We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Stay but...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice Stay but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

This Mercure Hotel is impressive when you walk in. We were comfortable but the room shows its age, mostly in the bath. Crack in wall of the shower and a noisy plumbing episode when flushing. This was booked using FLybuys (20000 pts after 2 years of hassle at the checkout at coles!) For the price I have to say that HGCL was not a disappointment. It is very handy to everything.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zafron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    533
    387
    139
    78
See reviews for
264
513
63
360
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

the hotel room booked onine was damp and smelly with rotting carpet in the corner of the room under the portable air con. The were are of this as the air con had been switched on before we got to the room. There were white bugs jumping around. Oh and the fridge rumbled like a train pulling out of the station.
The spotlights outside the windows highlighted filthy windows The hallways were scuff marked.
we watched the bus driver ( picking up japanese tourists) empty the rubbish into a ciggerette bin between the lift doors and stack it up around as he couldn't fit it all in) and so did the desk staff...We came back an hour later it was still there.
The breakfast was a shocker ..the burners weren't working so cold and greasy food, The door under the buffet was off the hinge , water all over the floor.. two days in a row! Staff dropped plates and to top it off we had to watch a tourist eat passion fruit with knives ..like they were chopsticks....well all we could was laugh and kept looking for basil!!
pick up your game Launceston.....a shocker!

Room Tip: do not take any packages with this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Launceston hotels

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

In many ways this hotel represents and reflects the character of Launceston----a quiet and dignified city with nothing too much out of the ordinary, safe, secure unfussy and comfortable. I have stayed in this hotel several times and although Launceston has a very good selection of accommodation I always find it hard to pass up the Grand Chancellor because it is consistently good. The staff are always welcoming but not over the top or forced, the rooms are comfortable and quiet, car parking is virtually at your door and you are just around the corner from the main part of town convenient for business or pleasure. In this most recent visit we did not dine there but enjoyed the excellent and reasonably priced breakfast. Next time I am in town I will stay there again.

Room Tip: There are no particular great views but rooms at the front of the hotel face out ( North?) over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hendrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

We have just come back from our holiday and this hotel was the first we stayed in. The staff were friendly and the service was excellent. My husband had forgotten to pack a major item and we had it expressed overnight . The front staff rang us , informed us of its delivery and asked for permission to put it in our room. Our dinner was okay, not 5 star but the buffet breakfast was worth the money. The room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. Only thing I would complain about is the air conditioner was a stand up evaporative , very noisey when try to sleep at night. Overall though excellent place to stay would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
146 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

This grand and quietly elegant building has been refurbished sympathetically. The Grand Chancellor in Launceston was a pleasant one day stopover on a AAT but tour. Well located, I arrived at 3pm on a Friday only to find Myers and a few shops open - if retailers want tourist dollars they need to stay open!!

Had a substantial dinner and breakfast buffet. The room was large but overlooked a pub so music from there was too loud!!!

Friendly service from all the staff, I found this one day stay very nice and I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the pub as it is noisy at night. And of not available wear earplugs!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hotroxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We had only 1 night here but I wish I could have stayed longer to experience more of Launceston. The hotel is beautiful and very clean and comfortable. The location is excellent - central and in the flat part of the city - ie no hills to climb. It's just a block from city park and the monkey enclosure - would be great for drop in if you had kids. The room was a little dark but really wasn't a problem for us - we were out most of the time!

While I received nothing but great service from most staff, I think the front desk arrangement was a little disorganised. I went down at busy time to ask question and there seems to be no organisation. There was no order to people being served - a queuing system would help. I even observed both service staff answer phones and answer questions while making the customer at counter wait til they finished - and didn't even excuse themselves from the customer.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BaytreeSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed here for one night after a late night arrival in Launceston. Unfortunately it was also Boxing Day so finding anything open for a meal was problematic. The GC is well situated near a few of the highly recommended eating places (Pierres, la Cantina, Cow) but all were closed. Luckily we found a lovely little Indian restaurant in Charles Street and ate there, excellent food and good value. Hotel itself is fine for a short stay, room was fine and very quiet.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank welovenewhampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston
0.8 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.2 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston

Property: Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Address: 29 Cameron St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston, the city's premier 4 1/2 star hotel, offers superior accommodation, superb Tasmanian cuisine and extensive conference facilities in the centre of the northern capital of Tasmania. Catering for the discerning corporate and leisure traveller, Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston is only a short stroll from the main central business district, shopping malls and Aurora Sports Stadium. Features include: 165 Hotel Rooms, Executive Club Lounge, 8 Convention Rooms & Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing