer. Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston also features a Function & Conferencing Centre and houses 5 function rooms catering from small groups to large cocktail parties, dinners, and weddings. With free off street parking and a special function rate for accommodation, The Colonial has got conferencing covered. A place with a stylish testament to Tasmania's rich heritage. A truly unique experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Launceston
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing