We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit out of the way, and showing its age”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Coach House
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
366 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“A bit out of the way, and showing its age”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

This hotel is not that centrally located to the centre of Launceston, and being on top of a hill, the walk to the city is easy, the walk back not so.
Its showing signs of age, but the rooms were clean and comfortable. There is an issue with it being built on a hill, so the car park is steep, and there is a climb to most rooms other than the ground floor, so if you're a little bit mobility challenged, or older, then ask for a ground room when you book.
Staff are friendly, and there is a little breakfast room that serves a decent breakfast.
A good value hotel.

Room Tip: Get a ground floor if you have mobility issues, or are older and find steps an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelbourneTravelmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    72
    38
    12
    3
See reviews for
25
72
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We booked a family room here because we were going to an AFL match at the Aurora Stadium, (which is very close by, walking distance in fact) and it was great. The room was very clean, spacious and had everything we needed. Yes, the car park is on a very steep slope, yes you do have to walk up 3 flights of stairs to get to the 3rd floor where the family room was located, but if you're moderately fit, this shouldn't be a problem. Our only negative would be the queen bed we slept on was not very comfortable, but we were still able to get a reasonable nights sleep. Would definitely return to this accommodation.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Wenjoy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for our last night before flying out. Was well priced. Big clean comfortable rooms. Central to town. Big TV, good shower, big bed.
People have mentioned steep driveway, which isn't a problem unless u have mobility issues. Would stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank chlohutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

We were looking for accommodation close to the city with car parking and found this on Trip Advisor. Managers were very friendly and helpful. It is basic accommodation, bit dated but we slept well. As others have mentioned the car park is quite steep.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craigjv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Stayed one night here on the way to play golf at Barnbougle. It is a good, clean hotel with good facilities within walking distance of town and the staff were friendly and accommodating. The site is VERY hilly and the walk from the car park to reception can be challenging if you suffer back, knee or ankle issues (or after a few coldies in town!). I would suggest that you ring reception for the best rate as my group booked at different times, via different sources. Two attempting to get the best rate via the usual net services at $130 and $95, the other via reception was $90.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ossie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Loved the place. Deluxe studio was spacious and VERY clean (with no usual motel-smells), well furnished and bright. Plus we had a room with a view of the city and a bit of the river. Good location to the city. Manager was very nice and gave us advice on some good walks in the city. Parking may be a little tricky as it's located on the slope, but that's a minor thing. Last but not least, this motel offers good free wi-fi. Reasonable price. Would stay again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank double_yuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

The hotel is on the side of a hill with a car park at 45degrees and a view of derelict houses so probably not the place to stay on a scenic tour of Tasmania. That said the room was perfectly functional with a comfortable bed and was clean. similar standard to a travelodge in the UK so you get what you pay for. my own choice having now visited lauceston would be to find a motel out towards the Tamar river where the views are delightful but if you want a city centre hotel then it is reasonable value

Room Tip: Top floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happilyretired060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.3 mi away
Batman Fawkner Inn
Batman Fawkner Inn
#18 of 30 in Launceston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
0.3 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Coach House

Property: Comfort Inn Coach House
Address: 10 York St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Inn Coach House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 31 room Motel is located in a quiet area of the CBD on Windmill Hill with views overlooking the City and the Valley of the Tamar River. Offering various accommodation options to suit corporate, families and couples. Free On-site Car Parking Free Foxtel Free Wi-Fi Free Newspaper Option of Room Service Breakfast or Breakfast Room Buffet with cooked to order meals (extra) Guest Self Serve Laundry Snack Bar available from Reception Local Attractions: Heritage Buildings, Aurora Stadium, City Park to see the Monkeys for free, Art Galleries, James Boag's Brewery Tours, Mall, State of the Art Aquatic Centre, Cataract Gorge, Tamar River Cruise, Old Umbrella Shop (1860), Gourlay's Sweets. Our Region: Bridestowe Lavender Farm, Wineries, Berry Farms, Convict Sites, Tamar River Wetlands, Ben Lomond Ski Village, Liffey Falls. Hollybank Tree Tops Adventure, Penguin Tours, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Coach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Coach House Hotel Launceston
Country Comfort Launceston Coach Hotel
Comfort Inn Coach House Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing