We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value and everything you need for a business trip.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Coach House
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Penguin, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Value and everything you need for a business trip.”
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We stayed here on a business trip. The staff were friendly and efficient. The walk to the reception was darned dangerous. Once they fix that up - all will be extra good.
Very reasonably priced and clean and everything in the room. Lots of tea making facilities, bikkies and supplies in the bathroom. Comfortable and Inexpensive,

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    73
    38
    12
    3
See reviews for
25
73
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Having stayed at the Coach House during a trip to Launceston in 2005 it was a logical choice to stay again based on the locality and value for money. I was aware from reading more recent reviews that there had been a change of management since my last stay. I wasn't disappointed in my choice to stay again. There was only my hubbie and I this trip so the room we had (which I am certain was the same as my previous stay with 3 other travellers) suited us well - it was spacious and well maintained. The room boated a QS bed and 2 single beds with ensuite bathroom and kitchenette/dining area. Our host Rochard was very accomodating and helpful. A daily cooked breakfast served in a lovely dining room was good value for money and very convenient. Yes the property does boast a steep driveway and there are some hilly sections to walk in the city of Launceston, but this did not hinder our stay. We thought overall our 2 night stay at the Coach House was a great start to our 12 day holiday in Tasmania.

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems, be sure to request a ground floor room, and be aware that there is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank butteflycarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip T, Manager at Comfort Inn Coach House, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
A return visit and stay at the Coach House.
Thank you for taking the time to give feedback on the Comfort Inn Coach House, we appreciate the kind comments. We realise the driveway is not for everyone, but it allows beautiful views over the city, we hope you enjoyed your time in Launceston and if you are ever to return we would love to see you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

It is a long way up the hill from the shopping centre, and the drive and carpark are at a steep angle.Rooms are off an outside veranda and steps, and we found sounds from other rooms disturbed our evening and sleep. The aircon was useful but noisy.
It was the cheapest place we stayed, and was adequate.

Room Tip: They are built to give a good view over the valley. Downstairs avoids having to carry cases.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oftenaway190730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip T, Manager at Comfort Inn Coach House, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Only recommended on the price.
We are apologetic that your stay with us was unpleasant, we have taken a look into many minor problems around the Comfort Inn Coach House and have tried our best to make sure that these things do not happen again, generally our guests are pleasantly surprised by the quietness of our property even being so close to the CBD, we make sure that our guests are not disturbed by people in other rooms of our Motel. Thank you for taking the time in submitting your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
247 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

The Comfort Inn does have air-conditioning, which was greatly appreciated on a warm day. We also appreciated the free wi-fi.
However, the steep driveway and lack of an elevator means that you will struggle to get to these conveniences!
As well, since the attached restaurant apparently only serves breakfast, there is no ice available anywhere on the property. This meant a trip to the closest bottle shop just for a bag of ice.
I would also advise that if a hotel is going to provide soap and lotion in dispensers, service folk need to make sure these are filled. Having them nearly empty is not okay.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JARPHX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip T, Manager at Comfort Inn Coach House, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Beware of steep driveway
We are glad that you enjoyed the air conditioning and free wi-fi, we apologise that your shower lotions were empty, we have spoken to our Housekeepers and have rectified this problem, we thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on the Comfort Inn Coach House, we hope that if your in Launceston again that we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

Rather an austere looking three storey motel type building with open corridors on top of the hill. There is no lift. Our top floor room was OK for a one night stop over a the price of AUD 100.

The bathroom has been refurbished in recent years and was clean and well equipped with nice towels. The bedroom carpet was cheap quality with some grubby stains but well vacuumed. There were one or two scuff markets on the walls.

The small double bed was rather uncomfortable - one of those saucer shaped ones where you both end up rolling into the middle!

All in all not bad value for a one night stop. We did not try the breakfast.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank godders49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip T, Manager at Comfort Inn Coach House, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Fair Dinkum at the price
We appreciate the feedback you have given us at the Comfort Inn Coach House, we do our best to keep our rooms at a high standard to keep our guests happy, Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
152 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2012

One of only 2 hotels/lodges in Australia that I stayed in that offered complimentary internet for under $100 AUSD per night. The staff were quite helpful with directions to local grocery. We stayed here passing through 1 night on our way to Cradle Mountain in Tasmania. The furnishings were satisfactory. Room was quiet enough too. Would stay here again if I we came back. Paid $95 AUSD.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pec95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip T, Manager at Comfort Inn Coach House, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Good Comparative Value
Thank you for taking the time to review the Comfort Inn Coach House, your kind comments are greatly appreciated and if ever in Launceston again we look forward to seeing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in Oct. 2012. We were somewhat unnerved by the prior reviews but decided to try because of new innkeepers. A little hard to find without GPS. Wow! What a parking lot! It has a steep slant down from York St but there is ample room. Had an upstairs room, clean and quite comfortable. No elevator. Free Internet, a rarity we found in Australia. Innkeepers very helpful. The gorge is well worth visiting. It is a fair walk but lovely if the weather is good. Breakfast was very good. Certainly does not deserve the bad reviews now. Shows what a change in management can do.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RMHBJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip T, Manager at Comfort Inn Coach House, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Much better than earlier reviews
We appreciate the fact that even after some previous negative reviews, you decided to stay with us again under new management, we are glad that you were happy with the quality of the Comfort Inn Coach House since we strive to uphold such standards, we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
499 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Launceston
0.3 mi away
Batman Fawkner Inn
Batman Fawkner Inn
#20 of 30 in Launceston
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Coach House

Property: Comfort Inn Coach House
Address: 10 York St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Inn Coach House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 31 room Motel is located in a quiet area of the CBD on Windmill Hill with views overlooking the City and the Valley of the Tamar River. Offering various accommodation options to suit corporate, families and couples. Free On-site Car Parking Free Foxtel Free Wi-Fi Free Newspaper Option of Room Service Breakfast or Breakfast Room Buffet with cooked to order meals (extra) Guest Self Serve Laundry Snack Bar available from Reception Local Attractions: Heritage Buildings, Aurora Stadium, City Park to see the Monkeys for free, Art Galleries, James Boag's Brewery Tours, Mall, State of the Art Aquatic Centre, Cataract Gorge, Tamar River Cruise, Old Umbrella Shop (1860), Gourlay's Sweets. Our Region: Bridestowe Lavender Farm, Wineries, Berry Farms, Convict Sites, Tamar River Wetlands, Ben Lomond Ski Village, Liffey Falls. Hollybank Tree Tops Adventure, Penguin Tours, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn Coach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Coach House Hotel Launceston
Country Comfort Launceston Coach Hotel
Comfort Inn Coach House Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing