We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient hotel in Launceston”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Launceston
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We spent one night at the Grand Chancellor.
It was raining when we arrived at the hotel and had to unload our hire car in the rain, carry our own luggage into the foyer and then following check-in we had to carry our luggage to our room. We were quite surprised that there were no porters. We did assume that a hotel of this size would have appropriate staffing.
The room was very comfortable, clean and convenient. Quiet and well equipped.
The buffet was breakfast was average, overpriced for what we received. The available food was not replaced quickly enough when the containers were emptied, Again, there seemed to a lack of staff.
Overall the Hotel is OK but far from international standard.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WoollamiaTweety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,802)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,417 - 1,423 of 1,803 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

It looks pretty flash from the outside and the foyer, but …

First problem was that none of the power points in the room worked, This was (eventually) tracked down to a power circuit that had blown. But curious that this had not been noticed by house-keeping earlier.

The place is fantastically overpriced for what you get. There are place of equal (or better) quality in central Sydney which don't cost as much. And then there's the extras. Like room-service for overpriced food, with an added room-delivery charge; ditto for breakfast if served in the room. Alternately you can buy breakfast in the in-house restaurant for a princely $25.00 for a very simple continental buffet. WiFi is also an expensive extra.

Finally, check-out. Waiting at the end of a queue of 7 people, to be attended by the one staff member on duty. Check-out took just under 20 minutes. Very poor.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Pros:
Perfect location in centre of city.
Children enjoyed the buffet breakfast
Clean and newly renovated

Cons:
Lots of street noise on weekends. I had difficulty sleeping due to the cars driving until very early in the morning
Parking fees
Noisy. Room above woke our children when they returned from a night out

Room Tip: Avoid stying here on a weekend- noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellaplus3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stay here 6 times a year, my employer books it, once again room not available at 2pm and as I waited over an hour in foyer no update information from check in staff. Icing on cake? NO hot water in bathroom next morning.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Jatvla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in June 2014. The Hotel is currently upgrading all their rooms. 3 levels of floors (out of 6 levels) have recently been refurbished. We stayed in a non-refurbished room.
The room was a bit dated, but still comfortable, clean and spacious. The bed was very comfortable.
Breakfast was lovely - plenty of food choices and very tasty.
Staff were great; check-in was very easy and quick.
Location fantastic; just a short 5 minute walk to the shopping Mall and a 3 minute walk to the City Park. Also, on a Saturday morning, they have a Farmers Market just across the road.
Traffic in Launceston is just so easy. It makes driving a pleasure, not a chore, as you can get to local attractions in next to no time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The room was good with all the essentials. This hotel is so well located in the heart of the city. You do need to pay extra for parking $6 a day. The staff were very good. I do prefer the City Park though.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DirtiSanche3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Family of 4 stayed here. Perfect to use as a base to go the footy and explore Launceston. We were really happy with the hotel overall. The only thing that let it down were cold showers in the morning. The response to this comment on checking out at the front desk was even more disappointing. There was a vey half hearted response - yeah sorry, we are looking into that. It was not just our room. The friends we stayed with had the same problem and they were 3 floors away form us. Apart from this, the service staff in the restaurant were delightful both for the dinner service and the buffet breakfast. Nothing was too much trouble. The meals and buffet breakfast were tasty and pretty good value for a hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller255097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.4 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 31 in Launceston
1,012 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#2 of 31 in Launceston
1,702 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Launceston
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.2 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 31 in Launceston
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston

Address: 29 Cameron St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range: £68 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston, the city's premier 4 1/2 star hotel, offers superior accommodation, superb Tasmanian cuisine and extensive conference facilities in the centre of the northern capital of Tasmania. Catering for the discerning corporate and leisure traveller, Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston is only a short stroll from the main central business district, shopping malls and Aurora Sports Stadium. Features include: 165 Hotel Rooms, Executive Club Lounge, 8 Convention Rooms & Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing