We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another old-fashioned one”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another old-fashioned one”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I can see it was truly grand in the old days. Now it's just slowly getting tired and losing the grip of fine ends... Like the greetings at reception, like the smell in the lift, like the lack of timely service, small mistakes are getting fixed quickly but the out-of-fashion facilities in the room probably won't be replaced anytime soon. Otherwise I like the furniture especially the chairs, everythings generally pretty clean, room quite big, rates not too bad (on most discount websites)...Oh right no free parking - $6 per day

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pegylated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    618
    411
    147
    79
See reviews for
300
564
72
408
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

I travelled many countries but i never came across a hotel like this. I went with my family for holidays. Unfortunately my tour agent booked in this hotel. Ops its totally waste of money to stay in this hotel.
1. NO HOSPITALITY .
2. VERY BAD ATTITUDE FRONT DESK STAFFS.
3. NO CENTERALISED AIRCON INSIDE THE ROOM. They provided a portable aircon unit inside the room witout thermostat control n temperature adjustable. The portable aircon makes horrible noise which not allow you to sleep. All 3 nights we didnt have sleep.
4. TERRIBLE BATH SHOWER. NO WATER PRRSSURE N YOU CANT adjust properly the shower head. Its made up of plastic.
5. FRONT DESK PEOPLE DON'T WANT TO HELP U OR ATTEND UR QUERIES RELATED TO LOCAL TOUR.

So guys instead of staying in thos hotel better to stay in B&B. Pl dont waste ur money n spoil ur tour mood.

Thanks n Regards,
Bala

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Soundararajan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Launceston hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

From the outside it's looks great, check in was ok, but as soon as we got in the lift it smelt ... Got to our level and it was so dimly lit I thought the lights were off in some areas, the carpet was dirty in the hallway and also smelt like cigarettes... Once in our room I was so disappointed with the dark and drabby feel of it, there was dust everywhere, a pissy fan on the floor (yes sitting on the floor) a portable air con unit sitting on the floor, plumbed into the wall and even that was done poorly , bathroom had mould everywhere, the toilet seat was on sideways .... The window was filthy with mould .... A really disappointing place considering the Grand Chancellor in Hobart was immaculate ... Very poor and will deffo be recommending all not to stay !!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jodie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Though Hobart and Launceston both have hotel named Grand Chancellor, but it's definitely different between Heaven and Hell. Launceston definitely is the latter especially you stayed in both before. Positive of this hotel: Pending search since i'm still here when i wrote this. Negative: 1. No air-con as every hotel have. What they have is portable air-con connected to the outside, which is also noisy as if a helicopter propeller is next to you. 2.Dusty, be it the desk which i put my hand on while i write tis review or the chair & floor which makes your feet itchy and also your butt itchy too! 3.Not even a basic kettle was provided. You wanna drink?! Pay 6.50 to get that bottle of water. 4.Room is dimly lit which reminds me of the type of motel you imagine in those 1-2* which only provide the bare minimum. So, generally definitely not worthy of the 4.5* stated. Drastic improvement required.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Coolman7528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

After staying at Grand Chancellor Hobart it was hard to believe this is part of the same hotel chain! There is no concierge and we could not take the luggage trollies out to the car, we arrived early and asked to be called when our room was made up, we returned before 2pm and the room was ready, pity we didn't get the phone call as we had been walking for four hours in the rain. Rooms are very average, we stayed in a deluxe room which I would not classify as deluxe. The airconditioner was a portable unit piped into the wall it hadn't even been painted where the pipe went in! Heating was a switch on the wall with no temperature setting. This establishment advertises as being 4.5 stars, they must have different ideas of star ratings to me.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Grand Chancellor for a weekend away in Launceston. When booking, we indicated that there were three of us: my husband, our 9 year old and me. We arrived at the hotel and check in went smoothly. We were able to get easy access to a car park and our room was clean when we arrived. However, only two towels were provided and we needed to ring reception to get another one. When our room was serviced the next day, again only two towels were provided and we needed to ring reception and ask for more towels. When we had booked for three people, it was annoying to have to ring for more towels. Also, the room was exceptionally hot!!! There was no switch to turn the heating off and the window could not be opened. We turned the air conditioner on on the second night, but it was extremely noisy and in the end we had to turn it off so that we could sleep. Whilst the room was neat and tidy when it was serviced, there were tissues left sitting on the bedside table and not all of the rubbish was cleared. Not enough to stop us from staying here again, but the heating situation definitely needs to be looked in to.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Natasha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Have stayed here a couple of times, the latest was last week. Cheap two night rate but was put into an old tired room (listed as "deluxe"!) that reeked of cigarettes. Grubby phone, black mouldy grout in the bathroom and a few other undesirables. These rooms give an otherwise good hotel a bad name

Room Tip: Don't book the deluxe! Pay a bit more for the refurb rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ally T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.8 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Launceston
0.4 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
866 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#3 of 30 in Launceston
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston

Property: Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Address: 29 Cameron St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston, the city's premier 4 1/2 star hotel, offers superior accommodation, superb Tasmanian cuisine and extensive conference facilities in the centre of the northern capital of Tasmania. Catering for the discerning corporate and leisure traveller, Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston is only a short stroll from the main central business district, shopping malls and Aurora Sports Stadium. Features include: 165 Hotel Rooms, Executive Club Lounge, 8 Convention Rooms & Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing